We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very NICE location - clean safe area”
Review of La Buena Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Catalina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Buena Vida
Ranked #2 of 10 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had an amazing time in Santa Catalina - this hotel was wonderful - from the owners Michelle and Mike and all the staff - especially Daisy who greeted us in the restaurant she was very warm and friendly. The food is very fresh - I would recommend the chicken tacos. Open for Breakfast and lunch only - able to get packed lunches to take to the beach. Rooms are very comfy - AC and mini frig - outdoor showers a plus!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks Carmen!!! Daisy was pleased with this :). You guys were AMAZING traveling with five teenagers! Hope to have you back again some day!
-Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I went together to Santa Catalina to spend eastern. We wanted to try as many restaurants as we can but this one: La Buena Vida was our favorite one for Lunch (they only open for breakfast and Lunch). It´s a shame that we coudnt try the breakfast but next time we will do so.

The owners are very nice and open to talk to the people and a lovely girl from Alaska was serving us with a nice smile.

I notice that they offer in the menu very nice things...Healthy food and unique food...I tried a Pinneapple & ginger popsicle (all natural) and it was AMAZING! and I will come back for a "Lemonade with coconut and ginger"....Pasta Salad is very yummi...

They also sale nice souvenirs :) Love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed elsewhere but I want to say the breakfasts served at La Buena Vida are great. Service and food quality can't be beat. You are greeted immediately by a waitress or Michele or Michael, and water and coffee are next. We enjoyed our breakfasts there and would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The staff were amazing and helpful with all aspects of our vacation. The rooms were comfy and unique. The gecko room was so cute - and with AC and a fridge it really met our needs.

The restaurant was great :)

We had a great time !

Room Tip: Artistic rooms - very unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For a place that is literally at the end of the road in Panama, we were pleasantly surprised with this boutique hotel in Santa Catalina. As others have stated, each 'villa' is unique and artfully done by the owners. We stayed in the Gecko villa that was so cute with a/c, a fridge, ceiling fan a little deck with two hammocks and an OK bed. Michelle worked very hard to make our stay pleasant. You will get personal service here. Michelle speaks fluent Spanish and knows the local people very well. I went to one of her yoga classes and loved it. My husband went scuba diving every day and he loved diving Isla Coiba.
It takes a good 6 hours to drive here from Panama City. Even when you've reached Santiago, it still takes a couple of hours down to Santa Catalina. If you're looking for scuba or surfing, this is the place to be. If you want to know the local culture in Panama and not just be behind resort walls, I would recommend this little village and hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead_librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Both Michelle and Mike were very helpful with local information and other destinations we planned to visit next. The food was fantastic and good sized portions for a reasonable price. The rooms were clean and had a mini fridge for us to keep some snacks and drinks in. The location was central to everything in town, and only a 20 min walk to Estero beach for swimming and surfing for beginners.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Mike was totally helpful and laid back. Loved our self contained cabaña! Awesome shower and bathroom - nice tiles and mosaics. We had a great front verandah with a hammock, and a back porch upstairs with a barfridge to boot. We had great sleeps (thanks in part to the ac!).
The cafe is amazing - great food, great staff. A great environment right streetside and steps from the bay. All in all thumbs up for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 22 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Vida

Address: Main Street | 600 Meters From the Beach, Santa Catalina 60745, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, Artistic Hotel in the heart of Santa Catalina, Panama. All private villas have hot water, A/C and a mini frige. Beautiful garden restaurant (6 a.M. - 2 P.M.) And tree top yoga studio ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Buena Vida Panama/Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing