We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Galway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were at a friends wedding in the claregalway hotel but all the rooms there were booked so we decided to stay here. Staff were nice at reception. Room was a bit old fashioned with view of carpark. 2 beds pushed together to make a double not very comfortable. Can't comment on food or anything else as didn't not see any of it the next day

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayAsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    18
    13
    16
See reviews for
51
52
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Got the LivingSocial deal for two nights, and had dinner in the restaurant both nights. Fantastic value for money, with a very attentive and helpful staff who were willing to help with anything. Very clean room with spacious and spotless bathroom. Had breakfast twice, and it was lovely! Full fry up with tea/coffee, juice and cereal all included in the deal for both mornings. Location wasn't too bad, there wasn't much to do in the immediate area, and the bus eireann service was minimal at best (very few buses during the day). Overall, the hotel was great and we would recommend it for anyone looking for a couple days off!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

stopped here on way home from Kerry to Donegal had a lovely meal here steak pepper sauce n all the trimmings my friend had pasta carabonarra n garlic bread ..very busy but food was good staff were efficient and the value for money was unreal the day we stopped was Sat 16th of Feb and they were doing buy one get one free !! our lunch cost us a grand total of €12 amazing value def recomend this place..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gettogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here with a living social deal for 2 nights, excellent value for money, it's a small clean modern hotel.all staff are friendly, & obliging. Breakfast is very good, all the usual cooked breakfast, staff very attentive.Had a meal in hotel, boyfriend had the steak, best steak going, cooked to perfection & chunky chips. I had salmon, again cooked to perfection, fantastic sauce, fresh salad & delicious chips... Overall come here if you want value for money with great service.. Could not fault. it's not a 5 star hotel, but it is a great stay if u want excellent value, with great service , & quality staff .& also family orientated even though we have no kids, they cater to all single or with children, ten mins from Galway city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

got a living social deal for this place 49euro for a nights b&b, late checkout, and main course for two great offer snapped it up! stayed in room 101, nice room decour slightly dated, no curtain just a blind,small tv but crisp white bedding, clean room and bathroom. its a basic hotel but clean and all staff we met at reception, bar and in the morning were polite and helpful.
lots of free parking outside. went for dinner in the bar, choice not restricted for the meal so chose the 10oz steak...looked more like an 80z when it came out but plenty enough for me! chunky chips lovely and the starter/dessert (rum/raisin cheesecake) was lovely too!
breakfast was self serve cooked rasher,egg etc no sight of cereal etc but had i asked wouldve prob got it maybe a morning menu to let people see other options even if there not left out would be good idea?
slept well no noise (was a monday night) bed comfort 6/10 found mattress bit harder than other places weve stayed.
its a convenient hotel for location to galway city bought a 10min drive but not a lot to do in claregalway itself. theres a notice that says the castle down the road is open in the summer though.we drove to oranmore where there is a cinema/bowling alley...again its only about a 10min drive from this hotel. had a few drinks in the claregalway hotel next to it just for a change.
i would recommend this hotel to family/friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangeapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urlingford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the Arches for one night. There was 2 adults and 3 kids. Usually when we book a family room we are all crammed into it but The Arches has cleverly divided the room into a split level with 2 single beds on the lower level and a double and single at the upper level. It was a great novelty for the kids also. The staff in the hotel were so polite and obliging. The food was lovely and we even got one free meal when you ordered a third main course. We paid €89 B&B for all 5 of us which was excellent value. It's only 15 mins drive from heart of Galway city also. I would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

LivingSocial were running a one night BB with two main courses for €49 so jumped at the chance (after checking if three children allowed by email first). Booked a Saturday Night. Told we would get a family room.

Plenty of free parking around back and side. Beautiful Door into to the actual hotel and little reception area, decorated for Christmas; with a very friendly receptionist and quick informative check-in. One of my kids rang Santa's bell and the receptionist was so pleasant that a few rings were rung.

We were delighted by squeals of delight upon entering 205 as the kids spotted the stairs. It was a split level room and of all the family type rooms we have been in this was the most ideal. Spotless room and bathroom. Flatscreen TV with a great selection of channels. Room had a fabulous window seat that gave a beautiful view, in fact kids and I car watched for a good while.

After informing our waiter we were on a package with two main course included, I asked what main courses could we choose from: he said any on the menu. Great. Jug Mi Wadi and black straws for the kids arrived within minutes (without asking us first, great service). We choose the cheapest main course (9.95)- 8oz steak with mushroom/onions, pepper sauce and homemade chips (and I mean chunky homemade potato chips). Delicious.

Children's menu €5, however the included juice and also mash never arrived but Im certain if Id said anything they would have arrived immediately. Side orders €2 and plenty of the ordered onion rings arrived.

Desserts €4 and were exceptional for this price.

On turning off the TV a little music could be heard from the main bar below but thankfully we slept right through. Plenty of pillows provided.

Breakfast was a little under whelming on arrival (no large spread of cereals, yogurts etc) but if one asked for anything everything was available. I asked for cornflakes, Tea/coffee and hot toast dropped down. Cooked breakfast delicious: even though hot plate I saw the chef pop out numerous times with fresh produce. Proper butcher meaty sausages, not the bloated chipshop variety. Another table had ordered scrambled egg and the presentation was five star.

Both the Irish Independent and Sunday edition were available for a quick read (none of this nasty having to pay for the paper as I see in other hotels).

Late check-out was lovely, giving us another hour to relax.

This hotel was soooo lovely I booked a second deal and also will certainly back for some evening food. Must also note a lovely function area was set up just inside the bar area with lovely dressed tables and seating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
8.4 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
5.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Hotel, Claregalway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Hotel, Claregalway

Property: The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Address: Cois Chlair, Claregalway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arches Hotel, Claregalway 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Arches Hotel, Claregalway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing