We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
11
18
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
18
6
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 36 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Adrian gave me the room discount for diving with Herbie at Scubacoiba, had the guys customise my dinner plate, Guarded my cash and passport while I was on Coiba for 3 days, found me a ride to Santiago, then got up at 4 AM to wake me up and brew coffee for the ride out. He really could not hve tried harder to make my stay good. Plus if you stay there you get to know Herbie fron Scubacoiba. Go there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good hotel, very good food. Only 5 rooms.
The dive base is good and diving by Coiba island is great. Only the distance to go is far, over 1 hour by boat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallehai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Owner at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at Santa Catalina Inn and at our on-site restaurant, Chili Rojo! We take our clients´reviews very seriously and strive to become better each day. We pride ourselves in having the freshest of ingredients at our restaurant and so it pleases us greatly to know that it is noticed by our guests. We look forward to serving you again here in Santa Catalina, Panama!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

In order to review this hotel or in fact any property in Santa Catalina, you must first understand the world of Santa Catalina. This is a remote village, cut off from the world, (except for one very bad, extremely pot holed road) where everything has to be brought in, and business owners have to be very resourceful. There are no 5 star resorts with marble floors, golf courses and infinity pools. Santa Catalina simply is a beautiful beach town from 50 years ago, with some A/C, and restaurants that make the best of what they can get. What Santa Catalina does have, is access to some of the most spectacular Ocean archipelago you could ever imagine and some of the best surfing beaches in Central America.
If the above appeals to you, then you will love your stay at The Santa Catalina Inn as we did. This small hotel was only built two years ago, and as already mentioned it is affiliated with Scuba Coiba who provide diving trips to the Coiba Islands. The Inn is a great place to spend the night before and after your island trip.
Rooms are basic with concrete floors and minimal furniture, but beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean, A/C worked well. The bathroom sink has pretty mosaic around it and the shower is almost the size of a small room, we had only luke warm water, but this was fine as it is so hot here that a hot shower is far from your mind. The room had a strong musty smell when we first entered, probably due to the warm and humid environment, this smell dissapeared once the A/C had run for a while.
The owner Susie, is super friendly and accomodating, we felt like old friends after five minutes, she will make you just about anything you feel like in the small hotel restaurant, and her banana pancakes are fabulous.
If life in Santa Catalina is your cup of tea, then you will definitely enjoy staying here.
Price for 3 persons...$57 incl. tx, breakfast extra

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InfiniteAdventures2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I would hoghly recommend santa catalina inn. the building has opeend in july 2010 and rooms are very spacious, clean and comforatble. you have a proper working showerwith hor water and aircon. a private balcony or terrace is attqched to each room. it is a very good option to stay in santa catalina. one of the austrian owner is sussie.she will make your stay unforgettable, especially her restaurant is a dream. louis, the cook is preparing ecxcellent dishes to moderate prices.just ask for what you like and they make it possible.
espaecially if you go diving try the meatball sandwich for take away and the potato salad.yummy.
if you are not able to contact the hotel please write to Scuba oiba who will process your request. reservation is necessary as only 4 rooms are available.
great place in middle of the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews