We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature all around”
Review of Hotel Pietra Santa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pietra Santa
Ranked #2 of 22 Guatape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is great. The staff is super friendly and good in what they do. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are more than OK to have a comfortable sleep. The landscape is simply amazing, nature all around. They take you to do hiking and swimming (you can also do these by yourself). I saw a couple of reviews criticizing the food... I really liked the food. Just be aware that they serve the same dish to everybody (I guess you can ask for something different, just try, they are super friendly). We spent 3 nights there. We were supposed to spend 1 night in one of the floating rooms. It moves when a motor boat arrives to the hotel. It is not a lot of movement, somebody could find it lulling, but I got dizzy :p. If there are free rooms, you can ask them to locate you in another room, which was what we did and what they helped us with nicely

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Pietra Santa for 3 nights and we had a lovely stay! The location is amazing and the host and his wife are very friendly and welcoming, including their lovely staff! The transportation by boat from Guatape to the hotel takes around 25 minutes and it is a very beautiful and pleasant trip. The cabañas are basic but convenient (it is clean, there is electricity, warm water and a comfortable bed) and we slept like a baby because it is so quiet. The view from each cabaña is breathtaking as well as the view from the restaurant.
We will definitely come back and recommend this place to everyone who needs to get away from the busy city life and who wants to relax and enjoy pure nature. Every morning we swam in the lake and the host organizes very nice hikes to discover the beautiful surroundings of Guatapé. In addition we went water skiing (for an additional but good price) and there are many thinks to do besides relaxing and enjoying the incredibly beautiful landscape.
The only recommendation I have is regarding the quality of the food. I would recommend they add some more variation to the dishes, f.e. some more vegetables and more fish instead of mainly dishes with (greasy) meat and rice. The breakfast is very nice though and the fresh fruit juices that goes with the meals as well! The food is not bad, it could just use a little upgrade.
I would definitely come back and didn't want to leave this place when I was there. It is definitely worth the visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaaikedeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I don't want to say that it isn't a nice place. the location is very beautiful but there is a long way to go to become what they tell they are. I slept very good and had a great view out of my cabaña (try to get number one!!). as well the ride there is very nice and I enjoyed it a lot. but on this point I have to mention two things. I came all the way from the noisy city of medellin to have a nice time in the nature and then they played music all day/night long. I went there to hear the sound of nature but couldn't... but what concerns me more was the food! because of that I left after one day and didn't stay two nights or more... the thing is they don't have a chef and don't make fresh food. the food is industrial made (well not everything obviously but the sauce and the soup....). this is a topic where they have to put a lot of effort in it to become a real place to stay. so in the end it's nice to visit it and you have to see for yourself BUT keep in mind you will not get served good food!

un abrazo
gregor

Room Tip: choose the cabaña one if you can to have a great view directly in the forest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Prieto P, Gerente at Hotel Pietra Santa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016
Google Translation

Hola Gregor

Muchas gracias por sus bonitas palabras acerca de nuestro lugar.

Entendemos su inconformidad sobre la música, lastimosamente uno de nuestros huéspedes hizo caso omiso de nuestra solicitud de control de volumen, pues nosotros no colocamos música por respeto al entorno natural.

Con respecto a la comida entendemos que nuestra comida criolla no siempre sea atractiva para personas de otros lugares como es su caso (SUIZA), sin embargo ofrecemos como platos adicionales una exquisita carta con de comida internacional con carnes maduradas en corte grueso como son el Chateaubrian o el filet mignon o un rico salmon al vino horneado entre otros, que estoy seguro le hubieran encantado si los probara.

Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Prieto P, Director General at Hotel Pietra Santa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JEBS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reservar la cabaña en el lago!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juan D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guatape
3.6 mi away
Hotel Los Recuerdos
Hotel Los Recuerdos
#1 of 3 in Guatape
230 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Guatatur
Hotel Guatatur
#3 of 3 in Guatape
40 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria de las Aguas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Lagos de Guatape
Hotel Lagos de Guatape
#11 of 22 in Guatape
11 reviews
3 mi away
Happy Buddha Guatape
Happy Buddha Guatape
#13 of 39 in Guatape
7 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Miguel Campestre Resort
San Miguel Campestre Resort
#27 of 39 in Guatape
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pietra Santa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pietra Santa

Address: Vereda en Guatape Antioquia, Guatape, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Guatape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Guatape
Price Range: $165 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pietra Santa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pietra Santa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing