We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay and good food”
Review of The Inn at Ardgour

The Inn at Ardgour
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Ardgour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family-run, loch-side Scottish Inn. Stunning views across the water to the mountains beyond and the entrance to the Great Glen. We offer traditional Scottish Pub food made using quality ingredients. No nouveau cuisine here, just good old-fashioned, tasty pub grub to warm and fill you on a West Highland day.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay and good food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed just the one night as a stopover on our holiday in Scotland. We were very impressed by the rooms, very spacious and bathroom was clean. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day ahead. We had a evening meal in the bar, which we all enjoyed, I would recommend the venison casserole it was delicious. The only thing I did not understand was that the Inn is dog friendly, allowed in bedrooms and bar but not the residents lounge, we wanted to take our bottle of wine into the lounge after dinner to relax on the comfy looking sofas but was not allowed to, I could understand this if there was others in there who do not like dogs but it was empty. Never the less i would recommend this place to stay and to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at The Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank-you for your review. I am pleased you found the Inn to your liking and enjoyed the food. The lounge at the back of the Inn is kept "dog-free" so that there is somewhere for those residents who might be allergic to dogs or who simply don't like to be near them. We have requests many times every year for bedrooms that have not had pets in, usually for allergy reasons. The lounge is an extension of this requirement. I am sorry you found it an inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    12
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a wonderful setting!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food was gorgeous one of the best meals I Had on this holiday we have been twice already and hope to go again before we leave. The service was excellent with friendly staff.good views out over the loch wish the tables had been aligned so we could see out of them. Overall excellent meal will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at The Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our Inn. We endeavour to provide good food in a pleasant environment at all times and it is nice to know when we achieve our aim. The layout of the tables is a difficult one as the restaurant is quite small and we need to try and accommodate as many as we are able to. Whenever possible, we give guests a table with a view. Unfortunately, this is not always possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Execllent place”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is now the third time I have visited this place and I can tell you, the inn is in fantastic location with excellent views. The food is good and the staff friendly.. the breakfast is very tasty (great local sausages).. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes a decent food, in a great place, with good value.. If i can, i will be coming back!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Owner at The Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank-you for your review. It is good to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another excellent stopover”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great little Hotel with lovely rooms, excellent food and very friendly staff. All this with a view over the Loch and dog friendly too! A great stopover or short break.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merlin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at The Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid - much better closeby”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wandered in on a Sunday evening at about 20.00 expecting to order food - despite the fact that the place wasn't exactly heaving with people all tucking into their bar meals (hint!) we were told that it would be at least 30 mins before they would even take our order! Highland hospitality and service - not at its best!

Given the somewhat depressing atmosphere in the bar and the mediocre range of ales on offer, and the likelihood of missing the last ferry if the rest of the service was of the same standard, we opted to leave and took the next ferry.

The Four Seasons Country Pub and Restaurant at Onich provided a lovely welcome, superb food and wonderful, friendly bar staff. We spent over £60 and will use it again on our frequent trips to this wonderful area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OH_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlife, Manager at The Inn at Ardgour, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review the Inn. I am sorry we were unable to accomodate you for dinner at a time that was convenient for you. As previous reviewers here have verified, our food is cooked from fresh in a small kitchen so we are only able to produce a certain number of meals at a time. It would be easy to take orders as people arrive and simply let them wait for their food. I prefer my staff to tell potential customers an accurate assessment of their waiting time when they first ask for menus. That way, if they do not feel they would like to wait, or if, like you, they have to catch a ferry, they can make an informed decision. Some wait, some leave. In response to your other comments about the Inn I would simply ask readers to look at all the reviews here and ask themselves if your comments are those of someone who is annoyed at not getting food the very second they want it or if they are a genuine reflection of what we do and our offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Ardgour also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Ardgour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing