We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanderabhaga (HPTDC)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keylong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chanderabhaga (HPTDC)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

On our return journey from leh, we stayed in this beautifully located hotel in keylong. The rooms were excellent, bathrooms were clean and the staff was courteous. They are very priced nominally for the location they command. For a Govt run hotel, i would give this place a thumbs up. However, food section requires a shake up:). The room we stayed had an excellent view of the lady of keylong...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel location is awesome. You will enjoy the views out of the window. Rooms are big and clean but nothing luxurious about it. Only the basic amenities are provided. We were on a bike trip, so it didnt matter to us much. There is enough parking available and food quality is good. Overall no fuss hotel, just like other govt. run enterprises. Liked it overall.

Room Tip: If you are fit, choose a room on upper floors for great view.. but there is no lift.. so beware :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit_Bendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The only decent place to stay after rohtang pass on the way to Leh- Decent is certainly not luxury but bearable place to stay in this small town - i'm sure travellers on this route are not looking for luxury- there are other guest houses in Keylong but we felt this probably is better and safe for family- the only other place to sleep on the way to Leh is Sarchu and that too in tents - we decided not to stay in Sarchu because it is on considerable height and spending night there would mean mountain sickness at night - we decided to let our bodies adapt to height slowly as we drive thru out the day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forpuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It,s a HPTDC hotel, beautifully located in the vally, its very plesent in morning, property is very good, located just before the city on Leh Manali highway, Service is good, with good taste resturant, rooms was clean, along with window opening towards vally, all rooms are vayyl facing, they also provide good tents.

Room Tip: stay at 1st floor is comfortable, but view from 3rd floor is too good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samarsingh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great location for yet another HPTDC Hotel, but let down by mismanagement/apathy.

Rooms are large, but not particularly comfortable. Does not have heating in a location that needs it. Hot water boilers weren't working. Food wasn't particularly appetizing - more like army rations.

In short, stay away unless you have no other option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keylong hotels

Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Hotel was due to open up for visitors on 31/05/2012, but we ended up there a day before. The facilities were not yet up and running, but the Manager, Mr.Bhatia and his staff went beyond their resources to accommodate us and to make our stay as comfortable as the possibly could. The food was delicious and served with a endearing smile. Their Enthusiasm made us forget all the other shortcomings of the hotel. Quite understandably the rooms and fixtures take a beating in the winter time when there is no one to take care of the property. Yet the HPTDC staff did a commendable job. Great going Mr.Bhatia and team...Thank You!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anandnatekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Let me warn you before itself...don't go by the reviews...you should better stay on road then go to this place...We made the "mistake of our lives" by booking at this place...we were six friends accompanied by our driver....We arrived at this hotel at hotel at around 10 p.m. which is not late by any standards (in any of the hotels or guesthouse all over India)....The manager (Mr. Manoj Patil) told us that our rooms were ready...and that we can check in and later come down for dinner...We had booked a family suite at this place....but we didn't know, what we were going to see when we opened the door...the mattress on the floor was spoiled badly....Next were the towels...I am sure that they were used by at least 99 people before we had the luck of getting them in our hands....To our horrors someone had puked on the walls...and you could even see distinct pan stains on them...Next was the ceiling...you won't believe that ceiling had several holes..and by holes, I don't mean small holes (they were so big that even our heads could go inside it)....next up was washroom....it was even dirtier than washrooms available in local stations in Mumbai...and best was the bucket...you people won't believe that...but the bucket had insects crawling inside (not just one or two but at least 20-30 of them)....we tried complaining, but all we got to hear was that everything will be changed by the time you have dinner...but even the dinner was a thing that we won't forget for long time....everything that was present on menu and we asked for was not "present at that point of time"....they said that...palak paneer was available...but when mine friend complained that he could not even find a single piece of paneer...the waiter went back..and brought the same dish with two (and we triple checked it) pieces of paneer...and all me and mine friends could do was smile....but the cherry on the cake was when we went to complain to the Manager.....when we said him that we are not happy with the room...He replied "So what can I do"?...."What do you want me to do?"......"Refund is not possible"....."You can complain if you want to"....As per our itinerary we were due a breakfast in the morning....but with things in such bad place we decided to check out at 5 a.m. itself...and as expected we found our breakfast on the reception table....eggs and sandwiches, which were made in night itself......It is mine request that please don't go to this hotel, even if you don't have anywhere to stay....it will ruin your entire trip....In case you need to see any actual photos of the place, do let me know, so that I can mail you the same...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandstone_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keylong
0.0 mi away
Shingar Regency
Shingar Regency
#33 of 118 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dream Land
Hotel Dream Land
#79 of 118 in Manali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
79.8 mi away
Hotel Manali Continental
Hotel Manali Continental
#1 of 1 in Vashisht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalinga Cottages
Kalinga Cottages
#89 of 118 in Manali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Touch Resort
Snow Touch Resort
#14 of 263 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treetops Cottage
Treetops Cottage
#2 of 7 in Naggar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanderabhaga (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanderabhaga (HPTDC)

Property: The Chanderabhaga (HPTDC)
Address: Manali - Leh Road | Opp New Circuit House, Keylong 175132, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Lahaul and Spiti District > Keylong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Keylong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing