We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was even better than we hoped for.”
Review of Bridge Farmhouse

Bridge Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Britford B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We had a wonderful overnight stay. We were catching up with friends from Canada.and we all appreciated the comfortable feel of the place, along with the welcome, cleanliness and the fact that you had everything you needed.
The farm has beautiful gardens, is an easy walk to the centre of Salisbury, yet offers the peacefulness of the countryside.
We will readily go back at any time and are happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife and i visited in July this year and stayed at Bridge Farm after a friends wedding. We were really surprised at the size of the room when we arrived. The host Norma was very straight forward and no nonsense and very helpful.

Bridge Farm is very close to the town centre but set in lovely surroundings next to a tributary of the Avon.We took a short cut suggested by Norma and we were in Salisbury Cathedral withing 20mins of walking and that was slow meandering pace.

The breakfasts are everything you could possibly want including cooked. There are also little touches like the 'Just In Case' tin in the room. Nothing is too much trouble and for the price you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in Salisbury.

Farm shop and riding school are opposite we didn't use either but heard glowing reports.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damiencannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Found this B&B via the internet because we wanted to visit Salisbury. What a find! The setting was absolutely gorgeous, amoungst horse paddocks, on the river Avon (in the beautiful back garden) and still very close to Salisbury itself. There is also a lovely farm shop where they sell fresh and organic items. Norma herself is a very entertaining and sweet person, who also recommended us a lovely 'olde worlde pubbe' to have our evening meal. It was very good! The rooms are absolutely fantastic, large and with a nice modern shower room. Maybe the only little point of critisism is that our room had two extremely ugly chairs in it! Also in the little sitting room for the guests the chairs looked as if they were from an old people's home. But of course that didn't spoil things at all! Also the breakfast was very good. If we ever visit the region again we will certainly book this B&B and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AnitWolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Bridge Farm - Norma was extremely informative and helpful and our room was enormous with a very comfortable king size bed and lovely view over the garden. Breakfast was lovely and the area was wonderfully rural even though you are so close to Salisbury city centre. Only possible thing i could say is that the shower was not very powerful but other than that couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank klwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Having just returned from a long weekend in Wiltshire, I can hand on heart recommend Norma's fine B and B. The location is ideal, being away from the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to walk there. The B and B was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a guest sitting room and kitchen where you could help yourself to tea and coffee at any time. The welcome was exceptional and the advice given about local things to do and see, superb.

We've travelled all over the world and stayed in many different B and B's but nowhere before had we found a little tin labelled "just in case". Peering inside there was an array of items which might have come in useful - headache tablets, needle and thread, sticking plasters...you get the picture. Oh and for anyone like me who cannot resist a jigsaw puzzle, there's always one on the go in the kitchen, you can ignore it if you wish but the urge to fit "just one piece" was difficult to resist. As I said it's the little things!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lufflands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

It was a delight to stay with Norma and her cockerel collection and the dogs Lottie and Smartie and Fred. The breakfasts were delicious. One nibble and your nobbled! The homemade yogurt with homemade preserves followed by a full English breakfast were spectacular. The owners were so helpful that they even drove us to the train station on our last day and let us down load pictures from our camera using their personal internet. Truly above and beyond. The location was perfect--a short, scenic walk into town passing by horses beautiful meadows. Two years later and we are still reminiscing about the wonderful time we had. The backyard with the running stream added to the peacefulness of the whole experience.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Elephant8Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

A dream come true. A quiet peaceful converted farm on a small river, complete with thatched roof out buildings, a farm store filled with gourmet foods and wines, and a friendly pony mascot. Innkeepers/owners Chris and Norma have been at it for 20 years and it shows; they were attentive, informative, incredibly helpful and charming, without hovering or ultra-inquisitive like some inkeepers. Countless thoughtful touches in the rooms, delicious breakfasts and lots of tasty snacks and teas available anytime. Just minutes from Salisbury, away from the noise of the city. Would highly recommend to anyone. PS: They also have holiday cottages that are specifically handicapped accessible. Peter and Elizabeth Maryland USA

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank elizalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Britford
0.9 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
912 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
1 mi away
The Chapter House
The Chapter House
#6 of 59 in Salisbury
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Farmhouse

Address: Lower Road, Britford, Salisbury SP5 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Britford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Britford
Price Range: $150 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bridge Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Farmhouse Britford, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing