We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apart from the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mi Casa Guatape
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great apart from the location”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

With the exception of the location this hostel was great. The rooms were clean, the owner friendly and there were lovely rooms. The hostel also had the best selection of films I have seen anywhere on my travels.

However, this hostel is not in Gautape, instead it is situated more than 4km outside the village, which given how small the village is, is quite a long way. It's a 6/7 minute ride in a motor taxi or a very long walk along a horrible road.

The location of the hostel was quite an inconvenience, but other than that it was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
69
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Located conveniently between the Penol Rock and Lake Guatape, Mi Casa Guatape is the perfect location for sightseeing. Or you can take a short collective taxi ride to the Guatape town center. It's two floors each have their own kitchen, entrance, common area, and balcony overlooking the lake. Sean and Suzy are very friendly, hospitable, and easy to talk with, and their dog Lulu makes Mi Casa Guatape feel even more like home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatape, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Mi casa Guatape Is perfect If you want to visit el peñón de Guatape aka la piedra del peñól. A quick 10 easy walk down the carretera will get you to turn off to the enormous rock. Mi Casa guatape is a clean, cozy, hospitable a place where you can enjoy good music, food and a beautiful view. Can't wait to get back hang out with Sean, Sussi, and Lulu and also kayak a bit on the lake.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

From the minute we arrived at this lovely family style hostel we were instantly made to feel at home. Ran by a great English / Colombian couple (and of course the beautiful dog Lulu ever welcoming and friendly, even to me who has never been a very dog friendly person) We enjoyed everything about our visit, from the family style dinners available, the waterfall tour, lovey lake views and the hospitality of Sean and Susy who are always on hand to help with great knowledge of the area. We couldn't fault a thing about it. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and hot showers. What more do you need! We would highly recommend a visit to the vibrant town of Guatape, if you are lucky enough to get time to visit, there is no better place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hostel consist of 2 separate apartments of which the bedrooms are rented.
The place would be quite fine without the dog. I don't mind dogs if they can stay outside, but indoors it is not at all hygienic.
The apartment would also need a thorough cleaning (corners and where all the electric cables are).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalMiCasaGuatape, Owner at Hostal Mi Casa Guatape, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Many thanks for your review, and I am also really sorry that you did not enjoy having our dog in the hostel. I would say, that before we opened our hostel we travelled the world for well over a year and a large percentage of the Hostels we stayed in had a dog or some kind of pet as does every Hostel in Guatape, but i also understand not everybody likes them ! However, it does seem to be a bit of a theme around the world.

She spends much of her time outside on walks or waterfall hikes which we also provide here. While in the hostel area she enjoys mostly to sit or relax in one of our balconies or decking area during the day, and is never allowed in any rooms. Although during th day it is hot in this área, at night it becomes cold, so she does have a bed inside, which is in the corner and out of the way of any people.

If I am being honest 99.9% of our guests fall in love with her because she is cute, clean, gentle and loving. As you mention the hostel is split over two levels, one of which LuLu (our dog!) does not have access to, if I had any knowledge while you were staying with us that you had an issue, I would have been more than happy to change your room to the other level !

In terms of our cleaning, this is slightly surprising to hear as we do pride ourselves on this matter and after 2 years have maintained close to a 100% rating for cleanliness on Trip Advisor, HostelWorld and HostelBookers !

Again, many apologies, we love that normally people really enjoy their stay here and extend their stay time !

Safe tavels !

Sean, Hostal Mi Casa Guatape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was excited to get a good nights sleep after a long hike, but no luck here. What the pictures don't show is that the hostel fronts the highway that enters Guatape. The dorm I was in faced the road, and it was noisy, and the mattresses were hard. Between the two, I didn't sleep much.
The owners are super nice, and the place is clean tho.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaturalSoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalMiCasaGuatape, Owner at Hostal Mi Casa Guatape, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
First and foremost our deepest apologises, as former travellers our first objective is that all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable time during their stay at our hostel. However, during your stay there were some exceptional circumstances that day which I did try to explain to you. The road which fronts the dorm is normally quiet and next to silent during the evening and through the night. However the night you stayed they decided to start road works at a crazy early time.

In the two years we have been open it has never happened although I completely understand it was disturbing, but sometimes as hard as you try, there is nothing you can do.

In all honesty, if I knew it was going to be like that I would not have even rented any beds in that room, as most of our rooms are on the lake side of the hostel with lake views. Despite proving a discount on your bill, again our deepest apologies ! I know that as you said you don’t like Hostels in general and normally stay in Hotel rooms, I was hoping to convert you ! Perhaps another day it would have been different ?!

Many thanks and safe travels. Sean. Hostal Mi Casa Guatape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Highly recommended! We had a wonderful time with Sean, Suzy and Lulu. They are travellers themselves (well, Lulu is somewhat limited due to her canine nature but she gets the spirit!) and know exactly what are the most important aspects of a hostel. Very clean, tidy and organised and with the owners ever-present and always with a great smile and attitude. The place is nicely decorated and has a wonderful view. We spent a couple of nights with them and it soon revealed a short time to enjoy such a nice place. There are loads of things to do in the area, which is extremely beautiful.

Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatape hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Recuerdos
Hotel Los Recuerdos
#1 of 3 in Guatape
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Kayam
Casa Kayam
#4 of 36 in Guatape
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galeria Guatape Hostel
Galeria Guatape Hostel
#8 of 36 in Guatape
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Encuentro
Casa Encuentro
#9 of 36 in Guatape
22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake View Hostel
Lake View Hostel
#2 of 36 in Guatape
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock a Town Hostel
Rock a Town Hostel
#10 of 36 in Guatape
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mi Casa Guatape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mi Casa Guatape

Property: Hostal Mi Casa Guatape
Address: La Mona, Guatape, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Guatape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Guatape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now in our 4th year as a hostel, run by a Colombian / English couple. As ex travelers we know what it is that is expected in a hostel and therefore we provide the best prices in Guatape, along with a friendly atmosphere clean surroundings and helpful advice to name but a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mi Casa Guatape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing