We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“prettiest location in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
palmerston north
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“prettiest location in the world”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the first time i have actually stayed in the camp. As a child i lived in Motueka and it was my first ever beach and when i returned 30 years later it is still my favourite beach. The camp has certainly changed in thirty years! It is huge with huge sites that fit caravan, awning and car easily.
We had the privilege of staying in the ensuite cabins which were less than a minute from the beach shore. Everything we needed was either in the cabin or in the camp kitchen. Slept like a baby and have absolutely no complaints. Note, at 85 per night for the ensuite cabin, i must point out that i didnt consider this excessive, and when you see the size of the campgrounds and the quality of the grounds and conveniences and ablutions, you have to recognise the need to not be 'CHEAP', you cant spend money on upgrading and maintaining if you are not getting the money in........ :) well worth every penny - if you plan on going during the summer season book it right now.....people have to ballot to get spots even when they return year after year so dont delay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Kaiteriteri beach is one of the best beaches you will ever visit. The camping ground is a very busy one from Xmas until beginning of February and you definitely need to book. There are changes happening at the campground over the next few years which will change the feel of it. At the moment it us an iconic kiwi campground for all ages visitors to nz should definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a site close to the front of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Garanirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean facilities, big kitchen and the car parking places were big enough for us (slept in a Toyota estima). Its a bit expensive though but yeah its a touristic spot. Staff was friendly and helpful. Just cross the street and you are directly on the beach, very nice place :)
Kind regards

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pongo-Sciurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Shared a two berth (2 bunk) cabin with my mother. Perfect for what we needed. Entire campground and facilities were spotless and very well kept. With the beach just over the road and so many activities on your doorstep we will surely be back. Just a lovely campground. Thank you team.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in advance, this place looks like it could get very busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We camped here over Xmas for 4 nights. Kaiteriteri Beach is absolutely stunning with its golden sand and safe swimming beach (even safer up the estuary bit). I can't imagine why anyone would care at all what the campground is like, getting to stay there is an absolute privilege compared with spots like Motueka or Nelson with limited aesthetic appeal. Yes, it is busy and it should be, but the sites are relatively large compared with many campgrounds and they have a fairly high number of toilets and showers if compared again. Facilities are very clean and pretty much no campground in NZ has pots and pans generally, previous grumpy reviewer, hence all campervan rental places supply them. If you think you'll see pots anywhere, you won't, so get over it. For those concerned about the road between the campground and the beach, don't be - there is very little beyond here so very little through traffic really. This campground is conveniently placed for day trips into Abel Tasman nat park, grab a kayak or a water taxi or combo of both for a day trip, or drive to Marahau (next bay round) and walk a couple of hours along the Abel Tasman track to get to some lovely beaches. Also can easily walk in to the gorgeous bay with Split Apple rock between Kaiteriteri and Marahau. Best to get a water taxi out further then walk back for a great day trip and most will take you out to see the seal colony on Tonga Island as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week, the site is good and facilities clean but way too busy, more like a car park. Loads of kids rushing around making an awful noise. We had to lock our van up and go for a walk on the beach 'till it was 10.30, when making noise is restricted and thankfully observed. Abel Tasman is fantastic and we took the taxi to Medlands Beach and walked to Anchorage then got picked up and taken back to Kaiteriteri, really great! Off season I imagine this would be a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Of course the situation is the best, right on the beach. We stayed in a small cabin and the amenities were clean and well maintained. There was a problem at the camp which was no fault of the management, but they handled it very professionally and although we didn't expect a discount, they compensated us well beyond what we expected because they wanted us to enjoy our experience of this beautiful area. If you need a place to stay with warm staff, then I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.1 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaiteri Lodge
Kaiteri Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp

Property: Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Address: 5 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing