We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great people”
Review of Bellbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and great people”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Bellbird Lodge was the highlight of our trip to the Nelson area. Anthea and Brian are lovely friendly people. Anthea helped organise trip details that I was unsure about and booked us in to restaurants. A great help when you don't know the area at all. The Lodge is a beautiful place - breakfast outside in the morning sunshine and in the evening wine and nibbles on the terrace. My husband and I were able to truly relax and enjoy our stay. We would gladly go back and stay again.

Room Tip: The benefit of the smaller room was the private lounge nearby for our sole use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaE760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Linda, we are delighted that Bellbird Lodge was the highlight of your trip to the Nelson area, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, we very much enjoyed meeting you both. Thank you for your lovely review, we hope we see you again.
Hope your health continues to improve Tony.
Best wishes, Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
142
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The best accommodation decision I made during my three week stay in New Zealand was my four nights at the Bellbird Lodge. It was the perfect place to rest each day after walking the Abel Tasman Track. In the morning I had the most sumptuous breakfast buffet on the verandah overlooking the water. In the afternoon nibbles with great conversation and bellbirds singing nearby. Brain and Anthea are a wealth of information of the area and assisted me with bookings. If you want comfort, beauty, charm, genuine company and a place to rest your weary feet look no further than the Bellbird Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaW3364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review Rhonda, and for your lovely words. We really enjoyed spending time with you, it is guests like youself that make our job so rewarding, we do hope we see you again.
Best wishes Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Bellbirde Lodge was the best one on our trip through NZ. The hosts Anthea and Brain are very polite, carefull, helpfull, (planning our daily tours). The breakfast buffet looks more like a 5 star hotel. We were feelling part of this nice Bellbird family. The terrace and the garden is a real paradise. When we came back from our tousr, Anthea has been offering drinks, cakes , canapes and more, all made by herself.
The rooms are decorated with nice pictures, and flowers from the garden, that made a very good atmosphere.
We recommend all to everybody to stay in this nice B&B with the wonderful hosts Anthea and Brian. When we shall ever come back to NZ we will spend more time on this wonderful place. Thank you for everything
.Helen and Reiner from Raingen, Duesseldorf, Germany.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianeRatingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Helene and Reiner, thank you so much for your kind words and your great review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved meeting you both and enjoyed your company. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to Bellbird Lodge sometime in the future. Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A true home from home, well better than home actually! Fabulous accommodation with stunning gardens and views. Home cooked food and plenty of it, even down to the picnic lunch to take on our trip to Abel Tasman which was just lovely. Anthea and Brian are very friendly and know their patch so can help you make the most of your time here. Lots to see and do and a longer stay would have been great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and your very kind words.
It is always a pleasure to help guests decide what to see and what to do, so they make the most of their stay in this beautiful area. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bellbird Lodge, we hope to see you again.
Best wishes. Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our stay with Brian and Anthea was really lovely (we had never stayed at a B & B before, so were unsure what to expect). I quite often think of the evenings we spent with the other guests and our hosts over drinks and nibbles. They provided a very welcoming environment and lots of amusing stories.

Of course, we cannot forget the breakfasts which were divine and I wish we had sampled the portobello mushrooms, but we were already so full and had a long day travelling that day.

Our room was beautiful and the attention to detail was much appreciated - torches to light our way home when it was dark, the packed lunch Anthea gave us on the morning of our hike into the park and lots of information about the area (even down to my mispronouciation of St Arnaud) It was more like staying with family, which was a lovely change to the usual hotels we stay in.

Thank you Brian and Anthea for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for two nights in January, foolishly not heeding our hosts' advice of a minimum 3 night stay. By the time we wanted to extend our stay, it was booked.
The lodge has only two lovely rooms, which means that you are treated as almost family by Brian and Anthea. When we went for a day hike, she packed us some very delicious sandwiches, apart from advices on how/what/where and making all the travel arrangements. The breakfasts are one of the day's highlights.
The room has great views and it is exquisitely detailed. The patio in the back is a nice place for a sundowner, listening to the trademark bellbirds, or for a grill if one feels like it.
One of the best places we have ever been!

Room Tip: One room has space, the other one has the view. Just ask what do you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IG_RG_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you feel that we are ‘one of the best places you have ever been’ which is high praise indeed, we really appreciate your very kind words.
There is so much to see and do in this very beautiful area that in order to fully appreciate it we do highly recommend a stay of 3 or more nights, (although we know that this isn’t always possible so we don’t have a minimum night stay policy, just a recommendation).
It was lovely to meet you both, and hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back to Bellbird Lodge some time in the future.
Best wishes
Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you want wonderful scenery, spectacular views, the best accommodation and the friendliest host and hostess in South Island, then this is the place for you. Anthea and Brian provide all that you could want and more. Their knowledge of places to visit, local restaurants was outstanding and then they would handle the booking and even take you so you could relax. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace was exceptional with convivial hosts. We plan to return and we can only echo the other people's comments here. J&R

Room Tip: Both are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Rosie-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for regarding us as ‘The place to stay on the South Island’, and for your lovely review, we really enjoyed meeting you both and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bellbird Lodge.
Helping guests decide what to do and what to see to make the most of their stay in this beautiful area, is always a very enjoyable part of the job for Brian and I, we are pleased you appreciated it.
We look forward to seeing you again-- soon. Best wishes Anthea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Lodge

Property: Bellbird Lodge
Address: Kaiteriteri--Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri, | RD2, Motueka, 7197, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellbird Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing