We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb pod and warm hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ardgour, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb pod and warm hosts”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Pods were ideal. Wanted to stay somewhere I could easily access Ben Nevis to climb on my 50th birthday. Came up here with Kate(my wife) and Mirren(my daughter) and Tara(my dug). We were given such a warm and friendly welcome from John who runs the shop and his sons Reece and Cillian(sorry about the spelling). Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our holiday special. Thanks very much guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the people
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Many thanks for taking time to review the pods. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We genuinely enjoy meeting people and was a delight to welcome you. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoozieCol...
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming with a wonderful view”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for three nights with my husband and friends on a special trip to climb Ben Nevis to celebrate our big Birthdays. After many years of proper camping under canvas, our pod provided some very welcome additional comfort. Very clean and cozy, we certainly felt warm and enjoyed the luxury of en suite facilities. Our only suggestion would be to provide a few more hooks to hang wet clothes on, as we did get soaked climbing Ben Nevis!
We weren't lucky with the weather, but John provided such excellent hospitality, he couldn't have done more for us. The warmth of the welcome from him and other locals, plus such beautiful scenery more than made up for it. The local shop is the hub of the community and John provided us with fantastic breakfasts each day and heaps of useful information about where to go and what to see. A very memorable weekend, we will be back I'm sure.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffieMo
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved these Cozy Pods!”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The pods were perfect. Could of easily stayed for longer. I was really surprised at how large they were inside. I have stayed in wigwams in the past, but these were a lot better esp because of the bathroom with the toilet and shower. The location is beautiful and there is a wee shop only 1 minute walk away which sells hot food too. I got a lovely breakfast to start my day off. Izzy was a great host, she couldn't of been anymore helpful. There are plug sockets which came in handy to charge my phone. We were staying here as it was close to Ben Nevis. I would defo stay here again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to review the pods. You would be welcome to come back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing time, could have stopped all week!”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

These pods are fantastic! Stopped there for one night, breathtaking views, had some deer right outside the pods, along with a couple of friendly goats!

The pods were warm, clean and cosy! Perfect!

The views were amazing out to the islands and we got some beautiful photographs from there!

Izzy was a wonderful host and came to greet us when she came to take some pictures of the amazing sunset! The rest of the locals that we met were all very friendly helpful and welcoming!

Would definitely stay here again for longer and would recommend the walk through the woods to the ferry stop! Thanks again izzy (and the other residents)! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thanks for reviewing the pods, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would be welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNDee
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Host”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Yes, it deed feel like we knew Izzy much before. A lovely friendly lady, very kind and helpful. The pods are very clean, and comfortable. We loaned sleeping bags to keep warm. Lovely location- (albeit we got a lot of cloudy sky). It isn't a campsite but may feel like pods in the back gardens of the cottage but well if you don't look back you wouldn't know you were in a village.

A couple of goats of neighbour were nice to watch. We even saw a few red deer one early morning.
The walk to the waterfall from the forest is a must do- although if you want to go right up to the waterfall itself wear good walking shoes.

There is a shop in the same site- we had breakfast there one morning and was good.

Ferry to and fro- speak to Izzy if that is your only concern about booking this place. Well even if you decide to drive all the way- it is a long way but I'm sure the view will be beautiful (can't swear by that as we drove late in the night but the road is just by the loch so I'm sure it will be a good drive)

Also- highly recommend her daughter's Thai restaurant in Fort William- lovely food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you so much for the review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee-Lou...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Last minute August Bank Holiday Weekend Booking”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We left it until the very last minute to book something for four of us, hoping to climb Ben Nevis over the bank holiday weekend. We arrived very late on Friday evening, and Izzy was very accommodating. They even came out after midnight and helped us unload the cars and find our lodge in the dark. We then spent all Saturday climbing Ben Nevis, and went home around lunch time on Sunday.

This is a short ferry ride across the loch to reach the base of Ben Nevis. However, when the ferry isn't running (it wasn't when we reached the area) it is a much longer drive. The ferry does however run throughout the day, most days. And when it is running, it is an ideal location for an climbers to stay.

It's not luxury by any means, but it's clean, basic, warm and dry with a hot shower and a flushing toilet - which after spending the day outside is exactly what we wanted. There's even a pub within walking distance, and a shop very close by.

The lodge contains 1 double bed, and 1 single bed. However there was 4 of us, and Izzy was fine with one of us sleeping on the floor, as the other lodges were all booked up. There's also a kettle, and an adequate amount of storage space for baggage. All in all it's a great place within close distance of Ben Nevis and much better than camping.

Oh, and the best bit - the views. Amazing blue Scottish skies, and fantastic scenery. Not to mention this was fantastic value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect for a quiet trip away with epic scenery. Stayed there 4 nights which was easy and comfortable in the cabin.

The Cabin
Very sweet space, plenty of room for a double bed and storage for your bags on the opposite side. There is a little heater which does a great job at getting the place cosy quickly! As it was raining some days we were there this came in handy, although would have been good to have something to hang wet clothes on to dry. So perhaps bring something for that. The tea area was handy for prepping food/ making cups of tea and keeping all our food together. There is no fridge but we only bought small supplies of milk so was fine for us.

The area
This is quite a special spot. It's surrounded by hills with a couple of friendly goats in the field next door. The shop is right behind making it easy to get last minute bits if needed. We had a car so we explored a lot and found it easy catching the ferry to and from. The shop can help you with some tickets so don't forget to ask.

Great quality for your money and lovely people all around. Well worth it!

Thanks!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing