We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen weekend!”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hen weekend!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Could not fault this hotel. Comfortable, clean and modern hotel. Friendly staff. Standard breakfast buffet but fresh, had nice evening meal in the restaurant with cocktail lesson also. Gym with pool available. Bring car if you plan to go into Galway city. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring swimwear if you like swimming and car if wish to go into Galway city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and your feedback. Thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    133
    77
    24
    23
See reviews for
181
163
16
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Handy base for business meeting or leisure in Galway without having to deal with the mad Galway traffic. Clean & friendly. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about the team here at the hotel. It is our pleasure in looking after you and we are delighted to have exceeded your expectations. I have posted your comments on our teams which they are delighted with.

Kind Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Its really a hotel you can check into and not have to leave again because you can be sure you will be comfortable in the room,the leisure centre is just fab, the bar and food is lovely and the staff well what i can say except you cant put a price on peole being that friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Hi and thank you so much for your feedback. I have taken on board all your comments and when you return we should have improved these areas for you. Delighted the kids love the pool. The team here at the hotel look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We are back today for our complimentary wedding anniversary meal.Almost one year ago we got married here.we had the best of everything.everyone had a great timewith great service at good value.
Thank you Paul & Nora. Top marks from us and our guests.
From Rory and Eleanor

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Hi Guys, sorry to have missed you when you were in. I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary meal. Both Nora and I cannot believe it is a year since you big day. still have the photos!! Thanks for the kind words.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Have stayed here twice with my family. Always find hotel staff great. Family rooms are huge which we need for 3 boys. Breakfast is OK. Nothing to write home about. Hard to get out onto main road but it is very close to Oranmore Activity centre and Cinema. My boys love the swimming pool and again I found the staff here very helpful. Have not eaten in the restaurant as we are usually out and about and kids are wrecked in the evening after a long day in Galway. For staying with family I would definately stay here again. Rooms are super clean and great sizes.

Room Tip: Family rooms have 2 double bed and 1 single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeedyCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I will work hard to make sure the next time you visit the breakfast will be special. Check us out in September and hopefully that matter will be put to bed. I am also delighted that your family enjoyed our facilities.

In the mean time enjoy the summer and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Le Meas

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Myself and my Wife stayed at the Claregalway Hotel in May 2011. It was easily the best deal I have ever got at a hotel. The rate was fabulous, the hotel was clean and modern. The staff were so incredibly friendly. If you decide to stay here, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us here in the Claregalway Hotel. We are delighted you had a great time and that you have great memories to share with each other on the wedding day!!. I know you will be passing again soon so drop in for some more TLC!!

Regards to all

Paul Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leitrim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with mt friends as were were on a Hen Weekend and I cannot speak highly enough of it. We were greeted with a warm reception by Niamh and were shown to our rooms. The rooms were spacious, extremely comfortable and immaculatley clean.
On the second night were enjoyed a 3 course meal where the choices included Sea bass and steak. The waiting staff were so attentive and offered to take group photos for us. We enjoyed a cocktail hour where we were given the chance to make our own drinks and for those who did not wish to do so the staff made some for them.
Some of the girls enjoyed the spa facilities and found it to be very relaxing and reasonable in price. The bar food was very good as were the portions. When we returned to the hotel at night we were greeted by Joseph the night porter who even arranged to have sandwiches ready for us at 3a.m....
I could rave about The ClareGalway hotel all day as I found the overall experience to be second to none, simply brilliant and on a league of its own.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresemcsharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Hi and Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent weekend here in the Claregalway Hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you all and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
5.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
8.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Property: Claregalway Hotel
Address: Claregalway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing