We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Peaceful with Great Views”
Review of Split Apple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Split Apple Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Paulette and Bert looked after us so well - caring and attentive never intrusive or demanding.
It's more than a B&B it offers a spacious lounge, TV, DVDs, free WiFi, a well equipped kitchen, a telescope and plenty of places outdoors to eat, drink and chat.
The place sit on a hill and has great views. It's simple, spacious, isolated and tranquil.
Lovely place to be escape the crowds in Kaiteriteri during school summer holidays!
It's a 10min drive to the beautiful Kaiteriteri beach - and the same time to the quiet Marahau Beach which we preferred.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themilkybarkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Split Apple Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

This lodge sits in the top of a hill with tremendous views. The hosts Paulette and Bert could nit have been nicer or more helpful. Good bathrooms and showers. Comfy beds , free wifi ( not always found in NZ) laundry room and lots of fresh fruit with breakfast. No complaints at all

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This is an awesome place. The breakfast is superb. Fresh fruits, croissants. Real coffee. And a sight from the Abel Park to the ocean!!! Recommend it heavily. Shared living room with leather sofas, a terrace bigger than a basketball field.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gerdschwaderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is truly a unique place in New Zealand. We spent two amazing days here and it is a superb lodge to stay at. Bert and Paulette are top of the notch hosts, and if you're visiting New Zealand: do not doubt, this is THE best choice to make. The welcome was warm, the rooms clean and spacious, the living room with a fire place very cosy and the HUGE television screen (plus all the Lord of The Rings DVD's next to it) came in very handy on rainy evenings indeed ;).

The views from anywhere in the lodge are spectacular as it is built on a hill so you can see the ocean from one side and green hills from the other. It's ideal for visiting the Abel Tasman National Park from, to relax and enjoy nature to the fullest with a luxurious touch to it. Bert and Paulette will tell you everything you'll ever wanted to know about anywhere in New Zealand as they've been and travelled everywhere in their amazing country.

We can't thank you enough, Bert and Paulette, for making our honeymoon stay so nice, and we'll be back when travelling to New Zealand in a few years time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gtimez811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's a narrow winding road to get here, but the rewards are great! Bert and Paulette are very welcoming and friendly, the views are fantastic and the rooms are clean, new and comfortable. We enjoyed the patio (with lots of seating areas) on a sunny evening and the large common room later. The breakfast is nice and coffee is always ready. The kitchen area is well -equipped and spacious. Add on good access to Abel Tasman activities and this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Both mountain and sea views are good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In a month long tour of New Zealand nothing matched this place for location, welcome or atmosphere. Well placed for all the attractions of the Abel Tasman and with a feeling of calm and spaciousness given by the wonderful outlooks in both directions it should not be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Bert and Paulette created a little slice of heaven on earth up on top of a hill. The views from up there are fantastic, the lodge itself is perfect with everything you need. The bonuses were 1. Bert & Paulette's great hospitality 2. The beers 3. An amazing telescope where we got a spectacular view of the the moon up close. We had booked one night, but decided to stay a second night because it was just so relaxing up there. Lounging on our balcony with some beers and looking out at the bay after a day of kayaking - can't beat it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.3 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Lodge

Address: 370 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road | Rd2, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range: $141 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Split Apple Lodge, nestled amongst five acres of tranquil bush just ten minutes drive from either beautiful Kaiteriteri Beach or the splendour of Abel Tasman National Park. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the Tasman Bay right up to the night lights of Nelson, walk through the park setting gardens and enjoy the retreat. Split Apple Lodge offers boutique and unique accomodation for New Zealand travellers who expect the most on their precious journey. At 100 metres above sea level we have breathtaking views from every window. Emphasis is placed on tranquillity, and we invite you to walk around the property, enjoy the park-like setting with breathtaking views, step back to a mediation area or simply relax on the extensive deck with a glass of wine and some local cheese. To ensure the comfort of our guests there is a separate guest entrance, lounge, dining area and private decks. Guests enjoy a separate lounge and dining area with tea and coffee facilities. FREE WIFI and fax. Guest TV, CD, and DVD Player. Large guest deck with separate seating areas. ​6 bedrooms (double, twin) including one disabled room, our lodge can accommodate 12 guests in total. All our rooms have en suites and spectacular views of either the sea or the mountains. Sea view rooms also have doors opening onto semi-private decks. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and either sea- or mountain views. The sea view rooms come with a private balcony. Goose down duvets and duck down & feather pillows ensure a good night's sleep. All rooms have ceiling fans, hair dryers, heaters, electric blankets and clock radios. We serve a continental breakfast including a choice of cereals, freshly baked croissants and fresh local fruit in season. We do cater for all dietary needs on request - we bake our own (gluten free) bread and serve homemade marmelade. For dinner, there are restaurants and takeaways in either Kaiteriteri or Marahau, plus a small general store in Kaiteriteri. In shoulder seasons & winter we're happy to cater dinner (please enquire). Enjoy a glass of wine while relaxing on the spacious deck, watching the sunset. Or when it's colder, snuggle up next to a warm fire in the guest lounge. EVENTS At Split Apple Lodge you will meet an experienced team to accomodate all your requests. Individual weddings, family gatherings, customized functions and events, seminars, corporate events, business venue options and themed group accommodation such as sporting, mindfulness or leisure. Full catering available on request. Nelson Airport & Motueka Shuttle available on request. Fully organized vacation including all touristic attractions can be booked in advanced and scheduled to your convenience. Whatever you need - please talk to the team at Split Apple Lodge and we will find a way to make you happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Split Apple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing