We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recomended hotel/inn”
Review of Inn at Ardgour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Ardgour
Ranked #1 of 2 Ardgour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recomended hotel/inn”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for those wanting out of the way. Great value, family run and very friendly.
Only criticism I can think is breakfast can be a bit slow if you're in a rush, but I'd rather have that with cooked to order than the buffet breakfast at a lot of places. The food is local quality produce, cooked well in good portions.
Motorcyclist friendly with a great drying room if needed. Overall a great base to explore Scotland during the day and eat/relax in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, General Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank-you for your review of the Inn. Your comments are appreciated. The breakfast situation we are endeavouring to improve by adding another person in the kitchen on days when most of the rooms are booked. It can still be slow when compared to a buffet style breakfast, but we prefer to cook fresh to order to maintain a higher standard. Thank-you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    158
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
111
222
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stunning location, just off the ferry. Room was immaculate with great views and staff were welcoming and very friendly. Slight hitch at dinner when mains arrived before starters but battered haddock was superb. Breakfast freshly cooked and eaten wuth a view, as was dinner. Dog friendly too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, General Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies about the mix-up with your starters and we hope it did not spoil your enjoyment of the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Outstanding views, especially the night skies and a fantastic location which more than made the visit worthwhile and memorable; but aside from the beautifully clean linen the rest of the furnishings were very dated and dingy with the whiff of staleness in the corridors, the whole place could do with a breath of fresh air. Apart from the very pleasant young restaurant staff hospitality - or even a smile - was non existent.The bar and dining room were deathly quiet and dull and the was food very average and pricey for the quality on offer.

Room Tip: Wasn't aware there was a choice! However, upstairs facing the loch for beautiful morning and nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpling_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience here. Just a shame you didn't mention anything at the time. Then we would have known we were miserable and would have smiled more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've just stayed for a night and booked a family suite for 5. The Inn is just in front of where the Corran ferry docks in Ardgour, and just a 20 minute drive from Fort William, and so the location is excellent for visiting the area. The ferry takes under 5 minutes and costs £7.30 each way.
The view from the rooms are fantastic as they overlook the lake and even though the ferry docks right outside it's not too noisy.
The Inn is a bit tired and dated. The first suite we were given admittedly wasn't ideal as it was just two adjacent rooms with no door or partition so there wasn't any privacy and the toilet didn't flush properly and one of the bulbs had gone. We were then moved to the adjoining suite which had a small passage connecting the two rooms which was better and the bathroom was larger too.
The breakfast was good with the option of smoked haddock or kippers too!
It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futomaki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are sorry you did not like the family rooms and found the decor tired and dated, especially as both rooms you stayed in were redecorated in February 2013. The toilet in your first room was working fine, we have no idea why it didn't do so for you. Other people have since stayed in the same room and all have been asked if they had any problem with it. All have said no. Light bulbs don't last forever and are easily changed when requested. Our suites are laid out exactly as advertised and we make no mention of doors between rooms, in fact we state that the opening between rooms is just that, an opening.
Once again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Trying to find a hotel that can fit a family of 5 comfortably into one room is a challenge. I came across this hotel when looking for somewhere to stay on our journey to Skye.
The Inn at Argour fitted our needs in terms of room size and I knew the children would be excited by the fact there was a short ferry ride on the way to make things interesting.
All in all this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at – the room was a great size and had two double beds and bunk beds. It was simply furnished but had everything that we needed.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was superb and the breakfast wonderful. The service throughout from reception to the restaurant was fantastic.
We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldscapetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckermet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Choose this hotel because it is one of the few Hotels that cater for dogs, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, we booked a table in the bar as the dogs were allowed in there, the food was very good, the vegetables were fresh and the venison cooked to perfection. The room was very good with a nice view down the loch. Although on the ground floor the ferry noise was not annoying, in fact didn't notice to much.

As we had to be away early we did not want to wait for breakfast, so we asked foe a packed lunch instead and it's one of the best we have had. The night cost £106 which included 2 dogs, B&B and 4 drinks, we stopped at a travel lodge on the way back (only because it was 4 hours from home instead of 7) they charged £57 for the room, £20 for each dog a total of £99!! no food or drink, the room was very basic with old furniture and no view and the staff ok but nothing special.

Thanks to you all at the Inn at Ardgour.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank malcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our Inn. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the food. Packed lunches are available to all, either instead of or as well as breakfast. Just place your order the night before at reception or the bar. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

You alight from the short ferry crossing across the road into the car park -very convenient. Friendly staff & very good food both in the evening & for breakfast. However we had a few problems - little heating in the room & only a small heater in the large bathroom in which the socket for my electric razor didn't work. The shower head dropped down constantly which resulted in partial flooding of the bathroom. The latter 2 problems were quickly rectified. Wi-fi we were told was only available in the residents lounge - hence the possiblility of no privacy which we required speaking to relations abroad.
However overall the Inn can be rcommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would be happy to recommend us. To answer your problems, we are always happy to supply portable heaters to anyone who feels the rooms are not heated adequately. Please ask at reception. The wi-fi issue is a difficult one. We only receive 1/2 mb broadband here so any wi-fi is slow and ponderous. If we made it available in the bedrooms it would be so "watered down" as to be useless. A pilot scheme is being run in the area at the moment by a local company with a view to establishing a 20mb broadband lnik for this area. We hope to have it installed later this year and will then be offering wi-fi in all bedrooms as well as the public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardgour
3.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
3.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
687 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ardgour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ardgour

Property: Inn at Ardgour
Address: Ardgour, Ardgour PH33 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardgour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardgour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Ardgour 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run lochside Inn with stunning views across Loch Linnhe towards the entrance to the Great Glen. Bar, loch-view restaurant and cosy residents lounge along with ample free parking on site. All rooms are en-suite and have loch views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Ardgour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ardgour Hotel Ardgour
Inn At Ardgour Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing