We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel next to Stonehenge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pembroke Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hotel next to Stonehenge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed last week for one night with a friend. we were looking for a nice hotel close to Stonehenge and we found this one. We had a large clean quiet room, which was decorated in a traditional english style (everything in the hotel and room was, and in a good taste!), which was special for tourists like us. we had both dinner and breakfast, dinner was excellent with a good variety of food (I recommend the steak and kidney pie,but they also have many vegetarian dishes which my friend picked from) , and they have good variety for breakfast.
We arrived on a beautiful sunny day and set in the hotel garden and lobby most of it, we wish we would stay there longer, since the hotel and surroundings made us feel very relaxed. the staff was very nice and friendly and answer all our (many!) questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moranicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a good review - we're always happy to hear feedback whether good or bad but it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our best to be as welcoming as we possibly can for all our guests and it's good to hear this improved your stay. We work hard to maintain our garden all year round but it's good that you could make the most of it in such sunny weather! Your kind words about our restaurant will be passed on to our kitchen staff. We'll hopefully see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    100
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
82
276
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a one night stay in Pembroke Arms on a recent visit to Salisbury. We chose to stay on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel has a good location and a nice relaxing ambience. The room was very comfortable and the service warm and friendly. Eggs at breakfast were a little under cooked but that aside an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review - it's also good to hear that we lived up to your expectations! Please accept my apologies for your undercooked eggs at breakfast - we'll do our best to ensure this doesn't happen again. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy what our bedrooms have to offer and we hope to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We only had one night in this very good pub/hotel but it was excellent value for money. The room may have been a bit small but we were looking for the best deal! We had a deal including breakfast and dinner. When we asked what we could chose from the menu we were told we could have anything! we were expecting supplements, so the fillet steak for no extra charge was a must for one of us! Breakfast was excellent and the service throughout was friendly and efficient. Also very well positioned for Salisbury and Wilton House. A great overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our fantastic dinner, bed and breakfast rates. It's nice for our guests to enjoy whatever they'd like to eat from the menu without worrying about any extra supplements or charges. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We found the Pembroke Arms via Trip Advisor as we were looking for an overnight stop on a trip through Salisbury. What a lovely find. A beautiful location, fantastic and friendly service, lovely food and a really comfortable room. Would search it out next time in its own right.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review and I'm glad you enjoyed what we have to offer. Your kind messages will be passed on to the staff involved in making your stay so enjoyable. We'll hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Tucked away in the picturesque village of Wilton from the moment we arrived we felt nothing but welcomed. Myself and two friends stayed at the Pembroke Arms a few days ago and I cannot praise the hotel enough.We arrived before our book-in time and it was no trouble for us to leave out suitcases for collection later. On arrival back to the hotel our bags were carried up to our rooms and I was lucky enough to have a double room to myself. The room itself was warm and inviting with a view across the field opposite. My friends had a twin room which was tastefully decorated with more than enough room for them both to move around in.
Breakfast in the morning was served in the dining room which was bright and airy and the chefs scrambled eggs were to die for! We unfortunately did not have dinner in the restaurant as we were attending the history festival however we received excellent feed back from others that we had spoken with.
My friend found the hotel online, which is always a worry as you are never too sure what to expect, however in this case we did not need to worry at all. I paid £92.50 per night for my room and it was money well spent, the staff were not only friendly but nothing was too much trouble for them - special thanks go to Ethan, Joe, and George. The hotel was not too far away from the venue and despite not being locals we were guided by the staff as the quickest and easiest route to take, so much quicker than following Doris ( my tom-tom!)
It is not very often I recommend a hotel, as I can be quite picky, however I have no reservations in recommending the Pembroke Arms to anyone visiting the area. Excellent value for money, ideally situated for our weekend and extremely welcoming staff - we will definitely be booking again next year :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such an extensive review. It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us and that the PA suited your needs sufficiently. Being only a few miles from the Chalke Valleys we're ideally suited for anyone visiting the annual history festival and it's good to hear you were able to stumble upon us! I'll be sure to pass on your messages to Ethan Joe and George who will be pleased to hear they made your stay that extra bit more enjoyable. Fingers crossed we'll see you all again for next year's History Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are visiting Salisbury and need good accommodation at an excellent price, this is the place to stay.
Charming staff who are courteous, relaxed and friendly. Our room No.2 was spotless and of a good size. The stairs to it may be a problem for a less able person.
We only had lunch here as we were eating in Salisbury that evening; but first rate baguettes and a smashing bottle of wine at a most reasonable price.
A delightful short stay and will not hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. I'm glad to hear everything was to your liking and that you enjoyed what our restaurant has to offer. Unfortunately due to the nature of our old building a lift is not possible but we ensure all guests are offered a hand with their luggage if need be. Your kind words will certainly be passed on to our staff and we'll hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

From our initial greeting to being waved off by the proprietor it would be difficult to difficult to fault.
Good food and comfortable surroundings at a reasonable price what more would you want for a visit to Salisbury Cathedral and Wilton House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings Bedchamber, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckleeSalop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our location - being so close to Wilton House and Salisbury. Hopefully you'll be able to find another excuse to visit us in the not to distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
2.8 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pembroke Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pembroke Arms Hotel

Property: The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Address: Minster Street, Wilton, Salisbury SP2 0BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Wilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pembroke Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the beautiful Wilton Estate, The Pembroke Arms offers bedrooms, a restaurant & bar, plus elegant function rooms which are perfect for weddings or conferences. Our intention is to offer a relaxed, friendly and top-notch service in enticingly quirky surroundings - the hotel is furnished with beautiful, colonially-themed furniture from Rajasthan, supplemented with items from local suppliers and antique dealers. Our restaurant menu also makes the most of fresh, locally-sourced produce, creating delicious, excellent quality dishes that appeal to all.We are not a stuffy, corporate hotel group; we have an unconventional style which won't fail to impress as you step through the door; a passionate and obliging style of service that exceeds customer expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pembroke Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing