We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper English B&B”
Review of Bridge Farmhouse

Bridge Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Britford B&B and Inns
New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A proper English B&B”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The most memorable feature of our one-night stay at Bridge Farm was by far the breakfast. Norma is an amazing cook, and I particularly loved her mushrooms. Overall, the room was very large and well kept, and the attention to detail in preparation and decoration was incredible. Everything was coordinated, and everything you could possibly want was at hand. She even woke us up in the morning by bringing a tray of tea to our room. The ambiance of the place was a bit more formal than I would have expected, but overall it was still a good experience.

The yard/garden area is beautiful and extensive, and there are lovely nearby walking paths. We slept amazingly well due to the lack of city noise. This was great retreat into the country.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RidingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Delightful house
Delightful location
Delightful room
Delightful host
With even tea in bed in the morning......delightful.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0usly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We had a wonderful overnight stay. We were catching up with friends from Canada.and we all appreciated the comfortable feel of the place, along with the welcome, cleanliness and the fact that you had everything you needed.
The farm has beautiful gardens, is an easy walk to the centre of Salisbury, yet offers the peacefulness of the countryside.
We will readily go back at any time and are happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife and i visited in July this year and stayed at Bridge Farm after a friends wedding. We were really surprised at the size of the room when we arrived. The host Norma was very straight forward and no nonsense and very helpful.

Bridge Farm is very close to the town centre but set in lovely surroundings next to a tributary of the Avon.We took a short cut suggested by Norma and we were in Salisbury Cathedral withing 20mins of walking and that was slow meandering pace.

The breakfasts are everything you could possibly want including cooked. There are also little touches like the 'Just In Case' tin in the room. Nothing is too much trouble and for the price you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in Salisbury.

Farm shop and riding school are opposite we didn't use either but heard glowing reports.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damiencannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Found this B&B via the internet because we wanted to visit Salisbury. What a find! The setting was absolutely gorgeous, amoungst horse paddocks, on the river Avon (in the beautiful back garden) and still very close to Salisbury itself. There is also a lovely farm shop where they sell fresh and organic items. Norma herself is a very entertaining and sweet person, who also recommended us a lovely 'olde worlde pubbe' to have our evening meal. It was very good! The rooms are absolutely fantastic, large and with a nice modern shower room. Maybe the only little point of critisism is that our room had two extremely ugly chairs in it! Also in the little sitting room for the guests the chairs looked as if they were from an old people's home. But of course that didn't spoil things at all! Also the breakfast was very good. If we ever visit the region again we will certainly book this B&B and stay a little longer.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitWolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Bridge Farm - Norma was extremely informative and helpful and our room was enormous with a very comfortable king size bed and lovely view over the garden. Breakfast was lovely and the area was wonderfully rural even though you are so close to Salisbury city centre. Only possible thing i could say is that the shower was not very powerful but other than that couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank klwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Having just returned from a long weekend in Wiltshire, I can hand on heart recommend Norma's fine B and B. The location is ideal, being away from the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to walk there. The B and B was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a guest sitting room and kitchen where you could help yourself to tea and coffee at any time. The welcome was exceptional and the advice given about local things to do and see, superb.

We've travelled all over the world and stayed in many different B and B's but nowhere before had we found a little tin labelled "just in case". Peering inside there was an array of items which might have come in useful - headache tablets, needle and thread, sticking plasters...you get the picture. Oh and for anyone like me who cannot resist a jigsaw puzzle, there's always one on the go in the kitchen, you can ignore it if you wish but the urge to fit "just one piece" was difficult to resist. As I said it's the little things!

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufflands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Britford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.9 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Farmhouse

Property: Bridge Farmhouse
Address: Lower Road, Britford, Salisbury SP5 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Britford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Britford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Farmhouse Britford, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing