We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in shipping containers”
Review of Kaiteri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaiteri Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed in shipping containers”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived at Kaiteri Lodge towards the afternoon and were given a hostel bed in a shipping container around the side. I would be okay staying in the shipping container if they didn't charge us the same price as the normal room, but we got no discount and were not told at the time of check in what the accommodation would be like.

I complained to the manager and she was quite rude, telling me that I should have got there earlier. That there was nothing she could do, and that I should be grateful she accommodated me.

Inside the facilities were quite nice and clean. However the shipping container was overly cramped, sleeping 8 people, and quite cold due to the lack of insulation.

Luckily the beach was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19-_Mat-Mat_-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello there, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The units pictured are temporary rooms that we've hired for the summer months to accommodate our Kiwi Experience backpackers. They are most commonly used for groups wanting to stay together instead of being separated when we are fully booked. We are the only accommodation provider in Kaiteri with affordable backpacker rates. Because of this we reach peak capacity over the summer season. These units allow us to maximise our facilities and because of this you were able to stay in a prime location, the doorstep of Kaiteriteri Beach. As the manager of Kaiteri Lodge I do not recall having the conversation you mentioned. We do our best to explain the nature of this accommodation to each traveller when we check them in. I apologise if this was not made clear to you at the time and further for the rude way you felt you have been treated. We pride ourselves on our customer service and endeavour to meet the needs of everyone staying with us. All of our guests have access to the same kitchen, bathroom and living areas regardless of where they sleep. We wish you all the best for your future travels, thanks from the team at Kaiteri Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
11
38
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in a room with a private bathroom in December 2013 for 2 nights. There was a bunk bed and a queen bed and it was fairly poky in the room, but everything was clean. Bathroom was a good size. The room had a small fridge and kettle for making tea and coffee. Our room was right at the front of the lodge on the ground level and with windows on two sides it felt as if we were in a goldfish bowl, with people constantly walking past ( it was very busy at the time we stayed). The communal kitchen was a bit untidy, and there always seemed to be a shortage of forks. The first night two of us had to eat our meal with a knife and spoon as there were no forks to be found. Also I didn't appreciate having to scrape other people's food scraps out of the sink before I could wash up our dishes - but I guess that's part and parcel of staying in a backpacker lodge. There were signs around the kitchen stating that no alcohol was allowed on the premises, but there were a few half empty bottles of wine scattered around the kitchen, so I'm not sure whether that was correct. Another irritant was the fact that a lot of people smoked in the outdoor eating area. All things considered I thought this lodge was expensive - but maybe because it is in what seems to be a very popular holiday spot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AngeC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello, thanks for your feedback! I'm sorry you weren't happy with our kitchen, it gets cleaned twice a day and we do our best to encourage guests to clean up after themselves. Yes, Kaiteri is a very popular holiday destination and because we are so close to the beach we get a lot of holiday makers in the area enjoying the sunshine. All the best, from the team at Kaiteri Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two night as a couple and stayed in a double ensuite private room, The room was clean if a little bit small the bathroom was adequate and had a bit of a funny smell in there. The shower's hot and we were given towels on arrival which is nice there wasn't much space to store your backpack or suitcases which meant tripping Over them every day! However we have a fridge kettle and a TV which made the stay more enjoyable. The lodge itself is clean and tidy however the communal kitchen is very small not enough workspace for the amount of people it takes, the beach was literally one minute away and was lovely and there was a walk to the lookout points and also minigolf course opposite the lodge which we made full use of for $5! The staff were very friendly the bar staff friendly also we ordered food the second night and it was very nice and large portion, we would stay here again if we passed by again and would recommend it to friends lovely little accomodation on the beachfront can't go wrong! Thanks for a nice stay :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahkatie1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello, thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and its good to see you made the most of the beach and activities that are right on our doorstep. All the best for your future travels, from the team at Kaiteri Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for only one night with Kiwi Experience and was put in an 8 bed dorm with 5 guys and a couple (a bit overwhelming when my first night in a mixed dorm was the night before!). So I asked to move to a less male room at the front desk and the lady was really nice and understanding and moved me straight away.
The rooms are really clean, as are the bathrooms and the kitchen, could do with a few more pots though as everyone eats at roughly the same time!
There's a living area with a small TV, some computers and a coin operated massage chair.
Conveniently next door to a bar/restaurant, although didn't visit so not sure what it's like - they do deals with the hostel thought for meals and drinks.
There's a big convenience store right around the corner which sells everything you need for a quick stopover, mini golf and flying fox right across the road; and it's situated next to the coast where I was able to get an Aqua Taxi to the Abel Tasmin National Park (about 15-20mins away on water).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanospatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello there, thank you for your positive feedback! We do our best to meet the needs of all of our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers, from the team at Kaiteri Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hostel is located right on the edge of Abel Tasman National Park and would be a good starting point if you were planning to trek around or through it.

We arrived here late on one of the nights and all of the restaurants and bars were unfortunately closed. The receptionist did mention that it was a shame though because the bar usually had cheap drinks and the food was good. The room that we were in had four bunk beds and we barely had enough room for the seven of us in there. There were communal showers and toilets throughout the hostel and I know a few rooms had an ensuite bathroom.

The beds were comfy although the bunk beds were smaller/lower so it would be difficult to sit on if you were a bit taller. The heater in our room didn't happen to work well but since it wasn't that cold, it wasn't a big deal. The problem was the one outlet for the seven of us sharing the room. We had to take turns charging items.

The kitchen has a few pots and pans but I would not consider it a decked out kitchen. There are a few burners and stoves though so you can definitely cook a full out meal.

The hostel is located right across the street from the beach and it's a very short walk to a different beach and a little walk up to a lookout point. There is a corner shop nearby and a kids' playground right next to the hostel also. I believe there was a mini golf course also but it was closed.

There are many events in the area that you can book such as a water taxi and kayaking. I didn't do any of the activities but I heard that they both were fun and worth the price.

It would be a decent stopping point for a night or so but I wouldn't consider it somewhere that I would love to stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPiggyQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Owner at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi yes Kaiteriteri is quiet in the winter months albeit out restaurant and bar are open 4 nights per week and there are still a range of water activities to do, in the summer the place is humming, we suggest in winter our customers take advantage of the unique location and enjoy the tranquillity and beautiful walks and scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We're a couple in our 20s and we stayed here for two nights with the Kiwi Experience...

Good
- Great room. We went for the private double bed and you get an en suite, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a great shower.
- Kitchen is pretty good, no complaints
- Location is ideal, less than 5mins walk away from the Abel Tasman activity folks

Bad
- Wi-fi and internet is extremely expensive
- It's not strictly speaking a 'backpacker' place; families stay here, and the adjoining bar is more of a local than a easy-going place to have a drink

Room Tip: Get a private room! It's a little bit more but it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, yes the location is special and the beaches beautiful and we are close to all activities available in the Abel Tasman national park .
The wifi is provided to us by an internet service provider and cost $5.00 for 24 hours .
We have dorm and ensuited rooms available and we are pleased to offer affordable options for different customer requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed one night here before heading into Abel Tasman. The location is great as we were able to get an early start with the aqua taxi stopping at the beach about 1 minute's walk away. The room was functional and clean with a tv and tea & coffee. I'd say this is fine for one or two nights to explore Abel Tasman, but maybe not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteri_Lodge, Owner at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your right - an awesome place to stay for location to all of the Abel Tasman National Park operators in the area - only a 1min walk away.

We certainly offer long term prices and over the summer months as well as any other time of year have families staying up to 10 nights or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.1 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
168 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 4 in Marahau
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiteri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Property: Kaiteri Lodge
Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing