We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mansion del Lago
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only 30 feet from the San Pedro dock.
Just walk straight up from the dock... hotel is on the left side... up the stairs.
About $10 a night. Great value.
A great place to stay at if you like to be in the busy central part of San Pedro.
Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for really wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks while we studied Spanish at San Pedro Spanish School (also highly recommended) All the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Don't stay here for the advertised jacuzzi or gym. Neither have been used for some months. Rooms have great huge balconies to relax on and take in the vibe of the place. The central location gives you great access to restaurants & a great pub across the road. You have to expect a little noise that goes with this, but the noise of the Tuk-tuks trying to ascend the hill is quite loud at times.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Pros: location near the dock and in the center of town, views from the patio, wifi access
Cons: rooms are antiquated, bathrooms somewhat dirty

I actually liked this property. I enjoyed waking up in the morning and looking out across the lake. My first stay I paid 80Q (about $8US) and the room sucked. This was a room in the middle of the second floor. It was small. The second time I asked to stay on the top floor and paid more (100Q). The third time I went back I got the top floor nice room with a view for 75Q. I was backpacking solo at the time.

There is nothing really special about this place but is an outstanding value in my eyes. Sure there are other places in San Pedro that are cheaper and possibly nicer but I found this place to be a great place to explore San Pedro and be my base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The guide book recommended it, but I would not. The location's great and their website makes the place look nice, but really it's moldy, the bathroom had plumbing issues, and if the hot tub on the roof is hot, so is Greenland.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We didnt actually end up staying here, but when we were in San Pedro we were looking for a better place to stay than the place we were at (Hotel San Francisco) and this looked great...from the outside. Externally it looks like a lovely big hotel and it is situated right next to the dock. We asked if we could have a look at one of the rooms. Now considering that we were asking to view a room so that we could book to stay there, you would assume that what they showed us was one of their best rooms, which makes me feel sorry for people who ended up staying in one of their not-so-great rooms.

We went into the room and instantly were hit by the awful smell of mould and damp, the result of a huge damp patch on the wall (about 1mx2m). the furniture was antiquated and shoddy and yes, they had a TV, but it was one from the 1980's I'm sure!

Worse than that, they wanted 200Q total for the room (a triple), which given the cheapness of San Pedro is a complete rip-off.
For somewhere better to stay in San Pedro la Laguna, i recommend Jarachik (see my other reviews).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We checked into this place based on a recommendation by a friend. We got a good rate and a nice, clean room. We checked in and went for a walk, about an hour later we decided to head back to the room to change. Our door was slightly open and when we stepped into the room, we caught the hotel employee who had checked us in rifling through our backpack! It was a very unpleasant surprise, we called the hotel owner who assured us this was the first time any such thing had ever happened at his hotel. Yet he didn't yell at his employee or even look all that surprised. In fact, the only thing he seemed concerned about was getting a bad review from us. While all we wanted to do was get our money back and leave, he kept stalling us claiming he didn't have the key to the money box (turned out to be untrue anyway), repeating over and over again that we shouldn't mention this incident to anyone.
He even got on the phone to tell someone else about the angry 'muchacha' who might give him a bad hotel review. Instead of complaining about his employee who was caught redhanded!
I didn't like the whole situation one bit, and especially not the way the owner handled it. Would never go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This hotel was recommended by some travel books as a basic clean hotel in a convenient location. But other than the convenient location (near the dock) we were very disappointed with the room. The room was small, mattress was of poor quality and we could feel the springs within, the bathroom was tiny and smelled and the shower curtains were slightly mouldy. We initially were going to spent 2 nights but moved out after the first night to Hotel Maria Elena which was just down the road and had much bigger, cleaner rooms for a more reasonable price.

Also, their website has outdated room rates and the current rates are almost double of what is quoted on the website. The hotel does not have much of a lake view and advertised hot tub did not seem to be functioning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solola
4.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
503 reviews
8.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
488 reviews
8.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Lago

Address: San Pedro la Laguna, Solola 07001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Solola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our clean, comfortable rooms, enjoy a cup of fresh coffee in our internet cafe, or unwind in our rooftop jacuzzi. We are the perfect home from which to base your explorations of Lake Atitlán. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mansion Del Lago Guatemala/Solola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing