We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the reviews said it was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Catalina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On a recent moto tour of Panama we stayed only one night but it was quiet and very clean. The split a/c was so quiet you did not know it was working. Extremely friendly staff and reasonable prices for breakfast and lunch. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The experience in Santa Catalina was amazing, beautiful place, the hotel had the nicest people, great treatment, rooms packed with everything you need, awesome experience. Great place for surfers and travel lovers.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel steadily improves ! Besides free cruiser bikes, soft surfboards & flat screen TVs the hotel recently added a new wing of suites that include micro, frig, stove & sink....and for security, safes. These units have also upgraded hot water delivery for a scalding hot shower if you desire. One unit is geared for a sizeable family with more beds and a dining area. All rooms in the hotel have split AC units plus a ceiling fan. Doors and windows have been sealed to eliminate entry of bugs/insects. ( not a bug was seen) Now all the help wear a uniforms and can be easily recognized and will meet your requests as they arise. There is internet but very slow. I would suggest an inexpensive booster USB plug in for high speed connection that can be easily purchased from Clairo ( Sona) . Once again...for surf, diving, trips to Coiba...and just beach relaxation Hotel Santa Catalina is the go-to spot. With advanced notice, this hotel can accomodate very large groups of people as well. If your club or group decides to take a weekend retreat ...this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: If getting up real early for surf is your plan...take one of the end rooms on the east ( office side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stumblef across this place after not being satisfied with our stay at a neighboring spot and boy did we luck out! We paid the same price for a much cleaner and more friendly experience. The manager of the hotel was awesome, she took great care of us throughout our stay. The rooms were amazing, memory foam matresses, mini fridge, great a/c and direct access to the point break. The stay also included use of hotel beach cruisers, surf and paddle boards as well as kayaks. The lunch was delicious and all staff was nice. We really enjoyed our time here, as a non surfer i loved it just as much as my travel buddies who came for the wave. They definitely have something for everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaw1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Open and airy, green and peaceful all the way to the ocean. This place is an end of the road destination after a scenic drive through tropical pastureland and forest. Famous for its surf breaks and proximity (easy access) to a national marine reserve, it is also the perfect place to completely decompress for whatever reason one may have the need. Come to relax, empty your mind of all but the now, and take in the environmental beauty of the place. Take a short walk along the coastline in front of the hotel at low tide and see the many fresh water springs flowing into the tide pools. Or take a walk around the neighborhood. Bring a good insect repellent and liberally apply to exposed skin for your walkabout. Avon Skin-So-Soft works great!The rooms are spacious, squeaky clean, with all the amenities city folk expect, and decked out in a rustic natural materials style with furnishings custom made of native woods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was here recently with a large work group (14 of us) and they accomodated us very well. Breakfast was fast and the hotel is in a great location about halfway between the town and the east beach.

Nice rooms and great atmosphere

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We originally had 3 nights booked at this hotel, but loved it so much we wanted to stay longer and were lucky enough to be able to add another 3 nights due to it being the low season. The hotel is just a little bit outside of town but the town is so small it is a short walk. The beds are the best - just like our Tempurpedic at home, so comfortable. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is excellent, super friendly, the food at the restaurant is tasty and the restaurant/bar area is a nice place to go hang out. The hammocks are very comfortable. There isn't much else at the hotel since they only do breakfast and lunch so it doesn't really attract anyone but guests, but it is walking distance to a great beach and plenty of other great restaurants - Los Pibes! - and the bars in town. I got a great surfing lesson from Sigor at Rancho Estero next door and Shenida at Hotel Santa Catalina set us up with a great horseback ride. Apparently there were surf boards and bikes, etc available for our use but we weren't sure how to access them though we did see other guests using them. The only negative is that when you make a reservation they ask what activities you are interested in but upon arrival didn't make an effort to set them up for us - why ask? - but it was easy enough to find what we needed somewhere in town and everyone was so great we never felt like we weren't being taken care of. Also, it is on the beach, but not on a beach you would want to sunbathe or swim at, but one is very close by - walking distance or a short drive. There are cheaper places to stay, but if you can spend a little more for a great bed, clean room and excellent service, go to the Hotel Santa Catalina.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice, we stayed in rooms 1 and 2. I didn't see the inside of any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 22 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 10 in Santa Catalina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Catalina

Address: Calle Hacia Playa Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catalina is an 11 room boutique beachfront hotel located directly in front of the world class surf break in Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province of Panama. The hotels location is ideal for anyone coming to Santa Catalina to surf, dive, fish or just hang out at the beach or islands. Short walking distance from all the restaurants, bars, village center and other beaches. Coiba Island and Cebaco Island is within a short boat ride from the property for diving and snorkeling activities. Santa Catalina Island is just a 10 minute paddle on Kayak or Stand-Up Paddle Board (SUP), which are both free to our guests. The hotel offers comfortable rooms with memory foam beds, 100% cotton bed linens, air conditioning, en-suite bathrooms with hot water, mini-refrigerator, cable TV, safe, and kitchenettes in the suite rooms. Our award winning ocean front "Pescao" seafood restaurant serves a hearty breakfast, lunch and dinner (not included in room rate), open every day of the week from 7 am to 10 pm. Our on-site yoga studio is also available for yoga classes. We offer free use of our Kayaks, Surfboards, Skateboards and Bicycles through our on-site surf shop (Santa Catalina Surf Shop). Massage services are also available upon request. Previously known as Kenny's Surf Camp (since 1981), in 2010 the hotel was completely re-designed and re-built, using all natural sustainable materials including stone, rock, clay tile, and local tropical hardwoods. With a blend of Spanish-Colonial and tropical architectural style, Hotel Santa Catalina Panama offers a unique look and feel with professional bilingual service staff and ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing