We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Santa Catalina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Catalina Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights, although was only planning one.
Although i had a bad first impression after not having slept in a jungle area for 2years
there was a mini-wasp hive on the terasse and some inofensive beatles in the room)
everything else worked, unfortunately cell coverage was intermittent (working 80% of time)
The owner was very friendly and helpfull, has a garden with fruit and flowers, a nice bar and restaurant, had a great combo pizza and a lobster the second night, both were great ñam ñam ñam)
Thanks for the stay and hopefully i'll be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, We have to learn to live with nature. Thats the charm of Santa Catalina. Take care Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Santa Catalina Inn delivers value for money - clean, spacious rooms with a good terrace, functioning a/c, an excellent location and friendly folk. My wife and I didn't try the restaurant which has a good reputation locally. It doesn't serve breakfast but there's a small, good bakery nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adrianloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean, and have a/c. The owner is friendly and helpful. It is well situated near some restaurants and the dive shop. It's about 20 min away from Estero beach, but it make for a nice walk. The restaurant is very good and has the best pizza in town, to my opinion.Overall we were very pleased. It's not most charming hotel (see La Buena Vida), but it doesn't lack charm and it's an excellent value for the price. They take credit cards, but beware of a steep 10% surcharge. Possible improvement: mini-fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

me and my sister stayed here during peak season/xmas time. the town is chill, laid back, with a good mix of laid back tourists and friendly locals. far enough from an airport/big city to attract tons of tourists but enough activites and restaurants/bars etc to accomadate them. the inn itself is super cute, clean and a great value for the $. also, not too busy that you feel like you are in a hotel. the restaurant ( which feels like your at a friends terrace) has cheap beer and yummy pizzas. We loved this place! the owner Adrian was super friendly as was everyone else we met here (at the inn and the whole town!). he even went out of his way to call my airline and arrange for my lost luggage to make it to santa catalina and then held it for me while we were on a 2 day island trip since neither me or my sister had a cell or are fluent in spanish. Amazing! Highly reccomend Santa Catalina Inn to anyone visiting and hope I can make it back again sometime!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacyjadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here during our visit to Santa Catalina. The Santa Catalina Inn is perfectly situated, close to the shops and restaurants, part way along the road to the surf beaches. The rooms are pretty big but the furnishings are modest...good enough for the price that you pay. The owner, Adrian, is a wonderful guy. He was very helpful, for example, in storing our extra gear when we went to Isla Coiba for two days, and providing information. The AC in our was not working before we went to Coiba. We we returned, Adrian had put my friend and I up in separate, private rooms at no extra charge. We really appreciated this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hodomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, and strive to improve our services. Regards Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked this hotel as a package with diving. It is rather upscale place for Panama with a good location (close to the bus, bakery, diving, and beaches). There is one restaurant there but we didnt get the opportunity to eat there. There is only 5 rooms, but half of them seem to be rented out indefinitely to expats. The rooms are very clean with private balconies and good AC. The shower needs some love as the temperature of the water is hard to maintain and it leaks a bit. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There is no internet but honestly good luck finding it anywhere in town that is not glacial slow.

The package was a great deal with brekkie and lunch coming from the town bakery. Everything from that place is great! The diving was with Scuba Coiba and included equipment.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Trip advisor member

thank you for your comments. Its encouraging that our guests had a pleasurable stay in Santa Catalina.
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Catalina Inn in early November, which seemed to be before the busy season started. There were four of us (two couples) and we stayed in one of the main level rooms. No AC in that particular room, but the price was great and there was plenty of room for the four of us. Unfortunately the onsite restaurant was closed as the owner/manager was away on holidays for a month, but this also made the place seem even quieter and more laid back. Patricia from across the road was taking care of the hotel while the owner was away, and we can't thank her enough for her hospitality. Her surf shop "Surf and Shake" across the road provided us with surfboards that we tried out at the beach, a 20 minute walk away. Santa Catalina is a gem of a place - get here while it's still small and untouched by large-scale development!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have balconies. The main level room we stayed in had no AC, but with the fan running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus and Cour... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Owner at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member
thank you for staying at Santa Catalina Inn, and that you enjoyed your stay there. The whole concept of our hotel is to provide our guests that laid back feeling which also reflects the town's way of living. The restaurant would be open in the month of december to offer our guests a place to relax, eat and drink under our huge rancho in our garden area. I hope that we would offer more services for our guests in 2013 such as WIFI, however still encountering a few signal problems.

I have noted your different ratings and will aim to improve them. thanking you again for choosing Santa Catalina Inn, and the village Santa Catalina as part of your holiday plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
441 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 22 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Catalina
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Ca...
#2 of 22 in Santa Catalina
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Inn

Address: Calle Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range: $62 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Catalina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Catalina Inn opened during the summer of 2010 only steps from the center of Santa Catalina. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet side road, within a short walk from beaches, restaurants, the surf break and dive shops.Our hotel offers five air-conditioned, spacious and well-decorated rooms each with a ceiling fan, hot water and private balconies or patios where guests can relax and watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catalina Inn Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing