We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was in the Arches for a 21st back in June. Many compliments must be given to the bar staff on that night and to the porter who allowed the party continue on into the wee hours! lol

However, 1 thing i have to critique is the "dodgy" finger food which left me in a heap the next morning, never mind the guinness which kept me shtuck to the bowl!!

Overall, a very enjoyable and i look forward to my next night in the Arches,
Many thanks.
Eamon,
Castlegar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a bite to eat here recently. Food service and value all excellent. Good selection on menu. Nice clean n comfy atmosphere. Staff very good always ensuring you are looked after.
Highly recommend as a place to enjoy a meal or drink.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was happy with my stay. Very comfortable beds and room and nice food. Very convenient to bus stop to travel in and out of city. Friendly and helpful staff. I'd stay there again..I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and we had a good experience. It is kind of far from the center of Galway but we had a rental car. It would have been too far without a car. The staff was very friendly and we had free wi-fi. The room was clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Arches on Monday night last. We had stayed here for the Galway Races last summer, and were well pleased with our stay.
We found the room and shower room to be clean, with clean towels and good supply of towels.The beds were clean and comfortable, and we slept well.We were at front of house, with attic style windows......but thanks to blackout blinds, we were not affected by outside light.
The Irish breakfast was never for me, but there was a brisk business on the Monday morning, with workmen in having breakfast.
The location is a little out from the city,but a bus stops just across the road, for the city, for a few euro...and it suited us.
Without doubt,while facilities in this hotel are clean and basic,and the TV is a bit dated,the staff are really friendly and helpful, which is one of the reasons why we returned! I will be back.......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my family in August. Driving distance from galway city is only 10 or 15 minutes depending on traffic which we found reasonable.Had to fetch someone from the bar to check us in she was plesent and friendly, our rooms were on the second floor and they have a lift which is great for bringing up the luggage, have to say there was a nasty smell in the communal areas like stale cooking throughout our stay, the carpets have all seen better days. Our room was a double with en-suite, only a portable tv would've expected a plasma, tea and coffee facility's but no bottled water,no alarm clock and no phone. bathroom was good size but the shower cubicle had a lot of mildew around the seal and the door kept coming off its track but the pressure was excellent.I think this place can only be described as a hotel because it offers evening meals as they don't have any other facility's for guests other than a bar, pool table or tv room would have been nice it really is b&b standard. The breakfast is nice, plenty on the hot plate tea,coffee and juices.We had dinner in the bar on our first night and it was rubbish from the reviews on trip advisor I was expecting something good but it was terrible everything was deep fried the salad on the plates were out of packets and all wilted. On the second evening we went next door to the claegalway hotel and it was a world apart everything was fresh it was hotel standard food! On both nights we ordered 4 starters 4 mains and two desserts with two cokes 1 Budweiser and glass of wine, the amazing thing was the claegalway hotel was €10 cheaper!!. The bed we had was on its last legs and the pillows were too hard.I think to call this a hotel is a bit much but if they updated their carpets and beds/ pillows they would have a great 3 star B&B with lovely staff, can't say I would be back.

Room Tip: Would recommend a rear room overlooking the car park as its quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank realm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Checked in here on the 17 th August for 2 nights on a Go Ireland deal 2 nights B&B for €150.00 for 2 people which was a good deal. We arrived at 9 pm on Friday night loads of parking which was great and free as well. Went to reception but no one there a note said proceed to bar for attendance which we did. Checked in and we were on 2 nod floor room was bright and looked lean basic room no frills . Tv was a portable could be changed now to flat screen maybe ? Also there was tea coffee facilities. Ample supply of towels and shampoos etc. we unpacked and proceeded to bar food was finished so we went to local diner. We came back to bar later for drinks and may I say it was the best Guinness we ever drank well done. Had a great sleep tht night, shower the next morning was too hot we couldn't adjust the heat the thermostat maybe gone in the shower. Breakfast was great hot food help yourselves and there was lads and was always topped up and fresh. Coffee and toast was also great. Staff were great and very helpful and friendly. Well done.
We will return. Maybe management could look at TV Shower & maybe adding a bit more colour to bedrooms and maybe having someone at reception it just adds a nice touch more welcoming...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
593 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
847 reviews
5.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Ard Ri House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Thatched Cottage B&B
The Thatched Cottage B&B
#1 of 3 in Claregalway
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Garmisch
#2 of 3 in Claregalway
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Hotel, Claregalway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Hotel, Claregalway

Address: Cois Chlair, Claregalway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range: $64 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arches Hotel, Claregalway 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Arches Hotel, Claregalway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing