We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View!”
Review of Inn at Ardgour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Ardgour
Ranked #1 of 2 Ardgour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there together with my father (28-29/4 - 2013) during our short Highland road trip. The Inn is located in a small town, probably only inhabited by Sheep's. Lovely. And the view. True wonderful, we felt like being on the beach when we looked out.
Also a lovely restaurant. Excellent classic pub food.

Frederik

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank-you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you thought our food was excellent. There are a few people as well as the sheep, but the numbers are probably pretty equal!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 456 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Trying to find a hotel that can take the dog and the family in one room is not easy, but the Inn at Argour worked well. The large family room contained two double beds and bunk beds as well. The food was excellent and we had a few drinks too. Next morning the full Scottish breakfast was wonderful. The service throughout from reception to the restaurant was first class!

They charged £120 including breakfast for a family room that had a double bed, a single bed and a set of adult size bunk-beds.!! Dinner and drinks did not add too much. Recommended stopping place for anyone heading north to Skye.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBrown1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank-you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the service was worthy of a particluar mention. Hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here with kids and a small dog, and the service could not have been more friendly and helpful. We arrived a bit late due to traffic, and the owners went out of their way to accommodate us by fitting us into the restaurant right away. The food was fresh and delicious. The rooms were perfectly nice and had great views on to the loch. It's a gorgeous part of the world and a very nice hotel to stay in to appreciate it.

Room Tip: The loch-facing rooms are beautiful, but the ferry starts early and may wake you up. Still worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartree259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank-you for your kind review. We always try our best to accommodate everyone and are pleased our efforts were appreciated. The ferry can be a disturbance for some people, but what a lovely view to be woken up to!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for an interesting little hotel with old fashioned service, stay at the Inn at Ardgour. We did - for one night. Parking is right beside the hotel. Our room was cozy and overlooked the ferry landing just across the road. The next day we took the Corran Ferry en route to Glen Coe.

Our pre-dinner drink in the traditional pub was warm and the service was great, as we were invited to look at the restaurant menu, and make our choices before being invited to our table. Dinner was quite good and well served. Breakfast the next day was prepared in the kitchen to order.

A good place to stay if you are in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank-you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My fiancee and myself came here as part of a tour around the west highlands and the Inn does not disappoint. We drove off the short ferry crossing and the inn was right there. We were shown to our room which gave us stunning views of Loch Linnhe. The room was at the front and you could hear the ferry but it wasn't loud and you didn't really notice it.
The food here was amazing. My Fiancee had the venison which she said was the best she had ever had and I had to agree. I had the fish which was gorgeous.
The service here was also really good and the staff very welcoming and friendly.
We willl definately be back here as the is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemimaPuddleduck_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank-you for your kind review. It is always nice to know when people have a good time. I am pleased that you both enjoyed the venison and that you felt the service was worthy of a mention. We all hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my husbands stand out favourite hotel on a holiday where it seemed we stayed in too many hotels. The Inn at Ardgour is right next to the Corran Ferry which I share with you as our GPS couldn't find the address. The views from the hotel across the loch are stunning and make for a beautiful evening walk experience. The hotel itself is family run and absolutely charming. yes the rooms are a little dated but sleep came easily and our night there left us refreshed. Check in was smooth and well organised as was check out. We had dinner in the restaurant and the whole meal was lovely. Breakfast was enjoyable, made even more so by the allocated window table so we could enjoy the view. Every staff member was friendly and kindly. Personal fave of the evening was kicking back with a drink in the residents lounge after dinner as was a pre dinner drink in the dog friendly bar. Would stay here again without hesitation. NB: If you're looking for a hotel with old world service, friendliness and charm, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Red Squirrel room which whilst dated was clean and comfortable and faces the loch bearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank-you for your review. We are pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay. If you visit us again, although all the rooms face the loch, if you would particularly like room five, please don't hesitate to ask. If it is available we will be happy to allocate it to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Ardgour recently on a family vacation, and it was one of our favorite stops. Loved the ferry ride. Loved the family room (although the bunk beds squeak!). Loved dinner in the pub. Loved talking with the owner and regulars in the bar on a Friday night. Loved that our pre-teen & teenaged sons could wander to the waterfront to skip stones. Loved that we felt like we were in a "real" place, not just another tourist stop. Our discussions of a return trip have included... "Well, we can stay at Ardgour, and....."

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank LizardSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank-you for your review. It is always good to know when people have appreciated and enjoyed what we are trying to achieve and offer.
I will have a look at the bunk-beds and see what I am able to do to eradicate the squeeking.
We all hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardgour
1.7 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
680 reviews
5.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.2 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
718 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ardgour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ardgour

Address: Ardgour, Ardgour PH33 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardgour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardgour
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Ardgour 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run lochside Inn with stunning views across Loch Linnhe towards the entrance to the Great Glen. Bar, loch-view restaurant and cosy residents lounge along with ample free parking on site. All rooms are en-suite and have loch views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Ardgour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ardgour Hotel Ardgour
Inn At Ardgour Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing