We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having read the reviews on this site - the hotel is exactly as everyone says. The place is itself is down a quiet road in a peaceful chocolate box village. The people running it are wonderful. We had the four poster room and it is gorgeous. The gardens are simply beautiful to sit in. The food is excellent. Dinner was mitchilin standard and the English breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. We took our little dog and he was made very welcome. Plus there is a lovely walk across fields directly from the hotel. The lounge with the log fire was wonderful after supper. It is a little small so we hadn't been able to sit in there with our party at lunch time - so if it is busy you may not got the chance to sample it sadly - perhaps the only down side to the whole place. There is no bar but they served us drinks in the lounge and they are always on hand to do so which I liked. They take the orders for food and then take you through to the dinning room which I love as it always feels so refined. All in all would really recommend this place and we plan to return as soon as we can as we all came away so refreshed and replete - thank you to all the team at Howard House Hotel !

Room Tip: Four poster room is beautiful with great view of stream outside hotel and from the bed it looks out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    30
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

A second visit to Howards House confirmed our opinion from our first visit - A gem!
A beautiful 17th century building set in a perfect location, with a garden to match the Wiltshire countryside. Cosy, well-appointed room and faultless, friendly service throughout our 3 day stay.
Breakfast and the one dinner we had during our stay were excellent; good menus and well-presented food. One minor niggle - less lighting in the dining room would add to its ambience.
No hesitation in strongly recommending Howards House either just for dinner or to stay for a few days - already looking forward to another visit!

Room Tip: Have stayed in rooms 1 & 2; both overlook the beautiful garden with a perfect view of the church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tisbury, Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

A fantastic social evening at Howard's House Party supper yesterday evening. A delightful tasting meal with accompanying glass of wine for each course preceded by champagne and canapes and finished with coffee and treats.

The guests were seated in the dining room at a single large table, the courses were light and delicious and the wine for each course was perfectly chosen to showcase the food.

Excellent service and a convivial taxi to and from the venue all contributed to a lovely evening.

Next time I'd prefer the taxi to be a little more timely collecting me as I only arrived for the last 5 mins of the canapes and the cab came to collect us a good half hour before we were ready... otherwise a perfect evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent the night there and had a birthday party in the evening. A lovely hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful Wiltshire village. The food was excellent and especially enjoyed the varied breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Howard’s House is a quintessential English country hotel, quietly nestled in a stunning river valley to the west of Salisbury. We had hoped the hotel would deliver on the promise of the reviews and it did, by the spadeful.

Small but perfectly formed, Howard’s House has a homely interior, stone fireplaces, immaculate bedrooms and a glorious terrace which is graced with a view of a dreamy church spire which rises out of the valley like a miniature Salisbury Cathedral.

We indulged in the restaurant with a perfectly pitched tasting menu that was note perfect and faultless in its execution. The staff were charming and accommodating.

After lunch we went for a stroll down to the Church, past the stunning gin clear stream and fantastical topiary hedge. We only stayed for a day, but could have ensconced ourselves there for a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

An excellent venue for a long business lunch. Good food, good wine and very comfortable surroundings. Makes a nice change to have a quiet restaurant where there is no need to shout to be heard. Also easy to have confidential conversation.

Very good indeed.

Robert Horsford
13/12/13

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

There is a timeless quality about Teffont Evias, a small hamlet in a valley with a brook running beside the quiet road framed by a neatly clipped cloud hedge. The spire of a small church and turrets on a, now divided, manor house complete the picture-perfect country scene. In this tranquil setting, Howard's House also has its own lovely gardens and sheltered terrace where you can sit out in the better weather. On this occasion, however, we were glad to take our tea, biscuits and cake in the lounge!

The main lounge is cosy and decorated in autumn colours with a welcoming open fire and plenty of comfortable seating. The dining room has been recently redecorated and has some interesting artwork on the walls. Rooms have also been redecorated since our last visit and are a comfortable blend of traditional and modern.

The dinner menu offers at least half a dozen choices for each course - all sounded tempting but I had the 'dish of the day' which was a whole dover sole with crushed potatoes and wilted spinach followed by a fruit souffle with icecream in a little tuille basket. Portions are just right for me as I like to have the opportunity to try three courses without feeling too full.

After a very restful night and good breakfast we left feeling refreshed and wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teffont Evias
22.2 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
9.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Teffont Evias SP3 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Teffont Evias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard`s House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Howards Hotel Country
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant Teffont Evias, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing