We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected hilltop delight”
Review of Split Apple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Split Apple Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An unexpected hilltop delight”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived in Kaiteriteri without prior reservations and found our way to the Split Apple Lodge through a recommendation. We were delighted with the hospitality. The modern, spacious and spectacularly sited lodge really lend themselves to providing guests with privacy as well as communal time and space if you want it. It is set apart from other bed/breakfast options in that it is not right in town - and this is a plus, from our perspective. It is easy to get from the Lodge to a few different restaurants for lunch and dinner, and also easy to get to the middle of Kaiteriteri for launching into day trips and activities of many kinds.

Room Tip: No bad rooms! Mountain views on one side, sea views on the other, with semi-private deck space to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
136
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Words cannot describe how wonderful this Lodge is. Foremost the friendliness of Bert and Pauline and their desire to see that you have the best time possible in Abel Tasman. They make each guest feel welcome and special. The views from the rooms, main lounge/breakfast room and porches without parallel. We had the sea view and our friends the mountain view. Do not hesitate to take either, as all the view spectacular. Although their are balconies on the sea view side, the front porch balcony offers a wonderful place to sit, have a coffee or late afternoon drink and enjoy a 360 degree panoramic view of the ocean and rooms. The breakfasts were wonderful and gave a chance at the table to speak to the other guests and hear their recommendations for outings. The ability to do ones laundry just an added benefit. Would recommend staying here without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Either Mountain view or sea view great. Don't hesitate to take either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_and_sunToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a great second stop on our honeymoon and a great location to stay when traveling to Abel Tasman. The views are spectacular! On one side of the lodge you have gorgeous views of the mountain and the other side you have fabulous views of the bay. We had a sea view room with a great porch that we sat on each evening and had a nice glass of wine and read a book. Each morning we had a great breakfast in the main living room with the other guests, which was wonderful. It was also a close drive to Marahua where we had a great dinner and took out our sea kayaks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafredrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the three mountain view rooms of the lodge, all are next to another. The room was large and very clean, with a large window providing excellent views to the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was quite small, but ok for the two of us. The three sea view rooms all have a private deck that is not completely separated from the neighbors’ deck. The common verandah provides outside sitting space with superb views to the sea.

Breakfast is served from 8-9 am only and provides fresh fruit, toast, butter, croissants and jam. Guests sit together on a large table for breakfast. Owners Paulette and Bert presented some extra stuff like home-baked muffins for breakfast or cinnamon-walnuts during daytime –everything was very delicious. You can use the coffee machine during the day also and there is a fridge for all guests to put your things to chill in.

It takes an easy and comfortable 10 minutes drive to Marahau to get the water taxis into the Abel Tasman NP and a 5 minutes drive to get access to the 20 minutes track to Split Apple Beach.

All in all, a great choice and absolutely recommended. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return for our next stay in the area!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms have a large window, sea view rooms a private, but not completely separated deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first accommodation on arrival in NZ and one of the best we experienced in our 18 day trip. A faultless stay, smoothly run by a dedicated & welcoming couple, Bert & Pauline. Beautifully presented rooms, lovely views and communal areas where you can relax, meet other traveller or make a cuppa. If you are looking for a tip-top base to explore the area from Nelson, Abel Tasman and up to Cape Foulwind, then look no further. Take a look at sandra7979's review, a fellow traveller we met at Christmas in the lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderful B&B located on top of small ridge ..one side overlooks mountains the other Tasman Bay...Bert and Pauline were wonderful host ...spotless ..everything looks nearly new..free wifi.laundry and Bert also lent my husband a tool. Beautiful relaxing spot.Very nice breakfast..we enjoyed homemade carrot /raisin muffins.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are visiting the Abel Tasman area, I can't imagine there would be anywhere better to stay. The grounds, rooms, and hosts make Split Apple simply amazing. Our hosts, Bert and Paulette, made us feel right at home from the very start. Since all of the local resturants were closed during Christmas, they prepared a wonderful Christmas BBQ for their guest, something that was certainly not expected, but VERY much appreciated. For breakfast each morning, they had a tasty spread of high quality, continental style foods (fresh fruit, granola, croissants, toast) and espresso style coffee. All guests dined at a long, family style table, which provided the perfect opportunity to swap travel tips iand interesting stories. The rooms were spacious, modern, and incredibly clean. We had a sea view room with a balcony, and the view was absolutely spectacular. The location of the B&B is secluded, which provided the perfect setting for relaxation and to appreciate the beauty around you. The common area (deck) has a great high-top table and two-seater wooden swing to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Although the lodge is secluded, it is not far from town (5 minute drive) and was very close to the Split Apple Rock beach, which is a must-see. All in all, a great experience. Thanks, Bert and Paulette!

Room Tip: There is not a bad view from this place. Sea view or mountain view, you can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.3 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
170 reviews
6.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Lodge

Property: Split Apple Lodge
Address: 370 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road | Rd2, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Split Apple Lodge, nestled amongst five acres of tranquil bush just ten minutes drive from either beautiful Kaiteriteri Beach or the splendour of Abel Tasman National Park. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the Tasman Bay right up to the night lights of Nelson, walk through the park setting gardens and enjoy the retreat. Split Apple Lodge offers boutique and unique accomodation for New Zealand travellers who expect the most on their precious journey. At 100 metres above sea level we have breathtaking views from every window. Emphasis is placed on tranquillity, and we invite you to walk around the property, enjoy the park-like setting with breathtaking views, step back to a mediation area or simply relax on the extensive deck with a glass of wine and some local cheese. To ensure the comfort of our guests there is a separate guest entrance, lounge, dining area and private decks. Guests enjoy a separate lounge and dining area with tea and coffee facilities. FREE WIFI and fax. Guest TV, CD, and DVD Player. Large guest deck with separate seating areas. ​6 bedrooms (double, twin) including one disabled room, our lodge can accommodate 12 guests in total. All our rooms have en suites and spectacular views of either the sea or the mountains. Sea view rooms also have doors opening onto semi-private decks. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and either sea- or mountain views. The sea view rooms come with a private balcony. Goose down duvets and duck down & feather pillows ensure a good night's sleep. All rooms have ceiling fans, hair dryers, heaters, electric blankets and clock radios. We serve a continental breakfast including a choice of cereals, freshly baked croissants and fresh local fruit in season. We do cater for all dietary needs on request - we bake our own (gluten free) bread and serve homemade marmelade. For dinner, there are restaurants and takeaways in either Kaiteriteri or Marahau, plus a small general store in Kaiteriteri. In shoulder seasons & winter we're happy to cater dinner (please enquire). Enjoy a glass of wine while relaxing on the spacious deck, watching the sunset. Or when it's colder, snuggle up next to a warm fire in the guest lounge. EVENTS At Split Apple Lodge you will meet an experienced team to accomodate all your requests. Individual weddings, family gatherings, customized functions and events, seminars, corporate events, business venue options and themed group accommodation such as sporting, mindfulness or leisure. Full catering available on request. Nelson Airport & Motueka Shuttle available on request. Fully organized vacation including all touristic attractions can be booked in advanced and scheduled to your convenience. Whatever you need - please talk to the team at Split Apple Lodge and we will find a way to make you happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Split Apple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing