We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Santa Catalina!”
Review of Mama Ines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Ines Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We spent a great week here in a private room with shared bathroom for 30 dollars a night. The room was fine, clean and had A/C which was a massive bonus so we slept super well!! Location is right on the beach and it is run by a lovely family who are keen to chat and were very kind to us while we were there. Food is great and fairly priced. It may seem isolated from the town but it actually only took us about 20mins to walk to the town which isnt bad and its a nice walk. Overall great place to stay very recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pols_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

The bad thing is towels we were provided, they were so dirty I thought they were cleaning the tables by them.
You can't reserve a room.
1st came 1st got.
Supermarket is 20 min walking.
Very small shared frige.

This is a best place in all Santa catalina and Panama, other places has no beaches, they rocky.
Be carefull of Jelly Fish, we cought 3 times.
Great restaurant.

For surfers, there is NO waves there.
If you planing relaxed beach vacation stay longer here don't go to Bocas Del toro, there is nothing to see.

Room Tip: Good rooms are two private room at the back of restaurant. 42USD per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Most places to stay in Santa Catalina are on a cliff or a rocky beach. Mama Inez is on the nice long beach so you step right out your door to toes in the sand. Great gathering place for travelers who are staying all over town.
Love the family, and the location. They are creating nice new rooms to upgrade the property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Look no more! This place has it all. Amazing views, comfy bedrooms, excellent food and the most amazing crew ever. Once you're there you become part of the family. Internet available at the terrace. Super fair prices. Its right on the water so just grab a board and start the fun. I have been there over 4 times now. Enjoyed every bit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielillescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great little place to stay, cheap surfboard rentals, and they are right on the beach so you just have to walk down to the water. The staff are very friendly and are happy to help you, their English is very good. They have a couple private rooms and two dorms, one with air conditioning and the other is air cooled and on the roof of the hostel which is a bit cheaper. I stayed in the a/c room and didn't even use it as the room was cool enough on it own.
They are one of the only places with wifi in town and some of the local business owners come down to use it, this is a great opportunity to learn about what is available in and around the area as you don't have to walk up and down the roads to find activities.
There is a great little restaurant with good food attached to the hostel but no kitchen for guest use.
They serve breakfast lunch and dinner for a decent price, if you are new to surfing there are lessons available next door or if you ask nice enough you may be able to get a free one off some of the guests. All in all a great little place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: In the dry session get the a/c room but in the wet session save a little money and go for the dorms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Santa Catalina and didn't know where to stay. Some people in the bus recommended mama inez so we made the long walk up there. And it was worth it! We had a very nice private room with own bathroom. Very clean and nice. Yann, Quili and the rest of the crew were very nice and helpfull.
The food up here was great (even for a vegetarian like me) and the atmosphere was just great!
So if you are going to Santa Catalina this really is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suusenjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Been here couple of time...is simple, the place have a great location with a terrace facing to El Estero Beach...food is good, service moderate, bedroom basic but ok...you can go down stairs and you will touch the sand and swim...if you want to chill while you are conectec to the cyber space, sit in the restaurant terrace and ask for a drink and enjoy the peace...my favorite place to go and back then and again...keep going guys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGSCOCO1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
460 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 22 in Santa Catalina
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oasis Surf Camp
Oasis Surf Camp
#14 of 22 in Santa Catalina
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
221 reviews
0 mi away
On The Reef
On The Reef
#7 of 10 in Santa Catalina
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Ines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Ines Hotel

Address: Playa El Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama (Formerly Santa Catalina Surf Point Camping & Hostel)
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Santa Catalina
Price Range: $49 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mama Ines Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is right in front of the beach. We are equipped with a restaurant, surfing boards rental, surfing classes, We have Private Rooms and Shared Dorm, a balcony bar with a beautiful view to the beach. We offer free wifi to our guest and free bicycle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mama Ines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Ines Hotel Panama/Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing