We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's a narrow winding road to get here, but the rewards are great! Bert and Paulette are very welcoming and friendly, the views are fantastic and the rooms are clean, new and comfortable. We enjoyed the patio (with lots of seating areas) on a sunny evening and the large common room later. The breakfast is nice and coffee is always ready. The kitchen area is well -equipped and spacious. Add on good access to Abel Tasman activities and this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Both mountain and sea views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

In a month long tour of New Zealand nothing matched this place for location, welcome or atmosphere. Well placed for all the attractions of the Abel Tasman and with a feeling of calm and spaciousness given by the wonderful outlooks in both directions it should not be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Bert and Paulette created a little slice of heaven on earth up on top of a hill. The views from up there are fantastic, the lodge itself is perfect with everything you need. The bonuses were 1. Bert & Paulette's great hospitality 2. The beers 3. An amazing telescope where we got a spectacular view of the the moon up close. We had booked one night, but decided to stay a second night because it was just so relaxing up there. Lounging on our balcony with some beers and looking out at the bay after a day of kayaking - can't beat it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in March. The common area is a huge room with a super-clean kitchen, espresso machine, fridge for guest use, large TV, DVD, sofas, etc. The view from the lodge is magnificent. Very quiet and very clean. The guest rooms are modern (as in clean, new , and comfortable). Large en suite shower. Large deck outside with several tables/chairs. Even though everything is new and the design is modern, all in all this place feels like home. No more than five minutes drive from Kaiteriteri. The owners are very friendly and know the area well. I wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place to stay!
I stayed one night and liked it so much, that I came back later and stayed another 3 nights.
Bert and Paulette have created an excellent place for their guests. Beautiful views from the main deck, lounge room, and private decks. On one site views at the hills and forrest, at other side view at Tasman Bay (rooms with seaview have private decks).
There is a path into the forrest across the driveway to the B&B. Beaches are a 5-10 minute drive away, f.e. Kaiteriteri, or lovely beach at Split Apple Rock.
Start of the Albert Tasman track is also a 5-10 minute drive away.
It is a very peaceful and quiet place. Night sky is fabulous; for those who come from places where there is so much light pollution it is impossible to see the Milky Way: go outside at night, look at the sky and be amazed.
Breakfast; very nice continental breakfast, with cerials, muesli, yoghurt, croissants, toast and fresh fruit. Breaksfast is eaten at one large table, good opportunity to exchange stories with other guests.
Bonus; afternoon snack, such as crackers and cheeses, or fish pate from fish Bert caught. And also a moment to catch up with other guests.
Room: queensize bed, best bed I have slept on in NZ (not too hard), with a nice down duvet, that added to the luxury feeling of the place. As there are many facilities in the huge guest lounge, do know that the room is quite minimal in regard of facilities. No tv, music, coffee and tea facilities in the room. But that also made it peaceful = clutterfree. Good wifi reception (free) in the room.
Of course there is always room for improvement, but to me the following points should not be a dealbreaker, as it is such a lovely place.
- I would have expected a handheld/detachable shower, not a fixed shower, in regard of the quality of the place and rates.
- lounge chairs / sunbeds on the deck, at least on the private decks; to watch the stars or relax in the sun. Current deck furniture is made out of very nice wood, but is only for sitting.

Room Tip: I loved the private deck with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing views, very clean, and spacious rooms! Bert and Paulette are very friendly and helpful with reservations and suggestions and they let us take their bikes out for rides! We would have loved to stay there longer! This is the place to stay in Abel Tasman for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ever so often you come across something so exceptional that you extend your stay. That was the case with this B n B. It was our second choice but how lucky can you get! Wonderful, friendly helpful hosts were Bert and Pauline. Very clean and attractive rooms and a plentiful breakfast as well as small cheese and cracker tray were provided. Laundry facilities were especially appreciated. The thing that stood out for us was the magical memory of standing on the deck in late evening with other guests and the hosts, searching the skies for the Southern Cross, Milky Way with large telescope which was provided. Daytime views were equally stunning either sea or mountain views. We hope to be back someday to enjoy this experience once again.

Room Tip: Any room on either side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.3 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
241 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 6 in Kaiteriteri
178 reviews
6.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa

Address: 370 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road | Rd2, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Price Range: $149 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views over the Tasman Bay and the Abel Tasman National Park Hills - Split Apple Lodge boutique Ecotel & Spa (from 2018) sits on top of it all, right between Marahau and Kaiteriteri Beach. From the first to the last ray of sunlight you will enjoy various seating areas with great views - inside and outside, and absolute tranquility above one of the most beautiful parts of New Zealand: The Abel Tasman National Park. The popular Lodge is run ecofriendly and was fully renovated and refurbished in 2016 & 2017 and features three spectacular Sea View Rooms with private balconies, and three Mountain View Rooms with sights of the Abel Tasman Hilltops. A new and luxurious two bedroom apartment is available for families or friends travelling together. Inhouse massages, yoga lessons and activities nearby are available on request. ​ From January 2018 onwards guests will enjoy complimentary SPA access whilst enjoying the most beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing