We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice presentation”
Review of El Romero

El Romero
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
holland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice presentation”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Welcome change to find a vegetarian option. Using local produce. However, it was out of season weekend and quite a few items were off (e.g. no fruit juices at all). Service very good, but I think in the end the dishes were all a bit similar

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    60
    18
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Healthy food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love vegetarian food, this is not the tastiest I had but compare to most of the food you get in Cuba this is excellent. It was also so great to eat fresh and healthy food. We went twice, the first time we were not lucky since we arrived at the same time as a tour bus for lunch...we waited for a disastrous 2 hours for our food...but we give it another try for dinner and this time all was good! Beware of the limonade and other drinks...they don't write on the menu which herbs or spice they add in and my limonade tasted nothing like fresh limonade!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmmoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxen Hole, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are not vegetarians (I used to be) but I dragged my boyfriend there after hearing the rave reviews and even he came out loving it. We had a great meal full of different flavors and interesting combinations - all put together and cooked incredibly and presented beautifully on top of it. Not to add that all the food is fresh, they use solar power and keep their own bees! They had a large group of kids there so originally said they wouldn't have space but then they called our hotel room to let us know they could seat us after all! We were very happy with the service, though they were a little backed up and didn't have a few things due to the 30 kids there, but understandable! Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samanthahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A veggie restaurant in Cuba is something of a rarity (I must have eaten 40 omelettes on my trip) so I was delighted to find this. We had a set meal and really like it... lots to eat and unusual stuff as well. I'd recommend giving it a go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Cannot understand the hype...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We tried El Romero while in Las Terrazas due to all the raving reviews. Although we are not vegetarian, we sometimes like to eat vegetarian food, but I am sorry, apparently we caught them on a bad night or we don’t "get" this restaurant…

Since they were advertising with all the fresh ingredients and herbs they were using, I was expecting something else. The food was beautifully arranged, but some parts were not very tasty (lotus flower ceviche was acrid, some herbs were unpleasantly bitter, soggy tempura). The amounts were very small and therefore quite overpriced. I tried a daiquiri made with their own honey, it was incredibly sour. The staff was sullen and fast-paced, with two courses and drinks we were out in under 45 min.

To end on a good note: We had some veggie sticks and dips, they were good. They also had some delicious homemade bread (also used in the empanadas, so I recommend those), that was the best part of the dinner.

It is definitely something else, different from all restaurants else we visited in Cuba, and I wanted to like it, but I would not return and rather try some other restaurant, if I only had 1-2 nights in Las Terrazas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Romero also viewed

Las Terrazas, Artemisa Province
Las Terrazas, Artemisa Province
 
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Las Terrazas, Artemisa Province
 

Been to El Romero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing