We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parador de Alarcon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Rural El Castillo(Buenache de Alarcon)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Romeral Hotel(Monteagudo de las Salinas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de los Acacio(San Clemente)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bodega La Venta(Casas de los Pinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juanito(La Roda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
348
162
52
31
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
162
52
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversmall towndining roommedieval castlepastriescar parkposter bedsuckling pigstone wallslambsuperior roomtoasten routebeautiful roomspectacular viewsstep back in timefirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 601 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our 5th stay in a Parador, with the usual quality of service and friendly staff that we have now come to expect. However, the spectacular setting of this hotel, coupled with our spacious and well furnished room in the castle tower (complete with a window seat overlooking the town), have made this a very memorable stay...and for us, stepped this up from 4 stars to 5 stars on the Trip Advisor scale. The overall ambience was a little lacking but this was perhaps due to the small number of hotel guests at this time of year. If you stay, don't forget to ask for the doorkey to the castle battlement (ronda)...the views are fantastic.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As always the best thing about the Paradors in Spain is the personnel - always friendly, helpful, attentive, etc. Originally we were given a room in the wall, maybe a bit on the small size but very comfortable. Unfortunately the shower didn't work well. When we mentioned it at the reception, we were immediately given a room in the tower. The room was small but to be expected in a castle from the 8th century, however very well furnished and equipped. Just being able to say that you slept in a castle with canopy, stone walls, etc. is wonderful.
The dinner was very good and not outrageously priced - I believe the parador menu, which was quite complete, was about 36 euros. Breakfast was also excellent. Unlike other paradors it is not a buffet, but a one price menu with everything you could think to ask for.
Definitely worth repeating this visit.

Room Tip: Although rooms 107-114 in the wall are quite nice, the rooms in the tower have much more atmosphere.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing setting, very off the beaten track, but slightly disappointing, we paid a lot of money for the experience of staying in an 8th century castle, the room was small, breakfast mediocre at best, definitely not 4*, I would barely give it 3*. If historical buildings are your thing, then give it a go, but if you are looking for comfort & vfm give it a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in this Parador. The idea of sleeping in a castle was very appealing to us and the rate was cheaper than it usually is so we decided to go for it.

First of all, the hotel is smaller than we anticipated with only 14 rooms. We had a regular room which was located in the wall section of the castle. The room was well furnished and as expected relatively small with only very small windows (it's a castle after all).

The hotel is extremely quiet, the service was good but a bit more attention would have been appreciated.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was good and priced reasonably.

Overall we had a good time but we were slightly disappointed with Alarcon itself as there wasn't a lot to do in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n8fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Parador in Alarcon with my parents for 3 nights 7th till 10th August. As Parador fanatics we knew what standard to expect but this Parador exceeded all expectations. Both our rooms were in the Gallery and both of excellent size, furnishings and standard, both having an integral castle wall as part of their features. The bathrooms we presume were newly furnished and very modern, although the trendy shower head did defeat us all! The Parador itself is a delight, almost surreal in its historicalness! It is tiny but this adds to the charm and makes the whole experience of staying here more intimate.
We ate in the restaurant once. The menu was extensive, available in English with a good selection of local dishes on offer. It was not cheap, as Parador food often isn't but all parts were cooked to a very high standard, both fish and meat!
Breakfast is served in the main dining room and unlike other Paradores is not a buffet, given the limited number of rooms. However service was impeccable and the choice on the menu could have fed an army.
For us what set this Parador apart from others we have stayed in was the friendliness of the staff. Too often we have felt the staff had little pride in their jobs and smiling seemed too much of an effort, at times we have even felt neglected as foreign tourists: not the case at Alarcon. All staff were extremely friendly, with constant smiles greeting you from everyone. They spoke limited English and were very patient with my limited Spanish and they could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews