We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cleaner and nicer than it looks! Good Dive Captain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Looe Key Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Charlottesville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap, cleaner and nicer than it looks! Good Dive Captain”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A buddy and I stayed here for 4 days to do some diving. The hotel looks like a bit of a dive, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice, clean room with tile floors. The beds were very nice, fairly new, high quality, thick mattresses, firm, yet soft. I had none of the back problems I often get sleeping on the road. The sheets were clean, towels were decent and changed daily. The housekeeping staff does a great job. I've had bad experiences at hotels like Econolodge and Super 8 and won't go back to those chains. This was very much like a nice hotel in a third world country. Not the Ritz, or even the Hampton Inn, but very acceptable. I would definitely return to this hotel. The backside fronts on a canal and has a full length balcony. The dive boat is right out back. If you are looking to dive or snorkel Looe Key, this is a great choice. Its also a great choice if you are just looking for a reasonable, yet inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the second floor and has a great view straight down the canal. Plus its the farthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    45
    16
    15
See reviews for
57
67
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Looe Key for 2 nights while visiting the Keys. Our room (#8) had new beds and TV as advertised. We had a nice sitting area off our room that backed up to a canal. The staff was very friendly and were happy to give suggestions on places to visit / things to do while in the area.

Our room was on the end by the Tiki bar. It was relatively loud in the evenings until around 11:30pm, but the music was good. Just something to be aware of if you are wanting to go to bed early/get up early.

The food at the Tiki bar was not very good in our opinion. The place across the street was much better.

We went on the afternoon snorkeling trip which was delayed for an hour because someone forgot their dive paperwork and had to have it faxed over (no one let us know why were delayed so we were left wondering until the person got on the boat).

The trip was not extended due to the delay so we were slighted an hour of our trip that we paid for! My thought is that person should have been offered snorkeling instead or a chance to go on a different trip so the rest of us did not have to pay the price for their mistake.

The actual snorkeling was nice - normal reef fish and 1 shark (black tipped?). My husband had trouble with his mask filling up the whole time so his experience was not as pleasant as mine.

Overall, our trip was decent and worth the $ for the room and snorkeling.

Room Tip: If you want to minimize the noise ask for a room furthest from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

While renovation was underway the people were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are friendly to divers and people who are looking for clean accomodations but who will be spending the majority of their time enjoying the Keys.
The price was much less than anywhere in Key West and the drive into town was beautiful and interesting.
Behind our room our back door opened onto a canal leading boats to the ocean.
We valued our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BbbbDddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The motel was nothing fancy and it was lacking in cleanliness. Very close to traffic noise and the nightclub was definitely very noisy. However for a 2 night stay you couldn't beat the price and location was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We made a reservation with this resort to dive and snorkel Looe Key and have access to Key West and lower keys at an affordable price. We got a good value. Staff on the dive boat were very good. Our room was simple but clean and comfortable. Pool was nice. About the only thing negative that I'd say was the quality of the music at the tiki bar, which was a little lacking. Music in Key West is much better quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Love this Bar and its welcoming staff . . .we own a Bar in the UP of Michigan on Lake Huron . . . went into your dive shop today at about noon . . . young man and young woman working . . . really need some customer training . . . no smiles, no engagement, no nothing . . . acted like they didn't need our money . . . thought you should know . . . I would . . .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bumpas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ramrod Key hotels

Montauk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came here to visit a friend who lives in the area. Right off Route 1 with easy access to nearby restaurants/bars. A cozy, clean, super affordable experience. Highlights were the music and drinks at their adjacent Tiki Bar, and excellent, knowledgeable, friendly staff. A must for any weary souls making the Route 1 road trip. Stop and stay at Looe Key for even one night, and you'll get back on the highway refreshed and renewed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramrod Key
19.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
19.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
827 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
276 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looe Key Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looe Key Reef Resort

Property: Looe Key Reef Resort
Address: Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Ramrod Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Looe Key Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looe Key Resort was constructed in 1958 and has been well maintained. We offer that chic old Florida charm. Our rooms have all be recently renovated and all offer Wi-Fi, a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and cable TV. We have an outdoor pool and offer kayaks, rental boats, dive/snorkel/fishing charters, and also have a Tiki bar & restaurant onsite. Come join us for a wonderful day on the reef. Now offering 2 trips daily!! Don't forget to visit the Looe Key Tiki Bar! Or just come and relax at our classic Keys Resort! **Please make sure to place reviews for our 3 listings in the appropriate location** -Review for Hotel or a combination of all 3 Resort Entities: please post HERE at "Looe Key Reef Resort" -Review for Tiki Bar: please post at "Looe Key Tiki & Grill" -Review for Dive & Snorkel Trips at "Looe Key Dive Center" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Looe Key Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looe Key Reef Resort Ramrod Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing