We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the South Island”
Review of Bellbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best B&B on the South Island”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was at the Bellbird Lodge. Everything you could want and more awaits you there. I echo the other reviewer's comments about the delicious breakfasts, snacks, treats and attention to detail. Anthea and Brian are the consummate hosts, helpful, warm and charming. It truly felt like we were staying with close friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbirdlodge, Owner at Bellbird Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it is guests like you that make our job fun and so rewarding, we do hope to see you again. Very best wishes, Anthea and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My sister and I went on a 4 night trip to see the beautiful Abel Tasman region,. This was a very picturesque setting at a lovely family owned bed and breakfast, complete with gorgeous views, well appointed rooms, and a very small and quaint feel enhanced by the owners who were so lovely and warm and helpful with planning perfect day trips (Abel Tasman, local hidden treasures including where to see the baby seals etc.), providing welcome snacks, beautiful breakfasts, evening drinks and even chocolates and deserts on our pillows. The location was perfect, very close drive to the park entrance, and we were very comfortable in this quiet and peaceful place that had a charm of it's own. I would very much recommend this to others!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We finished our recent trip with a stay at Bellbird Lodge. It was one of our favorite places we stayed. The hosts Brian and Anthea treat you like old friends. Anthea is always leaving you an afternoon snack, and chocolates on your pillow. The room was spotless, the linens were delightful, and the view breathtaking. The beds were the best of the trip. Brian and Anthea were extremely helpful with maps, planning and advice on what to do or not do. We hope to return again someday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, CO, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My daughter & I recently spent 2 nights at the Bellbird Lodge. We knew from the web site that it would be beautiful (& it was!) but what makes this beautiful B & B truly 'one of a kind' is Brian & Anthea, the owners. They made us feel like the most important guests they have ever had! They greeted us with a delicious snack and helped us plan to get the most out of our too short visit. Anthea treated us to the most delicious breakfast & evening snack each day. Brian carried the luggage, backed my car out of the driveway (no small feat!) and took the time to show us the Southern sky through his telescope. Our room was very comfortable and the fresh flowers & hand made chocolates were the 'icing' on a very beautiful cake! We stayed in many up scale B&B's during this trip but the Bellbird was by far our favorite.

Room Tip: The corner suite has a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staying at Bellbird Lodge is like spending time with good friends. Anthea and Brian are so gracious and they love what they do. They are a wonderful couple full of interesting stories and helpful knowledge about the area. The location of the lodge is perfect – up on a hill overlooking the sea. It is also a short drive to the Sea Shuttle and Water Taxi pick up spot for boat transportation to Abel Tasman Nat’l Park. The luxury accommodations are quite nice. The home cooked meals were delicious. The attention to detail added to the experience. Fresh flowers and chocolate in our room was a lovely touch. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

During November 2012 my wife, Denise, and I did a 14 day, 3000km motorcycle trip around the South Island of New Zealand. We stayed at Bellbird Lodge for two nights. We were treated like royalty by the hosts/owners, Anthea and Brian. We were spoilt with the most delicious home-made and baked snacks (nibbles), breads, croissants, chocolates etc and picture perfect scrumptious breakfasts. The early evening nibbles and wine in the delightful company of our hosts and fellow guests was very special to us. Our votes go to Bellbird Lodge as the best home-from-home establishment during our visit to New Zealand.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

In the third week of November, we stayed for two nights in this excellent lodge. It was like arriving at good friends. The room with sea view was de luxe and Brian even helped with carrying in the luggage.
Anthea and Brian were perfect hosts. And when they heard that we where celebrating our 40 years mariage, they invited us for nibbles and Champagne! Their eye for detail was unbelievable, for example the car rear window was washed every morning. During a very complete breakfast we received a lot of interesting trip information. We really enjoyed our stay and thank our hosts for their excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TvMeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Lodge

Property: Bellbird Lodge
Address: Kaiteriteri--Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri, | RD2, Motueka, 7197, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellbird Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing