We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great value for money and very enjoyable”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stopped off coming from Galway after a morning's shopping. We were ravenous so we were delighted to be seated immediately. We decided to have the toasted special which consisted of ham, tomoto and onion. When it arrived it had a lovely salad and chips and it only cost €5.95 which we thought was excellent value. It was beautifully presented and hot. There is plenty of parking, it's central and well worth a visit if you are passing through Claregalway. We will definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
52
55
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner here recently, and I have to say the food and the staff are the worst you will find.
The two meals we got were just terrible, we left it on the plate we couldn't eat it.

The staff were awful, uninterested and couldn't give a damn. We asked for more drinks and gravy and none of them came to the table.

I'm from Galway, and I'll never go near this place again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GalwayRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

So, some of the reviews are bad and mine is long to persuade you to ignore those bad ones!

The bar: a great spot with plenty of locals. Bar-woman/manager Olivia welcomed people by name and knew their usuals. Pretty good sign. She recommended a hot whiskey to me - yum!

Restaurant: opens 7:00 a.m. which for Ireland is amazing! Olivia recommended Black Pudding appetizer - really really good. Also had goat cheese bruschetta - flavored perfectly. Very fresh salad accompanied. My friends had meatballs (good, huge) and chicken - no complaints at all!

Rooms: it's a small hotel - about 25 rooms I think. Descent size and very reasonable - especially so close to Galway city! I'll remember this for Galway Races. ;-)

Facebook.com/TodayInIreland for photos nearby.

X

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VagabondSue1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Just had a one night stay with my wife and 3 young kids hotel was good value, food was great but the best part of our stay was the staff all very friendly and all Irish , hotel is not huge but had every thing we needed we did get it on a deal website for a good rate not much to do in claregalway but Galway City only 10 mins away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Would recommend this hotel for overnight stay, staff very friendly, food was good value for money, rooms were very clean. Wi-Fi available, would stay here again. Easy access to Galway City. Locals very friendly and nice buzz in the bar. Only thing missing is the lack of a big foyer just felt there was nowhere to come down from your room and sit, only area seemed to be the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

the food is poor very poor the place in general is a bit run down and needs a lick of paint badly however the gents toilets in the main bar are absolutely disgusting they stinkk of urine ......as the saying goes the state of the toilets is always a good indication of the state of the kitchens !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stopped here for breakfast and dinner on the way to and from Mayo on day with approx. 20 people. I was not impressed at all. The breakfast was ok, it was all you can eat for 6 euro which was food value. On making our way out after breakfast one of my companions said thank you to the male waiter which he retorted cheekily with 'thank you yourself'! i was absolutely disgusted! Then the manager said if we stopped on the way down for dinner he would subsidize the meals which we thought was fair enough so on the way home we stopped there again. we were given chicken curry which was more like soup and rice - not good quality at all! The worst bit of the experience was that they charged us 12 EURO for this! An absolute rip off! so much for subsidized meals! I will definitely NOT be returning as i am one for quality and good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
541 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,901 reviews
5.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.8 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Hotel, Claregalway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Hotel, Claregalway

Property: The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Address: Cois Chlair, Claregalway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arches Hotel, Claregalway 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Arches Hotel, Claregalway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing