We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money in an excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value for money in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed one night attending family reunion locally.Superb location close to New Forest attractions. Clean, modern with polite friendly staff.Has an excellent indian restaurant next door and a pub 100 yards up the road.What more could one want. Only criticism is that sound carries from corridors and upper floors which might upset the light sleeper. Breakfast value for money. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crib46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
31
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Best place we have stayed so far in England! Spotlessly clean, wonderfully comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, helpful staff. Ideally located, the New Forest and the ponies start only 5 minutes down the road. We wanted to stay longer but alas no vacancies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staff were were very accommodating. Books and games for children, room was very big with a lovely view.
The breakfast staff - two ladies, were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
No take away food allowed in room, which was a shame, as have two small children, who go to bed very early.
Wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights with our 3 year old son. The ensuite room was very comfortable, clean and spacious, but (as somebody else commented) it was very hot for mid-summer, having a thick duvet on the bed. We preferred not to have the windows open as we're not used to a lot of traffic noise at night, although it did quiten down after midnight until around 6am. There was also an electric fan provided, so we used that and it did make it a bit cooler.
I can't get over how many people said the breakfast was very good! Ours most certainly was not - the sausages and bacon appeared microwaved and were very bland and tasteless and the eggs were poached and not drained at all well, resulting in a very watery breakfast. They also charged us more than half price for our 3 year old, for just a small box of cereal and one slice of toast, so I wasn't impressed. Needless to say, we didn't have the breakfast again.
We were central for both the new forest and southampton (we went to IOW on the ferry) so the location was ideal for us.
All in all, a pleasant stay, but do yourselves a favour and get some croissants and orange juice in for a DIY breakfast like we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CirenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room - 2 adults and 2 kids. We liked the clean room with space for two separate single beds for the kids. Breakfast is an optional extra; it was tasty and efficient with choice of cereals and cooked, full english options (discounted for the kids).
The hotel is situated on the main road but the secondary glazing meant we weren't disturbed by the road noise; there was a fan in the room which helped.
There is an Indian restaurant next door and we ordered take away one night with no complaints.
The hotel is cheaper than many of the New Forest hotels and B&Bs that we looked at (it is clearly a very popular area) and that made it worth the 20 minutes drive into the heart of the area.
Best of all, you're only a mile or so away before you see the wild ponies and pigs who are happy to stroll up to your car!
I would recommend this to families and visitors to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

friendly, clean, nice big room. ONLY one complaint room was almost unbearably hot, apart from that was excellent

Room Tip: ask for air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a modern hotel situated on a main road (A36) at the edge of the New Forest. The road is busy during the day but barely noticeable at night. I know this as I was awake from midnight until 5am due to stomach cramps from eating at the Indian restaurant next door (it turns out i have a ghee allergy!). I heard a handful of cars pass by, nothing to rave about. The mattress was also a contributing factor in keeping me awake, it was unbelievably soft and had no support whatsoever. I am fortunate not to suffer with a bad back but a couple in our party do and they too suffered with lack of sleep and problems all day. Apart from a lick of paint being needed for scuffs and scrapes the hotel was adequate. The rooms were clean and very spacious although the walls a little thin!! The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the local area and if they changed their mattresses I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markandkaty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landford
4.9 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Forest Lodge

Property: New Forest Lodge
Address: Southampton Road, Landford, New Forest National Park Wiltshire SP5 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > New Forest National Park Wiltshire > Landford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our independent, 4-star guest accommodation is located just one mile from the edge of the New Forest within the National Park, and within easy reach of Southampton and Salisbury. Ideal for business or pleasure we have 14 fully equipped, modern bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Forest Hotel Landford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing