We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome addition to Luxury Family Hotels”
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
tetbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome addition to Luxury Family Hotels”
Reviewed October 26, 2007

After visiting all of the Luxury Family Hotels we was really looking forward to visiting the latest addition to the group and what a hotel it was!

I read a couple of reviews on trip advisor for the hotel and was slightly sceptical of what we would find but the hotel was in a league of its own.

We was greeted firstly by the hotel dog "Tickle" followed shortly behind by an extremely proficient lady who guided us effortlessly to check in and then showed us around the hotel.

Our room was spacious, well decorated with plenty of wonderful touches and had fantastic views towards the Teme Valley.

My children we're keen to go to explore the children's den which was filled generously with fantastic toys all up to date, clean and cared for. The Nannies looked after the children fabulously with the kids not wanting to leave when our session was over. (The nannies we're happy for us to have a couple of sessions as some hotel guests had gone out for the day)

Children's high tea was healthy and tasty the nannies we're at hand to look after the kids but your welcome to stay with them. Food was hot, well cooked and plentiful. Both children wanting more as they enjoyed it so much! (Which is a rarity in our house!)

The baby listening service was a real bonus so my husband and I could enjoy a bit of "our time" whilst the kids we're tucked up in bed. The food in the Restaurant is easily the best within the group. It was great to see a hotel supporting local suppliers and local produce too. Service was excellent and wine list extensive. My husband and I had such a relaxing, memorable evening after such a wonderful day. When our kids are happy we are happy!

The hotel is at present having a Spa built which is due to be opened Spring 08 so we will be definitely returning with the children.

I would totally recommend this hotel to any family wishing to get away. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We left just wanting to return again. Quite pricey but when you take into account the luxurious surroundings, the service you get with the amazing Crèche (Ofsted Registered too so all done properly) beautifully appointed rooms, garden and views you can appreciate the price you are paying.

Book now as this place will be fully booked the whole time once the Spa has arrived!!

  • Liked — Staff, facilities and Food! What else do you need!
  • Disliked — Having to Leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tilly2Tetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    158
    84
    69
    29
See reviews for
366
127
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed at the Elms Hotel with our two children for two nights over the half term. The exterior of the hotel is gorgeous but there is still some work being carried out on the Spa and they are pouring a new car park. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted promptly by a member of staff and quickly checked in and escorted to our room. The staff were fantastic. They all seemed to know who we were, never having to ask our name or room number even addressing our children by names at tea. They clearly understand children from a parents perspective.

The room (the Colwall) was outstanding. Excellent appointments and a view to die for. They had set up two small beds for our girls complete with pint sized bathrobes. A huge hit with our kids. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. The room was of good size and the bathroom was large as well with a huge claw-foot tub and a shower with excellent water pressure.

The food was good but not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The children's tea, which runs from 5PM to 6PM each night does have a decent selection but on the night we went, as soon as my daughters were served, the buffet was shut and our girls didn’t get desert. A quick word with the staff and the situation was resolved. For the parents, the fixed dinner menu is good and you can substitute from the menu for a fee. It was nice to relax in the dining room with the little ones asleep upstairs knowing the in room monitor would alert us to any issues.

Overall, it was a great experience. Our children enjoyed jumping on the trampoline, playing in the creche and fell in love with Tickle the dog. The fact that there were loads of other kids running around the hotel took the pressure off of us as parents and we were able to relax and let our kids have fun - and that was precisely why we booked in at the Elms and they delivered in spades.

  • Liked — Unbelievably family friendly in a beautiful setting.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank donovanlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

A bit of a surprise, really friendly, cosy home away from home. A bit Miss Marple but something very welcoming. nice food and service, and overlall much better than expected.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank oliveredin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We had an average experience in this expensive hotel. I understood that this hotel was one of the best hotels in England; the staffs were friendly enough but not experienced and suited for this ranking of the hotel; I felt as if I have been greeted by a temporary staff or a summer vacation worker; it was a disappointment for its price.
The garden was unfinished; gardeners and builders were busy making the garden in front of the hotel guests, with an artificial, modern looking hut which does not go at all together with the main building. Food was below average than what I have expected. Not returning again.

  • Liked — The bathroom was better than average.
  • Disliked — Staffs. Young and chavvy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Greatholidays2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed here in August 2007 and like the previous reviewer, also had the Gladstone room. It is one of the last 'unrefurbished' rooms in the hotel and as such isn't really up to standard for a Von Essen, but if you want your young child in a seperate room there aren't many other options!! (We heard horrendous tales from other parents there of them and 3 children squished into a small double room).

Unlike the previous reviewer, we did feel our holiday was a little spoilt by building noise - on arrival there was a JCB with its bucket right outside our window. We weren't informed that work was going on right outside our room either before arrival or on check-in...maybe they thought we wouldn't notice?! I can excuse the need to do building work, but not the fact that we weren't told - after a long drive we were devastated to have to deal with all that. We were offered one of the aforementioned small doubles as an alternative.

Anyway, here are the things we liked:
- The staff were friendly, professional and great at what they did. (But someone probably needs a quiet word in the kitchen staff's ears as we could hear them swearing when the restaurant was quiet!)

- The grounds were beautiful and relaxing. The scenery was amazing. Thanks to the country air our baby slept 14hrs solid so we felt quite good after that too!

- The food was delicious.

- Tickle the dog was a firm favourite.

Here are the things we thought they could do better, mainly child related:
- Our room could be better childproofed. Our toddler could climb out of the window, which opened from the bottom; all the plug sockets were 'low' and we had to watch the kettle and light leads constantly. There were no bedside lights, so lots of stumbling around in the dark for the 4am feeds and the only TV was in our baby's room not ours so should we have needed to spend time up there if he wasn't sleeping! There were no towel rails to hang up the lovely fluffy towels.

- They should review the children's high tea menu and arrangements. The first day we were forced to feed our baby in the entrance hall, as the room they usually use had been taken out of action for a wedding. I take it that this is a regular occurrence and we weren't impressed as we felt shoved to one side and not important enough to have a proper place to eat. The food on the first day had been heavily pre-salted, which is an absolute no-no for young children, and on both days there were NO vegetables so not as healthy as we had hoped. (This was actually the same for the adut food). However they were helpful if we needed anything pureed.

- We didn't sadly have time to use the creche, but by all accounts it is great!

We will probably go back again but wait until our baby is older, maybe 3 upwards.

  • Liked — The grounds and scenery
  • Disliked — Tatty room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

we stayed at the Elms Hotel with our 2 children aged 2 and 5 who made themselves welcome as soon as we entered the charming reception. The staff on reception were superb and checked us in very promptly and showed us to our room which was the Gladstone room which was ready set up with a travel cot for our 2 year old son and also a full single bed for our 5 year old daughter. This room was the perfect set up for us & meant my husband & I had our own bedroom within the "suite". The bathroom was adequate - not 4 star luxury but clean tidy and functional and plenty big enough! The creche facilities were all brand new and the 2 ladies running it, Vicki and Becky were fantastic & welcomed our 2 with open arms which gave my husband & I the opportunity to indulge in the luxury afternoon tea which cannot be missed - sheer indulgence on a grand scale!
The childrens high tea was served with a great healthy choice even for the most discerning 5 year old! The grounds were full of places to explore and run around & knowwhere seems out of bounds! There is some building work going on for a leisure suite which will be the real icing on the cake for this lovely hotel but it didn't effect our stay at all! Dinner was fantastic - with the children safely tucked up in bed dreaming about face painting and chasing Tickle (the dog) the next day, and also being attentivly listened to by the inhouse sophisticated listening monitor, we were able to have a relaxing evening enjoying the ambience of the restaurant & each others company over a fine bottle of wine! The next morning, we had fresh coffee, warm milk and orange jiuce delivered to our room along with our requested room service breakfast which again was just right! The children enjoyed another couple of hours in the creche & running around the grounds whilst we sat & read some papers & enjoyed coffee & fresh home made biscuits. I would unreserverdlyl come back to this hotel - we only stayed one night but it felt like so much longer as we were treated so well. We will be back!

  • Liked — the calm relaxing and welcoming feel abou the place
  • Disliked — only staying one night!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargain-lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Just returned from a night at this hotel over the Bank Holiday weekend, and all in all would have to give it a decent rating - not excellent, but very good.

Service is indeed extremely good and the staff are all polite, friendly, and not at all pushy. The surroundings are lovely, despite some building works (not in the main building), although the dreadful weather meant that we were hard pressed to get out and explore.

Nice touches included the fact that the staff all appear to know who you are, and do not need to ask every time you want something i.e. ordering a meal or a drink.

We were also impressed with the line up of courtesy wellies (for borrowing of course!) by the back door, and the pet brown labrador (Tickles) was a great hit with our two children - not to mention extraordinarily well trained at only 10 months!!

Our only criticism would be that the hotel is still clearly in transition from being a small country hotel mainly (if not only) for adults, to a family friendly hotel. We do not think the balance is yet right - for example, children below 12 are not supposed to eat in the restaurant in the evenings. I think this is too old a cut-off although clearly some discretion is used as our two at 9 and 6 were allowed in - after staff checked with the Maitre d'.

Also, on arrival it would have helped to have had a brief explanation of what was really on offer for the children, as we spent the first hour or so waiting to be told, and ended up having to ask basic questions.

Despite this, I would commend the hotel to anyone with a young family, and agree that I think this place will improve all the time once they decide exactly how they will operate. We will most likely go again!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RosefordBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abberley
9.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
13.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
19.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: 1 Stockton Road, Abberley WR6 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Abberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elms 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Hotel, part of Luxury Family Hotels, is much loved by children and parents alike. Located in beautiful rural Worcestershire, this Queen Anne mansion boasts a family friendly spa, a fine dining restaurant and complimentary crèche.At The Elms Hotel and Spa, our aim is to ensure your family feels completely at home so that you can relax, have fun with the kids and enjoy grown-up time for yourselves. You’ll find locally sourced food, a family spa, gorgeous grounds and superb children’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel And Spa
The Elms Hotel Abberley
Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Abberley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing