We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent way of exploring the area with friendly people”

Heritage Cycle Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage Cycle Tours is a family business, offering accompanied cycle holidays through some of the UK's most beautiful and historic countryside. We provide one-day excursions and four-day inclusive holidays. Our one-day tour from Salisbury takes you to Stonehenge and Old Sarum. We also start from Winchester and Marlborough. We supply your bike, snacks, equipment and fun for a memorable day.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“an excellent way of exploring the area with friendly people”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We did the Salisbury-Stonehenge tour in September 2012. We had never been in the area and we love cycling, so we thought this could be a good 1-day activity in our holidays. And it proved so: cycling is a great way of enjoying the English landscape. Besides, we had the company of two excellent guides that were nice and helpful. Since we come from abroad this was also a way of meeting English people and learning about the country. They gave us excellent tips, not only for the day, but for the rest of our holidays.
This particular tour allows you to visit a must in the area (Salisbury and its cathedral), enjoy the countryside and slowly approach Stonehenge from the distance, which is certainly a view you cannot get from a car. Dave gave a lot of interesting information about this impressive monument.
The material provided, the bikes and all the complements, is excellent and Dave and Lyn take good care of you.
María Victoria & Miguel Angel, Spain

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank María Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Day!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We can't say enough about Lyn and David! They were excellent, knowledgeable tour guides, let us bike at our own pace, were patient with our biking skills, provided great bikes, and showed us places we would never have seen on our own. We took the Salisbury to Stonehenge Bike tour, stopping at Old Sarum on the way back. Approaching Stonehenge on a bike was absolutely breathtaking and we highly recommend Heritage Cycle Tours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bergenplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic biking off the beaten track!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister and I did the Stonehenge tour. We were very last minute in booking. We literally just showed up in Salisbury. No worries! Lyn & Dave took care of everything - from finding us somewhere to park our car, to supplying lots of water and sun screen on an exceptionally sunny English day! I had really wanted to get off the roads and deep into the countryside and so they took us down country lanes and gravel paths and really went out of their way to make sure the day was exactly what we were looking for. Was a really great way to visit Stonehenge - great views biking across the fields to the site. Very tasty lunch in local pub. Overall, a really relaxing day that ended with creamy pints of Guinness -:) Highly recommend this tour. Lyn & Dave are super nice people and they are lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann_02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Enjoyed it so much we booked a second one”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Did the tour from Salisbury to Stonehenge and Old Sarum. Fantastic tour, good bikes, great pace, lots of fun. We have booked the Winchester tour as well - it's a really good way to explore the countryside and Lyn and Dave are great hosts and guides.

Helpful?
Thank SarahDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST TOUR EVER”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a bike tour to Stonehenge on our visit to England. I am truly thankful that we found Dave and Lyn at Heritage Cycle Tours. We have been on many, many excursions and this tour is at the top of my list. Besides the amazing scenery that we saw along the way- we were learned so much from Dave and Lyn. The amount of knowledge they knew and shared with us about the area is amazing. Not only did we have an amazing day, but we made some new friends. We are moving to the Winchester area this summer and cannot wait to sign up for another tour. One of the best things about this tour was that they really catered to what we wanted to see and do. Our happiness was their top priority! Sign up for a tour if you get the chance. You won't be sorry!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ruggienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Cycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing