We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful week in the garden studio”
Review of Ard Daraich

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardgour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ard Daraich
Ranked #2 of 2 Ardgour B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful week in the garden studio”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week in June 2013. The garden studio is even more deluxe than it looked online. It was totally immaculate and had everything we needed for a week's self-catering. The bookshelves are stacked two deep - we enjoyed using them to identify birds and flowers we spotted on our walks. We'd love to return one day.

The ferry costs £7.30 one-way, but you could spend a week exploring the Ardnamurchan Peninsular without crossing back over and not get bored! Beautiful, unspoilt, peaceful scenery with ancient oak woodlands, plenty of wildlife and beautiful wildflowers.

Anna and Norrie were very welcoming and helpful when it came to tips of where to go in the local area. The garden was beautiful and we enjoyed being able to wander round it and admire the views over the loch from the top bench.

There are only minor things that could have improved our stay. A more detailed information sheet about the studio would have been helpful, for example we didn't realise there was wifi at the main house until half way through our stay (probably did us some good to be un-contactable though!). And it was tricky working out which knobs turned on which hot plates as the diagrams have rubbed away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out what we can do to improve! We will write some more copious notes and draw a diagram for the hob. Great photos especially of Woody, our friendly woodpecker. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed two nights mid June, beautiful house, wonderful garden to wander at your leisure, beautiful panoramic viewpoints to sit and relax with a glass of something. The house is immaculate, comfy and well appointed, is decorated and accessorised with many very personal belonging things to Norrie and Anna. Speaking of Norrie who had been left IC by Anna, what a pleasant change to find an interesting educated knowledgeable man, who prepares a tremendous breakfast start to the day and "knows a lot about a lot" and can share it with you. A man comfortable with his garden and his interests who is more than happy to contribute to your time in this part of the world with helpful advice and recommendations, all done from a point of genuine interest and care. This is a no brainer if you are heading to this part of Scotland, I hope you are lucky enough to find a vacancy. We will without doubt return.

Room Tip: Whichever room you chose, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and I am sorry I missed your stay whilst away being grandma!
I will pass it on to Norrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This part of our trip was well worth the effort to get here - a quick ferry ride across the loch and a few minutes drive to find this gorgeous home situated on the shores of the loch.
The scenery is fantastic and Anna and Norrie's garden was just coming into spring bloom. Unfortunately we were a little early (or spring a little late) for the full effect but what was flowering was stunning.
Breakfast was lovely and the house is intruiging and full of magnificent art works. Peaceful and warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. With best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just got back from Scotland including a two night stay at this beautiful, welcoming property. Hosts Anna and Norrie are perfect hosts, filling the house with personality and providing wonderful recommendations for touring the area. And what an area...off the usual tourist track but filled with natural beauty as well as historical sites. I don't know what was better: exploring the surrounding highlands or simply sitting back by the fire and chatting with our warm, entertaining hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you, Tom, for your kind words.
We enjoyed meeting you and hope you return to Scotland one day....... Anna & Norrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

In May, 2013 my wife and I toured Scotland and stayed two days at Ard Daraich B&B, near Fort William. If we had known what we now know we would have stayed longer. Anna and Norrie Maclaren are wonderful hosts and they have created a bit of heaven on the Adnamurchan Peninsula. Even though we had read about the garden, we had no idea that we would be treated to such a magical place with beautiful flowers, trees, sweeping views, unmatched in many ways by any garden we had ever seen. Norrie’s garden tour and his passion and devotion for it with a personal relationship with each plant was a special treat in itself. We would have been happy to hang out in the garden for the rest of the day. The house is charming, with comfortable rooms, fireplace, friendly cats, and hospitality that made us feel like a part of the family. Our hosts provided extremely useful sightseeing advice, loaned us maps, made dinner reservations, and greatly enhanced our visit. The breakfast is unbeatable. Anna, who is an accomplished artist, was happy to show us her studio and some of her work. We plan to return to Adnamurchen not only because we could only begin to see its beauty in two days but also because Ard Daraich is there. We have had many good experiences with B&Bs, but none has matched our stay at Ard Daraich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lucky am I that by chance I booked two nights at Ard Daraich this past weekend. It was the perfect ending to an artist's holiday that took me to some beautiful places in Scotland, but none could compare to the beauty and enchantment of Ard Daraich. Anna and Norrie planned out wonderful day trips to follow their excellent slow-cooked breakfasts of locally-sourced produce and meat. (eggs from their own chickens are as local as you can get!) The garden was spectacular, as the late spring brought all the rhodos into bloom along with many plants I didn't recognize. Norrie, a most knowledgeable plantsman, is a living RHS plant finder and his garden tour was the highlight of the trip. A painter could wallow in the surroundings and never be in need of subject matter. The other outstanding feature of the stay was a visit to Anna's studio and seeing her paintings. Her work evokes the surrounding beauty and magnificent landscape of the Highlands. There could not be a more perfect marriage of art and gardening than Ard Daraich! I could have spent all my time in the garden discussing painting and plants with Norrie and Anna. The memories of this experience will continue to inspire and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you. We hope to meet again if you ever feel like returning to paint...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night in early May. The reservations had been made by our friends that we were travelling with and we couldn't have been happier with their choice. You have to take a short ferry ride to get to Ardgour, but it was well worth the extra effort. Anna and Norrie are excellent hosts and the property is beautiful and peaceful. Anna made some suggestions on an itinerary for one of our days and it turned out to be the best day of our trip. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. What a treat for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejl804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandglen, Owner at Ard Daraich, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope you went on to enjoy the rest of your visit to Scotland and then Ireland.
With best wishes,
Anna & Norrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardgour
13.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
4.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Daraich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Daraich

Property: Ard Daraich
Address: Sallachan | Ardgour, Near Fort William, Ardgour PH33 7AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardgour
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardgour
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard Daraich, the prefect place for a self catering holiday. Once the holiday home of cook and gardener, Constance Spry. Ard Daraich is now the home of Norrie & Anna Maclaren. We welcome you to our 8-acre Hill Garden with stunning views of Ben Nevis and Glen Coe. The shrub nursery has an interesting selection of trees and shrubs from all over the world. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe we are within easy reach of Fort William, Outdoor Capital of Britain. Ard Daraich also makes the perfect place from which to explore the West Coast of the Scottish Highlands, either as a walker, cyclist or by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ard Daraich Ardgour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing