We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended - Great base for visiting Abel Tasman”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Split Apple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Split Apple Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended - Great base for visiting Abel Tasman”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed for three nights at Split Apple Lodge and highly recommend it. Bert and Paulette are exactly the type of people who should be running a place like this, relaxed, generous and friendly.

Everyday they seemed to put out little extras, small cakes, chocolates, fruit etc. One day we mentioned to Bert we needed to pick up some picnic supplies and he provided everything we needed to make a sandwich and suggested we go out to their garden to get some lettuce! They even compost, what more could we ask for?

Like everyone else, we came to walk in Abel Tasman and the walking was wonderful. The first day we walked into the park and the second it was very easy to catch a boat and to organize a pick up further down the trail.

We thought the lodge was a very good value and we particularly liked the ocean view rooms which have lovely decks outside. It's well located between Maraha and Kaeteriteri which gives you a few extra options for restaurants.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anthropology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
134
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

If you visit Abel Tasman Park, make sure you stay at this unique location! Paulette and Bert make it your home. A very familiar atmosphere from beginning to end. Do not expect just hotel service. It is much better! All attractions of the national park can be explored from Kaiteriteri, which is just a 10 min drive away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg_Thielmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I were planning to do some hiking in Abel Tasman and we were looking for a place close by to the park. The split apple lodge was exactly what we were looking for. Great views, extremely close to Marahau and high quality rooms. The breakfast in the lodge was great especially when served outside on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninaboston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Excellent place to stay. Close to Kaiteriteri, but nicely secluded and relaxing. The deck is brilliant for sipping wine in the evening and gazing at the stars. Bert and Paulette are excellent hosts; friendly and full of stories. The unexpected fishing trip with as finale the BBQ-Ed catch was very nice.

Would we recommend this place? Absolutely!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Bert and Paulette are absolutely fantastic hosts - their friendly and welcoming attitude and genuine desire to ensure we had a great stay meant that they were considerate at all times - giving us as much or as little privacy as we wanted.

They were knowledgeable about the various attractions in the area and were able to give lots of information / travel routes etc. Also offering their own activities (fishing and horse riding) just adds to the overall experience at this property.

The lodge is just beautiful. Such a high standard of quality and even the minor details are covered which just makes the holiday even more relaxing. The surrounding area is a real treat - a chance to really enjoy nature at its best.

Staying at the lodge is a definate "must" - it has been our most enjoyable holiday within New Zealand and we are looking forward to visiting again soon.

The most disappointing thing was having to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Split Apple Lodge is a great find! Paulette and Bert are fantastic hosts and made us feel like old friends and part of the family. A relaxing and homey place with lots of space and the most beautiful views out of every window! Sunset is incredible! We enjoyed our stay very much with Paulette and Bert - fishing in the morning with Bert was the most memorable experience, with Bert's expertise and direction we caught the best and biggest fish! And riding the ponies with Paulette in the afternoon through the forest all to ourselves was heaven on earth! We highly recommend a stay at Split Apple Lodge and we'd love to return again and bring our family and friends! The most hospitable place, great food and great company. This place scores top marks (and I'm usually a tough person to please!). We have the best and warmest memories of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomaddiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.3 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Lodge

Property: Split Apple Lodge
Address: 370 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Split Apple Lodge, nestled amongst five acres of tranquil bush just ten minutes drive from either beautiful Kaiteriteri Beach or the splendour of Abel Tasman National Park. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the Tasman Bay right up to the night lights of Nelson, walk through the park setting gardens and enjoy the retreat. Split Apple Lodge offers boutique and unique accomodation for New Zealand travellers who expect the most on their precious journey. At 100 metres above sea level we have breathtaking views from every window. Emphasis is placed on tranquillity, and we invite you to walk around the property, enjoy the park-like setting with breathtaking views, step back to a mediation area or simply relax on the extensive deck with a glass of wine and some local cheese. To ensure the comfort of our guests there is a separate guest entrance, lounge, dining area and private decks. Guests enjoy a separate lounge and dining area with tea and coffee facilities. FREE WIFI and fax. Guest TV, CD, and DVD Player. Large guest deck with separate seating areas. ​6 bedrooms (double, twin) including one disabled room, our lodge can accommodate 12 guests in total. All our rooms have en suites and spectacular views of either the sea or the mountains. Sea view rooms also have doors opening onto semi-private decks. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and either sea- or mountain views. The sea view rooms come with a private balcony. Goose down duvets and duck down & feather pillows ensure a good night's sleep. All rooms have ceiling fans, hair dryers, heaters, electric blankets and clock radios.  We serve a continental breakfast including a choice of cereals, freshly baked croissants and fresh local fruit in season. We do cater for all dietary needs on request - we bake our own (gluten free) bread and serve homemade marmelade.  For dinner, there are restaurants and takeaways in either Kaiteriteri or Marahau, plus a small general store in Kaiteriteri. In shoulder seasons & winter we're happy to cater dinner (please enquire). Enjoy a glass of wine while relaxing on the spacious deck, watching the sunset. Or when it's colder, snuggle up next to a warm fire in the guest lounge.  EVENTS At Split Apple Lodge you will meet an experienced team to accomodate all your requests. Individual weddings, family gatherings, customized functions and events, seminars, corporate events, business venue options and themed group accommodation such as sporting, mindfulness or leisure. Full catering available on request. Nelson Airport & Motueka Shuttle available on request. Fully organized vacation including all touristic attractions can be booked in advanced and scheduled to your convenience. Whatever you need - please talk to the team at Split Apple Lodge and we will find a way to make you happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Split Apple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing