We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly paradise...”
Review of Rancho Estero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Catalina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Estero
Ranked #4 of 10 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Wisconsin
1 review
“Truly paradise...”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have been to Panama twice now and visited Santa Catalina both times as I absolutely fell in love with all it has to offer. Between surfing for the advanced or beginners, snorkeling, kayaking, scuba diving, hiking, relaxing on the ocean, meeting great people,and eating great food. At Rancho estero you are overlooking the ocean at the perfect spot where a river tributary merges with the ocean. When the tide goes out you can walk forever or just across the way to another surf hotel. I felt like rancho estero is perfect for couples as you can have your own private thatched roof cabin. It's a little outside of town so having a car is nice but it's possible to walk as well. There is a good (yet very slow) restaurant next door Mama ines which also has internet for $1/hour. The bathrooms are shared but clean and you even get a warm shower. Last but not least, Zigor was amazing to us, he showed us to our room, gave a tour of the shared kitchen (stove, utensils, refrigerator, sink, etc), cracked open a coconut, and gave surf lessons (Estero beach is perfect for beginners). They also rent boards. The only negative I could say which was beyond the hotels control, is one morning someone from another hotel decided to drive onto the beach (which is public land in Panama) and blast music from the car at 5 AM. Despite that, I would stay here 100%. Truly astounding people and place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brey0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seignosse, France
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Loved it! Stayed in the family cabin for 10 days,it was pretty basic but all we needed for relaxing between surfs and a fantastic view to boot.It was great to have such easy access to a safe swimming and surfing beach,I have been looking for a spot like this where my wife and kids would be at ease without having to take the car anywhere for surfing.Having La Punta just round the corner was perfect and we scored fun waves everyday.Well recommended for a surfy family everyone came home stoked and want to go back for more!

Room Tip: The family cabin was perfect for 4
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun prairie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spent five nites at rancho estero,great location with wonderful views.Very peaceful most of the time,lots of action on beach during weekends.Nice walk into town,lots of activities to do.Coiba was great place to visit pristine with snorkling,etc.Best rests.pizza jamming,penginos on beach.Great bus system in panama and very cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank skittlesSunPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The thatched huts were perfect to stay in. Beautiful view of the ocean, private walkways to the beach, relaxing place. At night we sat outside the hut, looked at the stars, and listened to the waves. Can't get much better than that








Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praires
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Solo female traveler and i really enjoyed this place. Fell asleep listening to the sound of the waves and could wake up and look out the window to see how the surf was. The bungalows were nice and clean and had that rustic feel which was also very nice. The people that owned and ran the place were very helpful and fun to talk with. There was a couple restaurants near by and the town of Santa Catalina is about a 15 minute walk away which really wasn't so bad. I would definitely recommend staying here. :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskatchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Simple, clean huts with good communal kitchen and bathroom facilities. Walk down the steps to a fantastic beach which has some great surf for beginners and those learning the craft. Zigor and Ellie are great hosts with time for everyone. Really good value for money in a beautiful location, didn't want to leave!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank colonelvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We came to stay for a week but just couldn't leave. Stayed for over three weeks! The friendly staff and the atmosphere at Rancho Estero made it really hard to leave even after three weeks. Zigor who manages the place is extremely friendly and helpful, making you feel at home and that you have everything you need. Also the local man working there, Anel, is very nice and service-minded. Zigor is also an excellent surfer and surf instructor and I really recommend having a few lessons with him no matter what level you're on. Rancho Estero has the most beautiful view of the beach along with direct access to the beach. We spend hours in the hammocks (in the shade with ocean view) between morning and afternoon surf. Can't get any better!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli_Rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
433 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Catalina
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Ca...
#2 of 23 in Santa Catalina
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Surf Camp
Oasis Surf Camp
#13 of 23 in Santa Catalina
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Estero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Estero

Property: Rancho Estero
Address: Calle Hacia Playa Estero | Above Estero beach, Santa Catalina 00700, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Estero is located at the end of the road to Playa Estero and is on the bluff overlooking the beach and the surf. The view from this property is simply amazing. We have a series of small cabins that can accommodate 1 to 6 people. We offer free internet access and a common kitchen. There are plenty of hammocks, chaise lounges and decks to relax on. Several restaurants are located close by. The town and the surf break "La Punta" are in walking distance. Rancho Estero is a very popular choice because of its priceless views, unique location and friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Estero Panama/Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing