We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect countryside bliss”
other travelers have booked this property
Private south facing- verandah with View of Italianate church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private south facing- verandah with View of Italianate church
Large, light and beautifully furnished sitting / bedroom.  White Company Egyptian cotton sheets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Private south facing- verandah with View of Italianate church
Large, light and beautifully furnished sitting / bedroom.  White Company Egyptian cotton sheets
full-size single beds possible IF REQUIRED
River Nadder runs through garden
Fully-equipped kitchen.  Microwave, cafetiere.  Washing machine and dryer available for you to use
Luxury bathroom with towels, toiletries provided
Enjoy a sun-downer on the river
breakfast on the verandah
Our flock of friendly sheep
my lovely chickens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wilton, Salisbury, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
memettim
Philadelphia USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect countryside bliss”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Waking up to the mist rising over a field of gently bleating sheep was perfect. Seeing it from an amazingly comfortable bed with delicous linens in a warm cozy place was even better. And with a fully equipped kitchen just a few steps away it means you can make your tea and slip back between the covers and say to yourself “ this is the life!”
So many interesting books and things to look at you may find it hard to leave this lovely quiet and private spot! But you should because Salisbury is so close, as is Old Sarum and best of all the beautiful Messums barn/gallery near Tisbury.
I would go back tomorrow and would love to see it in the different seasons. If you can persuade Sara to make you some of her mince pies you may never go home again!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed Messums as it is one of my favourite galleries. I hope to see you before next Christmas and mince pies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stlo01
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in very restful setting”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

There is perhaps no better setting for some distance. Down a quite lane with country views with an easy walk to the shops and the local welcoming pubs and restaurants at night. Salisbury is short drive or bus trip away and there are so many other places nearby to go and see.

Step out into the garden and there is a trout stream, sheep, chickens, ducks and swans. There are easy country walks over the adjoining fields and plenty of places to explore on foot.

From start to finish you are made to feel at home and long before the stay ends you will be feeling that you do not want to be leaving

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
It was lovely to meet you and your wife and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meeting our animals. I hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junojablo...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, cozy, picturesque country cottage!”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2017

Hare House is a lovely warm and welcoming cottage that is filled with everything you could ever need for a getaway to the countryside. With lots of easy walks nearby it is the perfect place to escape to for a relaxing weekend. There are lots of cute villages and interesting sights nearby making it the ideal home base for short day trips! Sara and her family are excellent hosts, going above and beyond to ensure their guests are comfortable and welcomed. I would highly recommend Hare House to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and cozy place in Wiltshire!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thank you Juno for your very positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the local walks and villages. I hope to see you again soon! Sara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn f
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect lodge, lovely location”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

lovely location, private and peaceful with lovely views from the property yet close to transport, shops and bars. Great hideaway for two. Will be back to stay again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choc4basi...
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Cygnets, sheep and sitting.”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Amazing find. We loved this detached riverside lodge. Extremely well equipped: furniture is of high quality as is the decor and the owners are friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed walks along the river seeing the wildlife and just sitting 'n' looking. If you can, take the time to look at the cream church (you can see it from the lodge) - it is beautiful.

Thank you Sara and John. We loved our stay and would definitely love to come again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathryncu...
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

As we walked to the door we immediately felt in holiday mode and relaxed, with nature all around, and beautiful views. The lodge is perfectly equipped, and feels very airy with the open-plan living space. When we opened the curtains on the first morning, we could see a family of swans out one window, and sheep from the other, with lush greenery all around. It's incredibly quiet too as you're away from the main road, so very peaceful, yet the high street and local pub is a 5 minute walk, and Salisbury is close too, so it's the best of both worlds. The owner Sara is a very kind host. We loved meeting her pet sheep and having a cuddle with May, her youngest lamb. If you like peace and quiet and being surrounded by nature in a unique spot, and not too far from a bit of life, then this is absolutely the one. We'd love to return.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Kathryn and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heather30...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect locatio,. peaceful and relaxing although in walking distance to restaurants.”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Did not expect to find peace and tranquillity so close to amenities, Thoroughly relaxing and quiet, Sara and John wonderful hosts, starter hamper takes away the need to rush out for supplies. Accommodation lovely, spacious and bed large and comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you for staying with us - John and I really enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you same time next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing