We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to chill out”
Review of Lake View Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We wanted a couple of really relaxing days and the hostel did the job. Whilst there is plenty to see and do we just hung out on the little balcony or strolled into the town. The owners manage to have a relaxed atmosphere whilst also ensuring that the place is kept clean and organized. The kitchen is well equipped but very small requiring a bit of cooperation for usage. Lots of people seemed to be staying for an extended period of time and I could see why.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious with a good bathroom but have earplugs handy as it is next to the kitchen/TV are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenmostplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a great couple of weeks in Guatape. Heaps to do; must-dos are la piedra, bike to San Rafael and the endless hikes in every direction. Nick & Gregorio create a great vibe & make everyone feel welcome. There's always someone to talk to, share an activity, have a beer or cook dinner with. It's a great place to chill out for bit if your traveling is getting a but crazy. See you again soon guys! and dogs

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_henders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This Hostel was great! Loved that the owners (two guys who seem to have started a hostel in colombia because they want to, not for profit reasons) put so much effort into making your stay enjoyable. It´s got a great home away from home vibe and is a great place to stay for an extended period of time! With tons of different activities to do very nearby I was never bored! On top of that the locals that stop by occasionally are a great way to practice spanish and have a good time! I was glad to support Nick and Greg in their venture in Colombia and loved my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrlmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

AWESOME hostel! We stayed for so much longer than we originally intended to, as did a lot of the other guests. The two dogs, Amber and Sofia, are absolutely awesome to have around and they'll accompany you on any walk you want to go on. We did loads of kayaking, mountain biking and walking. The hostel is just on the lake so you literally walk out the door and get on the water. The view from the Rock is AWESOME, the down hill ride to San Rafael is good times and the owners of the hostel know everything about the whole region so have endless ideas of what to do. Ask Nick about his epic waterfall walk if you're really game.

The hostel itself is small and has a great buzz and everyone bands together and cooks in the evenings. It's great.

We loved it, and almost all people who came through from Medellin stayed longer than they originally planned on.

Thanks for a fun few weeks!

Room Tip: If you're a couple I would ask for room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy_medlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the Lakeview for just one night, but it was really nice there!
The owner and his co-workers are really nice and helpfull and it was fun to stay there! The place is relaxing, they have a nice kitchen, good bathrooms, a hammock and a really nice apartment with space for 12 people and an own kitchen.
The owner offers a lot of activities like hiking, kajak, spanish classes, and so on.

If you're going to Medellin you have to see Guatapé. If you're staying in Guatapé, you have to stay in Lakeview!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allistocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lake View Hostal is a great getaway and provides for a nice relaxing venue with lots of options: a dorm, private rooms with bathrooms and an apartment on the first floor for maximum privacy and a group of people. The hosts, Nick and Greg are great people and will go out of their way to help you with your trip to Guatapé, activities around the area, or other journeys throughout Colombia. I live in Medellín, and always look forward to a get away for relaxation, fun and great conversation at the LVH. A comfortable, convenient and affordable spot for the lovely and very safe little lakeside pueblo of Guapapé! I highly recommend Lake View Hostal and thier hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncwolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently enjoyed two nights stay here in a private room. It was a holiday weekend so we were thankful for a quieter location just slightly out of town. Greg was a wealth of knowledge and happy to share about local activities, buses, etc. and also other nearby travel destinations. The female volunteer they had on staff was also warm and welcoming. We appreciated Greg's love for Colombian culture and his involvement in the local community. Keep up the good work!
Mike and Michelle

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatape hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Los Recuerdos
Hotel Los Recuerdos
#1 of 3 in Guatape
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guatatur
Hotel Guatatur
#3 of 3 in Guatape
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Kayam
Casa Kayam
#5 of 38 in Guatape
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galeria Guatape Hostel
Galeria Guatape Hostel
#4 of 38 in Guatape
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Encuentro
Casa Encuentro
#9 of 38 in Guatape
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock a Town Hostel
Rock a Town Hostel
#10 of 38 in Guatape
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hostel

Address: Cra 22 #29B-29 | Patio de Los Patos, Guatape, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Guatape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Guatape
Price Range: $14 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Hostel & Boutique Hotel has something for everyone: from 6 and 4 person dorms to boutique style rooms with their own unique art and tile work with private balconies and spectacular lake views. We are the center of activities in Guatape with many different guided excursions such as by car and hiking to remote jungle waterfalls, swimming in crystal clear rivers and looking for monkeys around Rio Bizcocho and San Rafael, to paintballing at Pablo Escobar's finca. We also offer kayak and mountain bike rentals as well as self guided hikes and fishing. Our roof top restaurant THAI TERRACE is now open too, with an excellent selection of Thai, Vietnamese and vegetarian dishes. The restaurant also has a full bar. Come on up and have a pad thai or curry with a glass of wine and enjoy the views across the lake and mountains... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Guatape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing