We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!”
Review of Bellbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, OR, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife Julia and I spent three nights of our honeymoon here. Anthea and Brian were the perfect hosts. Their hospitality and attention to detail is what stepped our trip up from New Zealand vacation to unforgettable New Zealand honeymoon. Anthea is the perfect hostess and house-manager. No detail escapes her. Imagine a B&B host specifically baking a chocolate truffle cake and cutting out two heart-shaped pieces just to commemorate a honeymoon, or surprising us with sack lunches for our days of exploring! Brian is every bit as attentive. He will assist in any and every way, and can swap stories and converse with guests in ways that truly create a connection.

Breakfast is a wonderful surprise. One would expect the standard (stuffy/boring) english breakfast. Anthea and Brian put our an amazing array of fruit, muesli, cereal, porridge, homemade breads, charcuteries, coffee, tea, and juice. And every morning, Anthea has an additional hot breakfast option, which could be anyting from french toast to stuffed portabellas

We arrived at Bellbird simply excited about the jetted tub. We left reluctantly, knowing we will greatly miss our new friends Anthea and Brian, but excited to come back and see them again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosewood Suite. View is better from the Magnolia Suite, but the tradeoff for a jet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

It was our second stay in Bellbird Lodge and hopefully not the last. We have stayed in many places covering all continents, but we have never more comfortable, cared for, or happier... Bellbird Lodge is the place to be, the details in beauty and comfort are beyond comparison. Magnolia Suite is a delightful room with stunning views, breakfast is excellent with homemade bread and rolls and the cooked meal is just incredible. The warm atmosphere with Anthea and Brian makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were given a lovely warm welcome on our second visit to Bellbird. Tea and cakes served overlooking the bay was ideal after a day's driving.

We had a bedroom with separate sitting room/ small but ideal kitchen area, well supplied with tea, coffee and fresh milk.

Breakfast was excellent and we were blessed with good weather so were able to eat outside on the terrace. Wine and nibbles at 6 o'clock included a variety of tasty treats.

As last time, Brian and Anthea were a mine of useful local information and booked our water taxis as we needed them.

We totally recommend Bellbird as a relaxing, enjoyable, extremely hospitable B&B

Room Tip: One room has sea views, the other is a small suite with bathroom, bedroom and separate sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you know what "feeling as well as at home" means you can probably understand our personal travel experience at Anthea and Bryan's house. We felt like in a dream: a beautiful house sorrounded by an incredible landscape, two extraordinary persons ready to make our stay as much better as they make. Food, accomodation, welcome: all received at the best possible rate! Anthea and Bryan are the perfect representation of the luxury hospitality concept. It is not enough to define the Bellbird as the best place where we stayed in NZ: Bellbird Lodge has been really cuddling us for two (brief) days but we'll never forget the way they made it. When you 'll go and visit NZ you can't avoid to stop at this very warm place. Otherwise, you'll miss one of the greatest experience for a traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in Bellbird Lodge for two days during our hooneymoon in New Zealand. The place was excellent, we stayed in the Rosewood suite and it was really nice. It was not a room, but a wing of the house, with all kind of luxuries.

But what really makes the difference in this place is the attention. Brian and Anthea took care of every little detail. And this is what made this place with out of doubt the best stay during our hooneymoon in NZ. And we stayed in a lot of really nice places!

Totally recomended place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We travelled for 9 weeks on an Around the World holiday staying at a wide variety of quality accommodation and the very best from a combination of comfort, hospitality, charm and the beauty of the property was the Bellbird Lodge in Kaiteriteri.

The Bellbird Lodge is set about 3 minutes drive past the lovely Kaiteriteri Beach overlooking the spectacular view of Tasman Bay and the Abel Tasman Park. The house is modern and positioned in some very attractive gardens. There is safe off-road parking.

Immediately upon arrival we realised that Anthea and Brian were the most hospitable of hosts. It was delightful to sit outside on their patio in the sunshine enjoying the view, a pot of tea and our first taste of Anthea's wonderful cooking. They were so very helpful in helping us to maximise our 4 night stay and explore as much of this beautiful area as possible. Their tips and advice were always very sound.

Bellbird Lodge is relatively small and only has two suites or bedrooms which share a beautifully furnissed guest lounge replendent with a grand piano, extremely comfortable seating and the breakfast area. Our bedroom - the Magnolia Suite - had a very comfortable King sized double bed; TV; plenty of storage space; a safe and direct access onto our own veranda with that amazing view over the Tasman Bay to the Marlborough Sounds. A well appointed bathroon was en suite.

The breakfasts were outstanding and we were refreshed by the originality and quality of Anthea's creations - a very welcomed change from the standard fare of most hotels. We were supplied every day with one of Anthea's packed lunch - something we missed when we moved on. And upon our return from a very full day out and about in the Abel Tasman Park we were very grateful for the friendship and courtesy extended by Brian and Anthea over a glass of wine [or two] and some tasty canapes. Along with the other guests it created a spirit of a house party. Brian and Anthea were excellent at attending to the detail with suggestions on where to have dinner and Brian was always willing to drive us into Marahau and collect us later so to allow us the luxury of sharing a bottle of wine. Every evening our beds were turned down and a gorgeous home-made chocolate treat left on the bed.

We were impressed by the fresh flowers and the free use of a laptop to collect our emails and check the internet.

Based on Brian and Anthea's recommendations, we spent two days walking the Abel Tasman Park with the help of the Water Taxis. On our third day we had a fantastic trip up to Cape Farewell, Wharariki Beach and Collingwood viaTakaka Hill, Pupu Springs and the Resurgence.

We were genuinely sad to move on and retain an extremely high opinion of Bellbird Lodge as a quality place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Bellbird Lodge offered great comfort and attention to detail together with cuisine of the highest standard. Anthea's skills in the kitchen and the extensive choice on offer was a challenge we thoroughly enjoyed. Also the thoughtful and sometimes unexpected delights provided only added to our enjoyment during our 3 night stay. Having stayed in many small luxury homes all over New Zealand this certainly rates as one of the best.

Barrie & Margaret

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Lodge

Property: Bellbird Lodge
Address: Kaiteriteri--Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri, | RD2, Motueka, 7197, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellbird Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing