We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovley cottage with great view”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hallow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Fishing at back of cottage
view up stream at back of cottage
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newtownstewart, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
philandgi...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please read ”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage it self was fine nothing exciting it was a roof over are heads and beds to sleep in. We wanted a way from the norm and we got that. But pictures were very deceiving they show a picture of a grass garden but it isn't there's and they say private garden it has a seat and a table on a slop the back garden is a pokey yard 2 meters by 2 meters u sat down and look at a brick wall no view and all u can smell is the boiler that's leaking . Decking area really bad not safe hinges hanging off with screws pointing out the gates trip hazards all around / hazards alone. Main reason am writing a review very disappointed not happy I wanted my 2 year old to have a place to play like the grass but there was no grass her pool wouldn't fit out back couldn't even put her wee tent up we spent one night went home next day. They state suitable for children of all ages parents advised 8 years and up that's my opinion. The house sits on a lane with falling apart buildings not a place as they say for my 2 year old daughter so that's false also he arrived that morning at 9 o'clock to de-weed the hole place strimer going digging its was intruding in are private to so we had to go out and buy breakfast we should have felt like that to much noise when it's supposed to be relaxing I have pictures of all faults it was for her she's 2 and she couldn't even go outside so we went home. WONT BE BACK

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you for your review. However we fell this is a really unfair review. We have offered a refund for 2 nights as a goodwill gesture. The picture which shows grass is outside picture of cottage from road above and we never claimed to have a grass garden. The garden is stoned which can be easily seen in picture on holiday site. The house is suitable for children to stay as it is approved by tourist board. We are not responsible for the upkeep of hallow road. We had check the cottage inside and out regular and do necessary repairs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim r
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovley cottage with great view”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a lovely time at Newton Stewart the cottage was excellent for the money, we did use the fire in June but that's Northern Island for you. A great spot to use for touring the area,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
thank you for your review of cottage and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hallow Cottage.
Ronnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee-arty
1 review
“Cosy cottage by the Strule”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cottage comfortably and cosy. Great base for touring about and fishing. Convenient to shops and takeaways. Owners very helpful and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunalooro...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great as a base if you want to enjoy all of Northern Ireland”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is homely, well equipped and ideal as a base for enjoying Northern Ireland. Newtonstewart has a couple of reasonably stocked shops but little else. If your here to explore the ulster American folk museum is amazing, well worth a visit. Enniskillen is a great day trip, lovely shops and points of interest, the marble arch caves are worth the journey. Derry is a must, beautiful, fascinating and poignant. Castle ward is a great visit, you need good weather, a picnic and comfortable shoes but worth it. A wee journey down the road takes you to portaferry, lovely little village, the aquarium is small but that adds to it's charm and it's great for kids. We've still to do titanic museum, causeway coastal tour and Belfast zoo but I fully expect to enjoy them all. The people are friendly and funny and welcoming. My kids have have had jam packed days and although we've covered quite a few miles they have loved every bit. NI does not disappoint.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENDAN M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage for one week and used it as abase to visit friends and family in the north west. It is a great place to stay and has everything to make your stay enjoyable. It is cosy and has great views from the kitchen window. The local shops and takeaways are about 2 minutes away. There is a very nice riverside walk if you enjoy walking or jogging. You definitely need a car. i would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstylou...
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely quite place to stay and get away for a few days. Perfect for a relaxing trip. Buses to nearest town run all day very handy for shopping. Owner of cottage was very nice amd helpful. Would return again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2014
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsali...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little place to relax..”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here with my friends and family. This is a great place for the price I paid, it totally gives you feeling of a cottage. The fireplace is an excellent add on. Plenty of place for BBQ..lake view breakfast was very peacful... The owners are really nice people and made us feel welcome..I am waiting to go there again !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace and backyard lake view....
Liked least: Second bedroom had very unpleasent smell
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2014
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing