We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, wonderful scenery.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Ardgour, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coyle63
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, wonderful scenery.”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just back from a long weekend with family and friends at Ardgour House - without exception we had an amazing time in this beautiful, shabby, rambling gem of a house! If you're into boutique hotels and new properties this isn't for you, but if you find comfortable old buildings with original features, set in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland, absolutely enchanting then you won't be disappointed! It isn't in perfect condition but it was exactly what we were looking for, everyone fell in love with it's character and charm. Very well-equipped (not brand-new fridges, but perfectly adequate) kitchen, towels in the rooms, plenty of hot water. The pool and sauna were very much appreciated, and the games and snooker/billiards rooms mean that there's plenty to do if you can't get out! Completely relaxing watching the sheep, lambs and deer whilst eating and drinking outside. It was a privilege to stay in a place with such a history; I felt quite sad to leave and would love to go back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigM405...
1 review
“Fantanstic weekend had by all!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Went here for long weekend (20/04/2018) with 10 adults, 11 children and 2 dogs. Everyone had an absolute ball. Location excellent, lots of great walks straight from the front door. House itself was warm, homely, clean, rough round the edges and bursting with character, wouldn't change a thing about it. Lots to do in good or bad weather. Highly recommend!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We immediately fell in love with Ardgour House. It's not perfect ... it is well worn and in need of repair in places. However, it is clean, warm (it is remarkable how such a big house can be so cosy), charming, impressive, full of character and had everything we needed to keep a large party of mixed ages entertained. The swimming pool, the snooker room, the well equipped playroom, the walks, the scenery ... all fab ... and the little tea room at the end of the lane provided wi-fi for those who needed it (and delicious bacon sarnies!) The kitchen had everything we needed but we spoilt ourselves by using an outside catering service (the Ariundle Centre) on some of the evenings who served us fresh local food around the impressive 22 seater dining table. We are so pleased we have discovered this gem of a house in the Scottish Highlands and are aiming to have another family gathering there again as soon as we can. What an amazing experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ktr123123
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect large family get away”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at ardgour house for a week in early February, about 18 family members plus 2 dogs. It was absolutely ideal and was exactly what it had advertised on the web site very large and spacious, not grand but very comfortable and homely with everything you could possibly need when catering for large groups. The lack of wifi was a pleasant change as it meant the kids weren't constantly on their phones , they participated in family games and what's more enjoyed it !
I have never written any review before but felt compelled to do so after reading the previous review and disagreeing with it so strongly.

Many thanks to Graeme and the team at ardgour house.
Katie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thanks for your positive review, we're glad you found the house suitable to your needs and had such an enjoyable stay. People seem to often find a bit of time-out from wifi does some good! And if really in need there is wifi in the cafe at the local shop.

Best wishes,

The Ardgour Holiday Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evelynfra...
Chapelhall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab House in need of some TLC”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Fab location and lots of walking close at hand.
This house is in desperate need of some basic tender love and care and if it had this I would go back in a flash.
Bedding and towels clean but had to wash any dishes before using.
Lovely lawn at front and you can see deer there every day.
The rear of the house a bit of a tip and sauna not working properly and all mouldy. Swimming pool in need of a clean as well and jacuzzi not working.
Poor phone signal and no WIFI which is ok if you want away from it all but in this day and age WIFI would be a bonus. TV signal fine with ability for sky but no sky card available and for what you are paying for the house sky would be buttons.
Don't think that this house is worth the money but could be if had some basic care given to it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Hi Evelyn,

Thank you for your feedback. I take on board your comments but do have to counter some of the sweeping statements made.
The House is not "desperately in need of some basic tender loving care". It is a very old, very large and pretty basic, self catering property aimed at larger groups. Each year a lot of money is spent maintaining this listed property.
I find it a bit unlikely that every dish was not clean. I was in the house when you arrived over an hour early and indeed my wife showed you in. Five staff had just spent the last five hours cleaning the property. If a few of the approximately 170 items of crockery were found to be not clean, I apologise. Guests don't really have access to the rear of the house, there is nothing there for them, however it is in need of a clear out. Getting rid of broken items is not very easy in remote areas and we hire a skip a few times a year.
Sorry if you had problems with the sauna. I check it between each use and did not find any fault with it. There is a timer switch on the heater itself. Instruction for this is in the visitor book and we are contactable 24/7 for any problems guest experience. There is no jacuzzi and we don't advertise a jacuzzi?
Most mobile networks offer good reception at Ardgour House, although sometimes, as the walls are so thick it requires stepping out to the porch to get a good signal. I get very good 3G on the Three network. We do not advertise wifi at the house, nor is it currently possible to get wifi, much as we would like to. The local shop/tea room have wifi for customers, as do the local hotel.
We do not advertise SKY TV. We do have satellite free view.
We did note that a few of the bedrooms were not used by your group. This in effect made your rental per head much more expensive than other groups. We charge the equivalent of £28 per person per night for short breaks. Commensurate with the rentals charged for accommodation in 'glamping pods' in the area. This drops to as low as £14.90 per person per night at maximum occupancy for off peak weeks.
We are always sorry if guests are not happy with the accommodation we provide. We try to accurately represent Ardgour House as basic but comfortable accommodation, with very good leisure facilities and suitable for large groups.
In light of your comments we will review our descriptions to ensure guests expectations are not unreasonable high.

Graeme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing