We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My extended family and I were there for lunch recently. The food was great, the creche entertaining, and the surroundings gorgeously relaxing. The children were very badly behaved, and the staff didn't bat an eyelid! As the lunch was arranged to celebrate a family anniversary, I emailed a family photo ahead and the staff turned this into a decoration for the table. great service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Estelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Estelle C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your lunch with us. We are very happy you and the family had such a fantastic time, unruly children or not we welcome them with open arms! I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you and the rest of the clan back again soon.

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    158
    84
    69
    29
See reviews for
367
127
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We wanted a good place not that far from London for a nice weekend before the wife had to go back to work after a year of with the baby. We booked via Smith & Family (Mr & Mrs Smith) so expected the place to be of a certain standard and to be honest we were not let down. The actual hotel is a lovely old manor house and whilst some people have mentioned in their reviews that it was a bit tattered in places i personally think this only added to the charm of the hotel, its not going to be pristine but i had no complaints or worries about having the little one crawl about. Whilst they cater to kids with the creche and toys here and there its not OTT which was nice for us as we still like our holidays to be smart(ish). The staff were extremely helpful with any request, from putting food into the fridge that we brought to setting up a table outside for the wife and I to have our evening meal when the other tables were taken.

The only thing i would say and its me being really really really picky is that the pillows were awful, no body to them but i seem to say this about most places i stay so i should probably just bring my own in future.

We are considering going back and bringing grandparents as a treat or we will certainly visit one of the other hotels in the group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear WozLondon,

It is so lovely to read how much you and your family enjoyed your weekend with us recently, thank you for posting your feedback. We do strive to meet that perfect balance to create a luxury holiday for all ages, it's great to read we got that spot on for you.

We very much hope to welcome your family (including the grandparents) back again in the future, and do be sure to try our sister hotels too!

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Whilst searching the Internet for child friendly hotels, I stumbled upon a chain of hotels which appeared to be perfect.
As I was booking for the following day I contacted the reservation team by phone. They were very helpful and advised me of the locations with availability. I chose The Elms and was not disappointed. I got a mid-week two night break, b&b and 3 course meal for two included for one of the nights. All for £250, which is more than I would normally spend but it was well worth it in my opinion.
Upon our arrival our lovely room had amazing views over the grounds and was spacious too. The cot we had asked for was set up in the room and they also have a monitor service in the rooms.
Everything was clean and tidy, my only niggles were no fridge and the bed was too soft for me (but that is my personal preference).
The facilities at the hotel are not just geared towards Children, but are heavily influenced. The spa and crèche are included (treatments are extra and should be booked before you arrive to be safe), we did briefly use the crèche and were happy with the service.
We had our (included) evening meal on the first night and reserved a table for the family dining area. The table was waiting for us and a high chair too. We enjoyed the food very much and felt it offered good value as part of our package.
Breakfast is ordered from a menu when you come down in the morning. The cooked breakfast is a little sparse, but cooked well and tasty. There is also a selection of cereals and pastries.

All in all, we loved our stay and would definitely recommend it. Thank you to everyone at The Elms for a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear tinbiz,

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of your family stay with us recently. It is great to read how much your family enjoyed themselves in all aspects and that you loved your time spent here.

We all hope to see you again in the not so distant future, this fantastic offer is also back on for the Autumn & Winter!

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Met with friends at the Elms hotel for a weekend break. Arriving in winter, it was wonderfully welcoming with the fires blazing and huge sofas. Reception is low key, given the whole place a non-commercial feel. The room was huge and beautifully decorated (though bathroom quite small). Food was good, with the option of a baby listening service meaning parents could dine without their children. Gym is very small, with 3 machines but the pool is a good size, with inside/outside hot tubs. The sauna / spa area is very well done. We left the children for a couple of hours in the crèche and they enjoyed it. It seemed bright, with lots to do, good quality equipment and toys. There's also a small playground. All in all we had a really lovely time at the Elms. It feels relaxing, like a (very nice) home from home (to the extent my daughter took her shoes off when she arrived). The children (aged from 4-9) LOVED it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoGE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear JoGE74,

It is so nice to read how much you enjoyed your winter family stay with us, your comments are greatly appreciated so thank you for posting your review. We do strive to create a very relaxing atmosphere and become a home from home for all our guests, we love that your daughter felt so comfortable, how very polite!

It would be lovely to welcome your family and friends back again soon.

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely hotel with amazing food and spa facilities. Many activities in the grounds of the hotel to keep both adults and children amused and very accessible which encouraged you to take part. Certainly didn't feel out of place as we were a couple rather than a family. Would certainly return once we have a family - particularly if we have a good a deal as we managed to get for these two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrappyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear ScrappyN,

Thank you for posting your feedback for us after your stay. It is fantastic to hear that you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We would most certainly love to welcome you back (with or without children!) so please do check our website for the most up to date offers, we have some fantastic midweek breaks throughout the Autumn & Winter!

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdige
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Elms and I am a little sad that we didn't have a 3 night break! The staff were fantastic and cant do anymore to make your stay more pleasurable and relaxing. Our son loved the sumptuous meals (dinner complimentary for under 2's) and we loved watching him eat the nutritious and well thought out dishes. Not a chip or turkey twizzler in sight! When he was safely tucked up in bed, we turned the baby listening monitor on and thoroughly enjoyed the most splendid 3 course meal that we have eaten in a long while - The Lemon Sole and Lamb was unbelievably good. The mid week break is extremely good value for money and the attention to detail for little people is unrivalled. Well done all of you and keep up the good work - we will come back - before his 2nd birthday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MessyNessyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear MessyNessyCam,

Thank you very much for posting your review of your short break with us, we wish you could have stayed longer too! It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed yourselves, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

It would be lovely to welcome you and your fmaily back again, do be sure to check out the great midweek offers we have for later this year!

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just had a weekend here and had a really fantastic time. I won't say everything is perfect because it's not, but overall the few things which weren't right really didn't matter as it was such a lovely experience. We went with our two year old daughter and it was absolutely perfect for her - there are toys in the reception which she could run in and out and take, a little playground with a little house and kitchen in the grounds, loads of space for her to run around, mealtimes for kids where you can preorder food so no waiting around when they are hungry. All of the staff there were so good with her too - they all took the time to talk to her and were just generally great with kids. The only trouble was it didn't feel like there were quite enough of them so service was a little slow - but that's not the fault of the staff who were working. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lausam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElmsAbberley, Front Office Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear lausam,

Thank you for your time taken to write such a lovely review of your recent stay . I am very happy your family had such a wonderful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback in regards to service, this is very important to us in order for us to improve, although we are very pleased this was a small factor that didn't play part in your overall enjoyable experience and that you've found us to be the perfect place to stay for your young family.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Fern Stewart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abberley
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
828 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
9.3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,135 reviews
10.3 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
634 reviews
19.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 8 in Redditch
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: 1 Stockton Road, Abberley WR6 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Abberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elms 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Hotel, part of Luxury Family Hotels, is much loved by children and parents alike. Located in beautiful rural Worcestershire, this Queen Anne mansion boasts a family friendly spa, a fine dining restaurant and complimentary crèche.At The Elms Hotel and Spa, our aim is to ensure your family feels completely at home so that you can relax, have fun with the kids and enjoy grown-up time for yourselves. You’ll find locally sourced food, a family spa, gorgeous grounds and superb children’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel And Spa
The Elms Hotel Abberley
Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Abberley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing