We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”
Review of Split Apple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Split Apple Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent three nights at Split Apple Lodge and were very impressed with the building, location and breakfasts. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with great views. One problem - there was no wardrobe or indeed any kind of storage space for clothes apart from a wooden rail measuring approx 30cms sticking out from the wall with four small holes for coat hangers! Living out of a suitcase is not ideal for long haul travellers such as ourselves.
We were very surprised that our room was not serviced (what we would expect from a B & B, as we were not self-catering) and this was not explained to us on our arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splitapplelodge, Owner at Split Apple Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. Since your stay we have purchased 2 tables with drawers for 2 rooms and are looking at a duchess for a third. We have tried not to compromise the spacious feel of the rooms by cluttering them, but we realize quests sometimes like to unpack and have a place to put their clothes.
In regard to room service, we do provide cards in each room to be hung on the outside door if required.As a rule we don't go into guest's rooms unless asked, but in future we will make sure to tell guests the cards are there. Also we endevor to tell guests on arrival that they need only to knock on our door for any enquiries or requests.
We are relatively new to running a B&B and welcolm any comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
136
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights relaxing at Split Apple Lodge...
Bert and Paulette are great hosts who give you your space but are there when you need them.
The interaction with other guests was entertaining and informative as we were all 'travelling'.
If you do make it here you must go to the 'Fat Tui' in Marahou... Probably the best burgers in the world (including vegetarian)...
Would certainly book again if we were in the area.
rory@rorywoolridge.com

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

What a beautiful place...we loved it and wished we were staying longer than 2 nights. We were amazed by the totally peaceful location and the fantastic views it afforded.......Bert and Paulette were great hosts, so welcoming and helpful, they deserve every success with their lovely B and B. Everything we needed was available, we would definitely stay again and again if only it wasn't so far away!....You would have to be an extremely picky person to find fault.

Room Tip: We had room looking over the forests and mountains at the back , if there was a next time we'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_Paul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I recently spent three wonderful nights at Spilt Apple Lodge and found the place so welcoming and restful. Nothing was too much for the hosts and the superb lodge and little extras made it a lovely place to stay. It's a wonder that not a lot of Kiwi's have found this beutiful lodge

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was the most amazing place we found all was perfect - could even cope with the sandflys. Great continental breakfast. Spacious room mountain views spectacular. Generous communical areas balcony and decking all round to the sea view. It's worth going to New Zealand just to stay here

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This brand new lodge is situated a bit outside Kaiteriteri with lovely views over the bay and into the hills. The rooms are big and clean, nicely decorated and very well furnished. We enjoyed the kind hospitality of Paulette and Bert in this very relaxing place. The lounge and kitchen area is extremely spacy, with tasteful modern furniture - and we enjoyed the fireplace on a rainy day. Somehow it felt like home ....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We spend two excellent days (three nights) at the Split Apple Lodge which is named after a rock on a nearby beach which looks exactly like a split apple. As mentioned in the other reviews, we were warmly welcomed by Bert and Paulette who took good care of us during our stay. The lodge has a fairly unique design with a fairly large common area and a huge deck with beautiful views of the sea and mountain. The rooms are not very large but nicely appointed and the bed was one of the best that I have ever had in an hotel. On the slightly negative side, the room did not have any place to store our belongings, except for a foldable arm to put a few hangers, so everything had to be kept in our luggage

Room Tip: The additional money to get a sea side room is well spend not only for the view but also because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.3 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Apple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Lodge

Property: Split Apple Lodge
Address: 370 Kaiteriteri-Sandy Bay Road | Rd2, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Split Apple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Split Apple Lodge, nestled amongst five acres of tranquil bush just ten minutes drive from either beautiful Kaiteriteri Beach or the splendour of Abel Tasman National Park. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the Tasman Bay right up to the night lights of Nelson, walk through the park setting gardens and enjoy the retreat. Split Apple Lodge offers boutique and unique accomodation for New Zealand travellers who expect the most on their precious journey. At 100 metres above sea level we have breathtaking views from every window. Emphasis is placed on tranquillity, and we invite you to walk around the property, enjoy the park-like setting with breathtaking views, step back to a mediation area or simply relax on the extensive deck with a glass of wine and some local cheese. To ensure the comfort of our guests there is a separate guest entrance, lounge, dining area and private decks. Guests enjoy a separate lounge and dining area with tea and coffee facilities. FREE WIFI and fax. Guest TV, CD, and DVD Player. Large guest deck with separate seating areas. ​6 bedrooms (double, twin) including one disabled room, our lodge can accommodate 12 guests in total. All our rooms have en suites and spectacular views of either the sea or the mountains. Sea view rooms also have doors opening onto semi-private decks. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and either sea- or mountain views. The sea view rooms come with a private balcony. Goose down duvets and duck down & feather pillows ensure a good night's sleep. All rooms have ceiling fans, hair dryers, heaters, electric blankets and clock radios. We serve a continental breakfast including a choice of cereals, freshly baked croissants and fresh local fruit in season. We do cater for all dietary needs on request - we bake our own (gluten free) bread and serve homemade marmelade. For dinner, there are restaurants and takeaways in either Kaiteriteri or Marahau, plus a small general store in Kaiteriteri. In shoulder seasons & winter we're happy to cater dinner (please enquire). Enjoy a glass of wine while relaxing on the spacious deck, watching the sunset. Or when it's colder, snuggle up next to a warm fire in the guest lounge. EVENTS At Split Apple Lodge you will meet an experienced team to accomodate all your requests. Individual weddings, family gatherings, customized functions and events, seminars, corporate events, business venue options and themed group accommodation such as sporting, mindfulness or leisure. Full catering available on request. Nelson Airport & Motueka Shuttle available on request. Fully organized vacation including all touristic attractions can be booked in advanced and scheduled to your convenience. Whatever you need - please talk to the team at Split Apple Lodge and we will find a way to make you happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Split Apple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing