We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with superb staff”
Review of Cidade de Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cidade de Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dona Paula
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent property with superb staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We did a four day conference at Cidade from 9th to 13th Mar 2014, I have travelled to a lot of hotels around the world but have yet to come across a staff like Cidade's, they truly believe in the saying' Athithi Devo Bhava' in letter and spirit, during the course of our conference there were many different requests to the Hotel which were promptly fulfilled with their usual smile and great customer service, the location of the hotel is top notch and the rooms are good, bathrooms clean and food at both Laranja and Cafe Azul great, a big thank you to Neeta and her entire team for the hospitality displayed during our conference, special mention to the Executive chef Sunit Sharma and his entire team who served us warm food past midnight and designed great menus for our conference, Prabin from Banquets and his team including Damodar and Vikas, Nilesh, Dattaram and Manchit from the Front office doing a great job with the group check in/ check out and airport transfers, Ramdas Netalkar from Sales and the entire team of Cidade, we will surely be back next year to experience the same hospitality. Kudos, keep up the great job.

Room Tip: Take a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitKals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Nitkals,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and other travellers.

At Cidade, our motto is every guest leaves delighted, and as such, we are proud to know that we have created yet another excellent guest experience. I am happy to note your appreciation towards our Food and beverage, Banquet, Front Office and Sales team, and I have personally conveyed the same to them.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    534
    197
    60
    66
See reviews for
503
358
33
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Awesome beach! Beautiful property! Great service! And to my surprize, very cheap food!
We stayed at the deluxe beach side room, and felt that we were living in our own small hut near the beach, the beach being just 10 steps away from the door, we just loved the whole experience! :)

Room Tip: Choose any room according to your budget.. you will have a great experience any-which-way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayamystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Mayamystic,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to share this review. We are glad to read that you had an excellent stay experience at our beach resort.

Our deluxe rooms are situated in the Bay wing of the resort and offer direct access to the beach via the private sit outs.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just come back from the Cidade de Goa and the hotel was great for location, rooms, beach and pool. However there are areas that could have been better. For example the food was priced as a five star hotel but never delivered, what it did deliver was far less.

I have read reviews stating that it was expensive and that is true in comparison to external eateries what was difficult to understand was the quality was poorer than cheaper places.

This did not detract from the overall experience however as the hotel is great with very good employees and is located well if all you want is a quiet time away from the noise of the resorts further north which we did.

Looking at the hotels answers to some of the poor reviews it has received shows that it is unlikely to change as the read but do not listen to what is being said. I agree with a lot of other reviews and suggest that there is no comparison with this hotel and other 5 star resorts, this is definitely no more than a 3 star.

It is however worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the superior rooms it is worthwhile as the views from them are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear GlennSimo,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you found the location of the resort, the view from the rooms, the proximity to the beach and the pool at par with your expectations; however, you were not satisfied with the quality of the food.

It is very disheartening to note your negative conclusion about our responsive actions to our guest reviews, though I would once again like to inform our guests that all reviews are personally taken up by me with the managers responsible.

On a positive note, we are happy to note your appreciation towards the efficiency of our staff and the peaceful ambience of the resort.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Cidade de Goa is one of the oldest resorts in Goa and the age shows in many ways. However, the property is maintained well so guests shouldn't have any major reason to complain. It is located right on the beach; in fact, at high tide, the water laps up to the property wall.

I was very pleased with my room which was located at one corner of the hotel. Air conditioning was in excellent shape else the humidity would have been exhausting. The hotel has a nice pool with a bar. For obvious reasons of safety, the bar closes at 7pm but there is another one in the hotel lobby.

My only disappointment was with the food. I felt it was uninspired and quite ordinary. Other than this, its a nice property with a good team.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 678flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear 678flyer,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

We are happy to read that you were ‘very pleased’ with your room, the hotel pool and the proximity to the beach. We have noted that you were not satisfied with the food spread. We have revived our menu patters with the F&B team to ensure greater variety, choices and flavours. I hope you will notice the change for better on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely holiday but some of the experiences in this hotel did not live upto expectations. Service at cafe azul and the poolside bar were very poor. We had to wait for over one hour for chips!! We had the all inclusive and had to fight all the way for basic things ..... They wanted to charge for badminton as they argued the shuttle cocks were not included in the all inclusive even though the contract clearly stated that it was. Why include racquets but not the shuttle cocks!!!
Food was good and some of the staff were amazing. Shame about management.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Surrey12345,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. Please accept the apologies from me and my team for the fact that your otherwise lovely holiday was disrupted because of the some isolated incidents.

We have taken a note of your feedback regarding the time taken for your order to be delivered and for the charging of the indoor sports activity. We shall look into the same internally and ensure that such an incident is not repeated in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had taken a group for this trip to Gao. The entire journey was excellent and specially the stay at Cidade de Goa. The property is located right on the foot of the beach; excellent beach view; next to the beach you have the excellent swimming pool. They have good comfortable rooms 200+ room at the property and awesome dinning restaurant. More than the property people make this property look much better. The management has chosen each and every employee an opt person with good hospitality built in them. They are very adjustable and cooperative to all the guest. The support you on all possible ways.

Room Tip: The based category rooms itself really good with a spacious balcony with all facility in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear 1Good,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to review us.

We are glad to read that you and your group enjoyed your recent stay at Cidade de Goa. Location, proximity to the beach, and authentic Goan hospitality are indeed the core strengths of Cidade de Goa. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed the food spread.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Loved everything about this resort- Spacious Rooms, winding pathways, 10 steps to the beach, the bar, Laranje Restaurant, breakfast items, friendly staff and the cleanliness inspite of the vast area...
There are three pools - one for toddlers, one for children and another for adults...all supervised with clearly written instructions. Plenty of beach chairs. One can spend a week and still cant get enough of the place...

Room Tip: choose the one with a sit out on the ground or first floor! You can hear the waves crashing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSLChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
2.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
18.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 66 in Candolim
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cidade de Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Goa

Property: Cidade de Goa
Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dona Paula
#1 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cidade de Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to experience one of Goa's best kept secrets? Just 10 minutes from the capital city of Panjim, Cidade de Goa is spread across 40 acres and nestled along the tranquil Vainguinim beach, close to Dona Paula. Within it you'll discover a world of welcoming hospitality. The impeccably furnished rooms are equipped with every possible amenity and great sea views. Our Master Chefs will delight you with multiple cuisines in Cidade's array of restaurants. The fun shines brighter here with a range of water sports, beach games, indoor activities and kids' facilities. Clube Saúde has its own state of the art gymnasium and offers an array of Swedish body massages and holistic ayurvedic treatments. Come, experience the best that Goa has to offer at Cidade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cidade de Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Goa Beach Hotel Vainguinim
Cidade De Goa Beach Resort
Cidade Goa Beach Resort
Hotel Cidade De Goa Beach
Cidade De Goa Dona Paula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing