We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising”
Review of Hotel Nempanzu

Hotel Nempanzu
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soyo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nempanzu
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soyo
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Last visit in Soyo dated from 2010.
Great news : the Nempanzu is the best (and only) Hotel in town except the old one on the base.
Food is acceptable and service ok.
Great for Angola!
280$ per night but no internet working : have to use you Unitel data credit instead.
Only 1 negative point : part of the Portuguese team, at the reception believe they are working at the Ritz and, as usual, are not well educated considering international standard.

Room Tip: stay there for lunch, stay there for diner, no other restaurant in town except accepting risks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrasbourgPhil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I flew via Luanda top Soyo, had a terrible experience in Luanda Expensive, bad hotel experience, to arrive here at the Nempanzu, to a really pleasant time.
The room was clean and airy, the reception friendly and open.
The food was great.
The pool side bar and dinner area acceptable and pleasant.
A really unexpected pleasure.
The only downside, the internet is free but very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for better internet connection- if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nempanzu was my accommodations for 9 days in April on business. It is really the only show in town, and seems to be the preferred hotel of the local oil/gas operations. Being US, my standards have grown from traveling internationally have been elevated, so I did alot of reading on Soyo before arriving. The town is very um, low income - but not faulting. Security may be a bit of a scare to anyone who has never been here, however there is security on scene at all hours of the day, and during my stay there was never an issue with security.

The rooms were very adequate. Again due to prior standards, first impressions were a bit disappointing, but after a few days, I knew what to expect and then dealt with it just fine. The rooms are clean and maintained, air conditioning works adequately, showers and bathrooms function properly. There is a pool and outdoor seating area, however due to high temperatures I didn't venture out there (and the somewhat fear of flies and mosquitoes).

Food - the restaurant was my dining experience every morning and evening. The breakfast buffet was actually pretty adequate. The dinner buffet was very high priced and not very appetizing, so I chose to order off the menu quite often. There is a decent selection on the menu, but honestly most of the food was pretty sub-par. You also need to get tough and not let flies on food bother you if that's a hang up.

Service - top notch. Everyone here seemed to go out of their way to help out and sincerely be concerned if there was ever an issue - from the front desk, to the restaurant, laundry services and management. Please give props to Antonio from Portugal, he was extremely friendly and helpful and knew my name from day 1.

A little disappointed that they really don't run air conditioning in the hallways and lobby, so on a hot day, it is very muggy and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Pool view is better aesthetically
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Having stayed in the Nempanzu on business on a number of occasions, I have been disappointed with this hotel which, to be fair the hotel is a nice hotel to stay in, however, there is much needed to improve the service once staying in the hotel.
I have ordered room service many times, and have to say that the majority of times it is warm rather than hot, and the last time it broke the camels back………….I had ordered room service the night before, and as usual it came in thirty minutes, which is acceptable, however, again, was not as hot as it should be. The last time I ordered room service, I stressed that the food must be hot, and thirty minutes later it was delivered to my room only for it to be cold yet again. This time, I went back with the plate to the restaurant and asked that they heat it. On leaving the resteraunt, I met a member of the hotel management and pointed out that the food being sent out to the rooms is unacceptable, and at the low temperatures is an ideal temperature for food poisoning and a few days staying close to the bathroom and a double pack of toilet paper. Long story short…..i had to wait over two hours for my food which by this time was ridiculous. I had returned to the restaurant a further time and on speaking to the same member of management, he asked me to identify the waiter that served me……As I pointed out to him, why make a scapegoat out of a waiter rather than looking at who is responsible for the food coming from the kitchen, namely the chef!!!

Further issues again regarding the restaurant….The hotel have a terrible terrible habit of pouring you a glass of water, and then to charge you five dollars for the privilege!!!
If you got to the gas station, you can pick up a gallon of gas for a fifth of the price of a glass of water!!

Again, when we look at the buffet that is served, you will find that the food is kept warm under i9nfra red heat lamps, as I mentioned, warm and not hot, again a breeding ground for bacteria and the risk of food poisoning. Further to the, with the colour from the heat lamps you cannot tell what is in the dishes, so beware of the buffet.
There are a number of places close by which i would recommend that you dine in and avoid the risk dining in the Nempanzu.

Lastly, when checking out, I was given a bill to sign for which had items dating back two months, and I had only stayed there the two nights, so please please please check your bill as there is a high chance of being over charged as my colleagues and I have had to put up with.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank murdothejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Segundo andar onde ficam as Suites com vista para o Rio Zaire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank José Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sigbjorn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista o rio são mais interessantes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raquelvdasilva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soyo
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Oui Hotel
#2 of 2 in Soyo
3 reviews
14.2 mi away
La Beviour
La Beviour
#1 of 5 in Muanda
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinwica Resort-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nempanzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nempanzu

Address: Rua do Matadouro s/n | Cx Postal nº64, Soyo, Angola
Location: Angola > Zaire Province > Soyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soyo
Number of rooms: 102

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing