We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Santa Catalina!”
Review of Santa Catalina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Catalina Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved Santa Catalina!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Santa Catalina Inn is a great little place to stay if you are traveling to Santa Catalina. The rooms are very basic, but the beds are really comfortable and the rooms are clean and have balconies. It's a quick downhill walk to town. Santa Catalina is really off the beaten path--there are no ATMs and we had no internet or cell service there, so the town itself may not appeal to everyone, but we loved being off the grid for a few days. The beach in town is nice but Playa Estero, which is probably a mile away from town, was lovely. Scuba diving at Coiba Island is amazing, and, while there was no surf during our stay, the surfing here is supposed to be world-class. Adrian, the Inn's owner, also operates a pizza place behind the hotel that had some of the best pizza we have had anywhere. We loved our time in Santa Catalina and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Lori...Thanks for your review...How is it in New York?

here we are all the same... quiet and disconnected.

Take care
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days at the Santa Catalina inn. The rooms were clean and bright. Air con worked perfectly. Adrian the owner was very accommodating and helpful with local suggestions. He was also flexible with payment options. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torio, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed for only one night but would have liked to stay longer.

The staff spoke great english and were very helpful in providing good orientation.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. There was nothing to fault.

modern comfort in a hippy town which was very welcome. I had visions of low end living when in fact it was quite high end imho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the time we spent in Santa Catalina and the night we spent at Santa Catalina Inn. For a good price we were able to get a clean, private room with A/C, a private bathroom and a balcony with a table and chairs and a nice view of the surrounding greenery. The staff and people we met at the inn and at the attached restaurant were nice and great to talk to!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andorra
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights, although was only planning one.
Although i had a bad first impression after not having slept in a jungle area for 2years
there was a mini-wasp hive on the terasse and some inofensive beatles in the room)
everything else worked, unfortunately cell coverage was intermittent (working 80% of time)
The owner was very friendly and helpfull, has a garden with fruit and flowers, a nice bar and restaurant, had a great combo pizza and a lobster the second night, both were great ñam ñam ñam)
Thanks for the stay and hopefully i'll be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, We have to learn to live with nature. Thats the charm of Santa Catalina. Take care Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Santa Catalina Inn delivers value for money - clean, spacious rooms with a good terrace, functioning a/c, an excellent location and friendly folk. My wife and I didn't try the restaurant which has a good reputation locally. It doesn't serve breakfast but there's a small, good bakery nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adrianloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean, and have a/c. The owner is friendly and helpful. It is well situated near some restaurants and the dive shop. It's about 20 min away from Estero beach, but it make for a nice walk. The restaurant is very good and has the best pizza in town, to my opinion.Overall we were very pleased. It's not most charming hotel (see La Buena Vida), but it doesn't lack charm and it's an excellent value for the price. They take credit cards, but beware of a steep 10% surcharge. Possible improvement: mini-fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Inn

Property: Santa Catalina Inn
Address: Calle Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Catalina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Catalina Inn opened during the summer of 2010 only steps from the center of Santa Catalina. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet side road, within a short walk from beaches, restaurants, the surf break and dive shops.Our hotel offers five air-conditioned, spacious and well-decorated rooms each with a ceiling fan, hot water and private balconies or patios where guests can relax and watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catalina Inn Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing