We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the country house hotel I had envisaged”
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you're thinking about a luxury get away then maybe not. Frayed and tired decor. And the standard of food is below what you might expect- there's so much going for this place, architecturally and its location, so it was such a letdown to see how little love there was put into our roast beef and club sandwich we ordered from the bar. Same story with the fish and chips; indifferent presentation and not so fresh. I think a change in approach would do the Elms a lot of good; less emphasis on functions/family and more focus on the details which really make individual guests happy

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felix5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 684 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

I won't make this long but we have just returned from the elms for Christmas day lunch 2011.

Staff and service- an absolute joke. We walked in to be greeted by an ignorant receptionist, who was very dolled up and didn't seem to know what to do, although she looked like she had walked in from page three of the daily star. The bar staff were useless, as we waited 15 minutes to be offered a drink and they ended up bringing not only incorrect drinks, but two of each of the same for some strange reason.

Food - theres been a change in management, but food and kitchen chefs must have remained the same. Not perfect, starters were boring and venison was minimal, considering £90 a head.

Venue - the elms used to be classy, elegant and wonderful. Look on their website at the childrens tab, in reality its now a kids club/ restaurant, and toys were left absolutely everywhere to accompany the staff who bearly looked over 22.

Summary - never again. Cheap front of house and lazy service. Food was okay, but could have gone somewhere else for the same standard for a lot less. Can't get over the ditsy receptionist, who was more interested in sitting on the edge of the reception area and discussing the secret Santa with other staff than actually doing her job.

Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_thompson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed at this hotel recently and it was great. The staff were really good with our 2 year old especially at breakfast! Spa and pool are fantastic and the creche facility well equiped.
After reading some of the reviews on here I can't believe they stayed at the same hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Good points:
Food is excellent. Fine dining in the restaurant is exceptional, and even the bar food menu is really high quality.
The kids loved the Bear's Den creche. The staff there were great and there was lots to do.
Lovely large rooms
Great pool complex
Staff generally very friendly and helpful

Bad points:
Weird "mood" lighting in the pool complex made it quite dark
On the Sunday there was an event in the hotel, and this seemed to cause chaos. All the highchairs were taken by the event, and we had to wait 90 mins for the kids lunches, as did many other families. There were nowhere near enought staff to cope with the event and the hotel guests at the same time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was the third time we had been to the Elms. It offers excellent facilities for people with young children and the creche, known as the Bears Den is particularly good, staffed with friendly and enthusiastic people. But when your bill for 3 nights comes to nearly £1700 you expect excellent service and this time it was woefully inadequate. We had to wait an hour for our food at lunch on one day. We twice ordered milk to our room; the first time it never arrived while the second time it took 45 minutes and we got a glass of hot milk when we asked for cold. These things may seem trivial and in a sense they are but they are also symptomatic of an organisation in disarray. When I spoke to the manager I was told that they were
understaffed due to sickness; another manager explained that until the new owners take over (which I understand happens today) the administrators have put a ban on recruitment. That I understand but it is incumbent on them to manage their guests' expectations. Put up a sign
explaining the delay at the start so we can choose what to do, or get more toys to entertain the children. I don't want to sound too downbeat, as the place is lovely and the grounds are beautiful. The food is very good, although eating from the same limited menu makes a stay of longer than 3 days somewhat samey.

Room Tip: The Gladstone is a good place for families. We have also stayed in the Apricot room which is very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piers L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Elm's website does not really reflect what this lovely country house has now become. Once an elegant, cosy and tranquil environment for romantic weekends away; now a glorified Children's nursery, that allows parents to sip wine while their children run through the property and grounds.

First impressions appear good as you meander up the drive and approach the big house but as soon as you step into the reception area there are toys scattered around, reading corners for children and 'nursery' sounds coming from the children's playroom.

The rest of the hotel clearly suffers as a result. The decor is looking tired and dated in places. The hotel staff are also becoming suckered in to the whole 'family friendly' approach.....it smacks of Holiday Inn in places and lacks the attention to detail that the overall price demands.

A really sad end to a beautiful hotel! Clearly the plus side for parents is you can spend a luxury weekend away with your children, surrounded by other people's kids, being just as neglectful, noisy and discourteous. All very cosy if that's your thing but personally I don't see the appeal.

If you can stand the kids running around, the constant noise, the slamming doors, shouting in the corridors, tatty interior then perhaps you might fair better than us. The taster menu was nice and raised the score from 'terrible' to 'poor' but even when we left the restaurant at eleven PM there were kids playing on the stairs - heaven knows where the parents where.

Perhaps family hotels work in other areas where parents take more responsibility and hotel managers set tighter boundaries but The Elms fails in nearly every respect. In fact they should rename it The Elms Butlins?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kachariw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed over night as booked tasting meal through travel zoo. Welcome was very friendly and allowed to use spa .lovely swimming pool also sauna,steam room . our room was clean and comfortable little worn but did'nt spoil stay as bed comfortable bathroom clean lovely fluffy white towels and robes.The tasting menue was excellent all the corses were delicious nothing to disappoint. hope to return again thankyou

Room Tip: all rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normskidabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abberley
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
961 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
15.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
7.0 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
10.3 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Address: 1 Stockton Road, Abberley WR6 6AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Abberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Price Range: $121 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elms 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Hotel, part of Luxury Family Hotels, is much loved by children and parents alike. Located in beautiful rural Worcestershire, this Queen Anne mansion boasts a family friendly spa, a fine dining restaurant and complimentary crèche.At The Elms Hotel and Spa, our aim is to ensure your family feels completely at home so that you can relax, have fun with the kids and enjoy grown-up time for yourselves. You’ll find locally sourced food, a family spa, gorgeous grounds and superb children’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Hotel And Spa
Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Abberley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing