We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect B and B with a FANTASTIC host"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaillac Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed with Matt and Bob for 2 nights as we were making our way around more of "Les Plus Beaux Villages de France" and our stay was thouroughly enjoyed by all of us. The host was incredibly friendly and even joined in a game of Trivial Pursuit on a rainy afternoon while making our dinner! He is an amazing chef who cooked us a wonderful 3 course meal, which was so good the first night that we decided to eat in again the following night. He is a true MasterChef! Bob the dog is so friendy and cuddly. He is extremly lovable and great company. The whole house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Oriental room which is beautifully decorated with photos and art work from his travels all around the world. It is a very spacious room with very comfy beds and we had a great night's sleep. We would highly recommend this B & B which was so welcoming from start to finsh and we would return without hesitation!
Amy, Mandy and Simon Davison.

Room Tip: A good room to choose is the Oriental room which is very spacious with a view over the road, where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Matthew is the perfect host, unobtrusive but with you at a moments request. His culinary skills are phenomenal being a trained chef in some fine hotels across the world which has added to his presentation of the 3 course meals he serves to thrill your eyes and your taste buds. Magnificent.
The rooms are good sized and offer themed decor which is tastefully accomplished. Bob the dog is a friendly, well mannered 4 legged friend, who can entertain you or just leave you be, it is up to you.
All in all a well run, friendly atmosphere, and above all clean establishment and serving wonderful food to thrill you and let you die happy.(in your own time that is) Coming back again next week prior to our move to our property purchase which will be our new place of residence a few kilometres away.

Room Tip: Any room, they are all what you could expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed with Matt and Bob for two nights as we were visiting our builder who was undertaking further renovations on our house near st. Benoit. We weren't disappointed the oriental room was large and well appointed and the bed very comfortable. The food is an absolute treat and at a bargain price. Matt and Bob made us feel very welcome and we would have no hesitation in recommending them to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed with Bob and Matthew in October. The B&B is comfortable and full of character. The meal that Matthew cooked for us was better than restaurant quality and the conversation with both our host and guests made it a wonderful stay. Matthew recommended we go and see the village of Oradour-sur-Glane which was both a moving and emotional experience . Bob the dog is an added bonus to the B&B and has loads of personality. Thank you Matthew and Bob for a wonderful experience and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything previously stated about Matt and Bob are true. Absolutely great hosts. I recently visited Challac BnB with my parents and we occupied the 2 rooms on the entire 2nd floor, sharing one bathroom. It was a great place for us, an easy drive to many nice historical towns in l'Indre.

To top it off, the dinner Matt provides every night is an absolute value for a proper three course meal. And the food is delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay for a few nights.
Matthew made a wonderful breakfast and a great 3 course dinner. Couldn't be better.

Matthew and Bob, thank you!

Barbara and Tjibbe from Holland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaJa2372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent three nights staying in the new red room which was perfect. We ate at Matthew's each night as the standard of meals was so high and to enjoy the pleasant company and conversation with the other guests. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaillac Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaillac Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5, rue du Docteur Audoucet | Chaillac, 36310 Saint-Benoit-du-Sault, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Saint-Benoit-du-Sault
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Benoit-du-Sault
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm & friendly B&B in the heart of France only minutes from exit 20 on the A20 motorway. This recently renovated village house in the lovely market village of Chaillac used to be the servants accommodation for the 15th-century chateau opposite & still retains a lot of the original features. Great evening meals served by the Host Matthew who used to be a Head Chef and has worked all over the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chaillac Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing