We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tuscan food”
Review of Le Vecchie Cantine

Le Vecchie Cantine
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Chianni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Friesland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great tuscan food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great food. Great atmoshere. Nice outside area! We recommend it! Be sure to make a reservation though!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaSoHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Responsabile reception at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear HaSoHa
thank you so much for your lovely "greats"!!!! We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    111
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but slightly overpriced and sour waiters”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was tasty and I liked the choice, but the waiters weren't very pleasant, and we waited rather long for the menu, then for them to take our orders, then finally the food. Our sympathy towards the waiters didn't get better once we saw them trying to kick away a very thin and pregnant stray cat that came to find some food (we were sitting outdoors). We and a customer at the next table ended up feeding the cat under the table while the waiters couldn't see it.
Compared to other places in the area, we paid almost twice as much, and the quality wasn't much better. The place looks nice, though, and you kind of expect higher prices just by the look of it. Nice for a romantic dinner, but not for an everyday meal on a budget holiday.

Helpful?
2 Thank Adelina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mmmmm. Mmmmm. Good!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I went to Le Vecchie Cantine for our fifth wedding anniversary. A beautiful Tuscan evening, terrific Tuscan food. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Suzanne S,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were delighted to know that you had a lovely night and that you appreciated your meal.
Looking forward to having you soon again at Le Vecchie Cantine!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“ality Restaurant in small village”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was a great surprise to find a modern, top class restaurant in the middle of the old village area of Chianni. Even better was the quality of the food and service at this excellent restaurant. As the night’s were getting cold, we sat inside for dinner. The surroundings were spacious and elegant.
The menu has a good range of choice. After some complimentary starters, including a small glass of prosecco, we shared truffle and cheese bruschetta for an entree, and followed up with pastas for mains accompanied by the house white. The bruschetta was unlike anything we had had before – shavings of truffle on toasted bread, with a selection of chesses, small dishes of fig and apricot jam, and a fresh fig, all served on a breadboard type platter. The truffle was not particularly to our taste, but as an overall dish, we were very happy with our entree. The single serving was more than enough for the two of us.
The pasta mains (pine nut ravioli, and pepper penne) were excellent. Sometimes Italian pasta servings can be overwhelming, but these were just the right size.
The only disappointment was the desert. What I thought might be a restaurant-made ice cream dish, turned out to be a commercial ice cream bar – served with the foil wrapper still on the plate. Completely out of character with the rest of the meal.
Service was generally very good. The restaurant got a little hectic towards the end of our meal, resulting in a delay in getting our bill. Without any prompting or reminding from us, the waiter apologised for the delay and offered complimentary liquors while we waited. In the end they discounted the total bill ($50 euros).
Overall a very good meal and an enjoyable night out. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Direttore at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear ChrisandJudy1000,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed review about our restaurant.
First of all, we were very glad to hear that on the overall your experience at Le Vecchie Cantine was positive.

We always prefer to offer reasonable servings, so that a client who wants to discover real tuscan food can pick more than one option. Thank you for noticing that.

We are very sorry that you didn't appreciate the dessert: the "panna cotta" and the "tiramisù" are made by the cook, but we can't make homemade ice cream.

We hope to see you again here at Le Vecchie Cantine!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident following a day discovering the Toscanna countryside, and went back 4 times.........totally scrummy!! The menu was comprehensive, we felt resonably priced, with attentive staff. The owner, we were told, makes his own wine which was delicious. Le Vecchie was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 459Hayday459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Direttore at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear 459Hayday459,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We were very happy to read you keep a lovely memory of your experience at Le Vecchie Cantine!
We hope to see you soon again!

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vecchie Cantine also viewed

Chianni, Province of Pisa
Chianni, Province of Pisa
 
Casciana Terme, Casciana Terme Lari
Terricciola, Province of Pisa
 
Lajatico, Province of Pisa
Chianni, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Le Vecchie Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing